Hi Everyone. How long does Bastion of Law last? If I were a Sorlock and applied a level 5 Armor of Agathys and then activated this feature, how does it work to determine when Armor of Agathys fades?
Example scenario: A creature hits me and does 30 points of damage, but I had set up this ward by using 5 sorcery points, so I can roll 5d8 damage mitigation from the ward. When rolled, for argument sake, let's say I rolled 32 points of damage mitigation so I take no damage.
1- Does the creature still take the 25 points of cold damage from Armor of Agathys?
2- Since I technically, took no damage, Armor of Agathys should still be up, right?
3- Is the ward still in effect for additional attacks or is it gone? The wording says it lasts until you take a long rest. So does that mean a sorcerer can burn up to 5 sorcery points at the beginning of the day and have that ward against all incoming damage for the entire day?
Sorry for the long post but this question has been bugging me a lot.
Literally says "The ward lasts until you finish a long rest or until you use this feature again."
1. Yes, you still received damage. Even if you reduce the damage to zero, you still received the damage in the first place.
2. Yes.
3. You expend the dice you roll so if you've used all 5, you've got nothing left to roll and the ward no longer provides any benefit.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi Everyone. How long does Bastion of Law last? If I were a Sorlock and applied a level 5 Armor of Agathys and then activated this feature, how does it work to determine when Armor of Agathys fades?
Example scenario: A creature hits me and does 30 points of damage, but I had set up this ward by using 5 sorcery points, so I can roll 5d8 damage mitigation from the ward. When rolled, for argument sake, let's say I rolled 32 points of damage mitigation so I take no damage.
1- Does the creature still take the 25 points of cold damage from Armor of Agathys?
2- Since I technically, took no damage, Armor of Agathys should still be up, right?
3- Is the ward still in effect for additional attacks or is it gone? The wording says it lasts until you take a long rest. So does that mean a sorcerer can burn up to 5 sorcery points at the beginning of the day and have that ward against all incoming damage for the entire day?
Sorry for the long post but this question has been bugging me a lot.
Literally says "The ward lasts until you finish a long rest or until you use this feature again."
1. Yes, you still received damage. Even if you reduce the damage to zero, you still received the damage in the first place.
2. Yes.
3. You expend the dice you roll so if you've used all 5, you've got nothing left to roll and the ward no longer provides any benefit.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.