Once on each of your turns, you can cause the swarm to assist you in one of the following ways, immediately after you hit a creature with an attack:
Does this apply to spells with saving throws, or forced damage like spike growth?
My interpretation of the rules is “no”. Which makes me sad. In the combat section of the basic rules and players handbook they talk about “making an attack”. An attack involves an attack roll.
Thank you for the answer, as much as I knew it wouldn't work, I really wanted to believe it did.
Buy your DM their favorite treat and tell them what a great idea it is to let it work! Tell them 100% of the people in this thread approve of it working!
Swarm Keeper ranger's gathered swarm states:
Once on each of your turns, you can cause the swarm to assist you in one of the following ways, immediately after you hit a creature with an attack:
Does this apply to spells with saving throws, or forced damage like spike growth?
My interpretation of the rules is “no”. Which makes me sad. In the combat section of the basic rules and players handbook they talk about “making an attack”. An attack involves an attack roll.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat
Thank you for the answer, as much as I knew it wouldn't work, I really wanted to believe it did.
Buy your DM their favorite treat and tell them what a great idea it is to let it work! Tell them 100% of the people in this thread approve of it working!
I'm taking notes, lmao
Usually when it says “hit with an attack” it means you need to make an attack roll.