So I was building a Level 8 Monk for a quick one shot I'm playing and I cam across something I was unsure of. I chose to have this character be a Goliath Monk and with the new rules Goliaths get Giant Ancestry as an option, one of those choices is "Fire’s Burn (Fire Giant). When you hit a target with an attack roll and deal damage to it, you can also deal 1d10 Fire damage to that target." (copied straight from the page btw) Anyway as a Monk I can use "Flurry of Blows. You can expend 1 Focus Point to make two Unarmed Strikes as a Bonus Action." Here comes the question, if I roll to hit and succeed obviously my normal attack would get the bonus 1d10 the thing I'm confused on would be since you have to roll to hit with the Flurry of Blows would those also get the bonus from Fire's Burn essentially getting 3d10 Fire damage? Any help is appreciated thank you.
You can only use Fire's Burn a certain number of times, and each use only applies to one attack. You can choose to add the damage to your Flurry of Blows (or any other attack) if you have enough uses left.
So I was building a Level 8 Monk for a quick one shot I'm playing and I cam across something I was unsure of. I chose to have this character be a Goliath Monk and with the new rules Goliaths get Giant Ancestry as an option, one of those choices is "Fire’s Burn (Fire Giant). When you hit a target with an attack roll and deal damage to it, you can also deal 1d10 Fire damage to that target." (copied straight from the page btw) Anyway as a Monk I can use "Flurry of Blows. You can expend 1 Focus Point to make two Unarmed Strikes as a Bonus Action." Here comes the question, if I roll to hit and succeed obviously my normal attack would get the bonus 1d10 the thing I'm confused on would be since you have to roll to hit with the Flurry of Blows would those also get the bonus from Fire's Burn essentially getting 3d10 Fire damage? Any help is appreciated thank you.
When I first read that long ago, I thought the same thing. It took me to slow down and really read it, Yeah it’s on one attack not per attack. So only one d10 per round and x number of times your pb. It would be insane damage if per attack, with nick and fob. But all for naught.
So I was building a Level 8 Monk for a quick one shot I'm playing and I cam across something I was unsure of. I chose to have this character be a Goliath Monk and with the new rules Goliaths get Giant Ancestry as an option, one of those choices is "Fire’s Burn (Fire Giant). When you hit a target with an attack roll and deal damage to it, you can also deal 1d10 Fire damage to that target." (copied straight from the page btw) Anyway as a Monk I can use "Flurry of Blows. You can expend 1 Focus Point to make two Unarmed Strikes as a Bonus Action." Here comes the question, if I roll to hit and succeed obviously my normal attack would get the bonus 1d10 the thing I'm confused on would be since you have to roll to hit with the Flurry of Blows would those also get the bonus from Fire's Burn essentially getting 3d10 Fire damage? Any help is appreciated thank you.
When I first read that long ago, I thought the same thing. It took me to slow down and really read it, Yeah it’s on one attack not per attack. So only one d10 per round and x number of times your pb. It would be insane damage if per attack, with nick and fob. But all for naught.
It can be used a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus per long rest. There's nothing there saying it can only be used one time per round. If you have a proficiency bonus of +3 and you're attacking three times in the same turn, you can burn all three of them if you want.
So I was building a Level 8 Monk for a quick one shot I'm playing and I cam across something I was unsure of. I chose to have this character be a Goliath Monk and with the new rules Goliaths get Giant Ancestry as an option, one of those choices is "Fire’s Burn (Fire Giant). When you hit a target with an attack roll and deal damage to it, you can also deal 1d10 Fire damage to that target." (copied straight from the page btw) Anyway as a Monk I can use "Flurry of Blows. You can expend 1 Focus Point to make two Unarmed Strikes as a Bonus Action." Here comes the question, if I roll to hit and succeed obviously my normal attack would get the bonus 1d10 the thing I'm confused on would be since you have to roll to hit with the Flurry of Blows would those also get the bonus from Fire's Burn essentially getting 3d10 Fire damage? Any help is appreciated thank you.
When I first read that long ago, I thought the same thing. It took me to slow down and really read it, Yeah it’s on one attack not per attack. So only one d10 per round and x number of times your pb. It would be insane damage if per attack, with nick and fob. But all for naught.
It can be used a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus per long rest. There's nothing there saying it can only be used one time per round. If you have a proficiency bonus of +3 and you're attacking three times in the same turn, you can burn all three of them if you want.
Thanks for pointing that out. Which is correct. I got hung up on the (per attack) notion. And disregarded the usage part correctly. As you have accurately have. Thanks again.
So I was building a Level 8 Monk for a quick one shot I'm playing and I cam across something I was unsure of. I chose to have this character be a Goliath Monk and with the new rules Goliaths get Giant Ancestry as an option, one of those choices is "Fire’s Burn (Fire Giant). When you hit a target with an attack roll and deal damage to it, you can also deal 1d10 Fire damage to that target." (copied straight from the page btw) Anyway as a Monk I can use "Flurry of Blows. You can expend 1 Focus Point to make two Unarmed Strikes as a Bonus Action." Here comes the question, if I roll to hit and succeed obviously my normal attack would get the bonus 1d10 the thing I'm confused on would be since you have to roll to hit with the Flurry of Blows would those also get the bonus from Fire's Burn essentially getting 3d10 Fire damage? Any help is appreciated thank you.
You can only use the ability a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, then you need a long rest.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I was building a Level 8 Monk for a quick one shot I'm playing and I cam across something I was unsure of. I chose to have this character be a Goliath Monk and with the new rules Goliaths get Giant Ancestry as an option, one of those choices is "Fire’s Burn (Fire Giant). When you hit a target with an attack roll and deal damage to it, you can also deal 1d10 Fire damage to that target." (copied straight from the page btw) Anyway as a Monk I can use "Flurry of Blows. You can expend 1 Focus Point to make two Unarmed Strikes as a Bonus Action." Here comes the question, if I roll to hit and succeed obviously my normal attack would get the bonus 1d10 the thing I'm confused on would be since you have to roll to hit with the Flurry of Blows would those also get the bonus from Fire's Burn essentially getting 3d10 Fire damage? Any help is appreciated thank you.
You can only use Fire's Burn a certain number of times, and each use only applies to one attack. You can choose to add the damage to your Flurry of Blows (or any other attack) if you have enough uses left.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I see, Thanks for the info.
When I first read that long ago, I thought the same thing. It took me to slow down and really read it, Yeah it’s on one attack not per attack. So only one d10 per round and x number of times your pb. It would be insane damage if per attack, with nick and fob. But all for naught.
It can be used a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus per long rest. There's nothing there saying it can only be used one time per round. If you have a proficiency bonus of +3 and you're attacking three times in the same turn, you can burn all three of them if you want.
pronouns: he/she/they
Thanks for pointing that out. Which is correct. I got hung up on the (per attack) notion. And disregarded the usage part correctly. As you have accurately have.
Thanks again.
You can only use the ability a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, then you need a long rest.