Pretty sure that twinned spell is getting heavily nerfed in the PHB update.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
I seem to recall in the video they said that it was definitely too strong and was being toned down accordingly. There was more than cleanup there.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Its pretty powerful I do disagree with what's being said here though. Fireball says that it targets 1 point if that point is a creature, it is targeting a creature. Thus it follows that it is allowed. It's certainly up for interpretation but following logic and the precise wording it would be allowed if and only if the points you target are creatures. Someone also said that fireball targets more than one creature which is also incorrect as previously stated "target 1 point" could be a creature in which case only 1 creature is targeted. Closing in a way it is both legal and illegal when going from the text only. If you tried to use it on the ground its illigal but if you cast it on a creature it would be legal.
...Fireball says that it targets 1 point if that point is a creature, it is targeting a creature...
I don't think this follows. You are still targeting a point in space. A creature just happens to occupy that point. Otherwise the spell would have probably said, "target a creature or point you can see".
In any case, the latest twinned update from the UA (which we still don't know if it made it out of that unchanged) has the MM completely reworked to only be used to effectively upcast control spells on the cheap. Others have said that it's no longer "twinning" a spell, and I agree there. They should probably call it something else if that iteration is sticking.
Its pretty powerful I do disagree with what's being said here though. Fireball says that it targets 1 point if that point is a creature, it is targeting a creature. Thus it follows that it is allowed. It's certainly up for interpretation but following logic and the precise wording it would be allowed if and only if the points you target are creatures. Someone also said that fireball targets more than one creature which is also incorrect as previously stated "target 1 point" could be a creature in which case only 1 creature is targeted. Closing in a way it is both legal and illegal when going from the text only. If you tried to use it on the ground its illigal but if you cast it on a creature it would be legal.
You cannot twin fireball... Google is your friend, the entire internet disagrees with you as well as the RAW.
Its pretty powerful I do disagree with what's being said here though. Fireball says that it targets 1 point if that point is a creature, it is targeting a creature. Thus it follows that it is allowed. It's certainly up for interpretation but following logic and the precise wording it would be allowed if and only if the points you target are creatures. Someone also said that fireball targets more than one creature which is also incorrect as previously stated "target 1 point" could be a creature in which case only 1 creature is targeted. Closing in a way it is both legal and illegal when going from the text only. If you tried to use it on the ground its illigal but if you cast it on a creature it would be legal.
You're incorrect. A point and a creature are not the same. Fireball can target the point that a creature is standing on, but cannot target the creature itself. The point is a location and a location only.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Pretty sure that twinned spell is getting heavily nerfed in the PHB update.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
I'm not sure it's so much to nerf it as to clean up the rules mess that it is, and if that involves nerfing it, so be it.
I seem to recall in the video they said that it was definitely too strong and was being toned down accordingly. There was more than cleanup there.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Its pretty powerful I do disagree with what's being said here though. Fireball says that it targets 1 point if that point is a creature, it is targeting a creature. Thus it follows that it is allowed. It's certainly up for interpretation but following logic and the precise wording it would be allowed if and only if the points you target are creatures. Someone also said that fireball targets more than one creature which is also incorrect as previously stated "target 1 point" could be a creature in which case only 1 creature is targeted. Closing in a way it is both legal and illegal when going from the text only. If you tried to use it on the ground its illigal but if you cast it on a creature it would be legal.
I don't think this follows. You are still targeting a point in space. A creature just happens to occupy that point. Otherwise the spell would have probably said, "target a creature or point you can see".
In any case, the latest twinned update from the UA (which we still don't know if it made it out of that unchanged) has the MM completely reworked to only be used to effectively upcast control spells on the cheap. Others have said that it's no longer "twinning" a spell, and I agree there. They should probably call it something else if that iteration is sticking.
You cannot twin fireball... Google is your friend, the entire internet disagrees with you as well as the RAW.
You're incorrect. A point and a creature are not the same. Fireball can target the point that a creature is standing on, but cannot target the creature itself. The point is a location and a location only.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha