Yes, that's allowed. You're not spending two slots on spells on the same turn, and the Magic action granted by Call Lightning is not the same as casting a spell so you're not running afoul of the Quickened Spell rules either.
And if i use a magic action to cast fireball from my staff of power (5 charges, no slot required) than can I quicken Lighting bolt?
Yes, because the rule in the 2024 Player's Handbook says "on a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell", and in your example you're only expending one spell slot (the one used to cast lightning bolt).
And if i use a magic action to cast fireball from my staff of power (5 charges, no slot required) than can I quicken Lighting bolt?
Yes, because the rule in the 2024 Player's Handbook says "on a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell", and in your example you're only expending one spell slot (the one used to cast lightning bolt).
Actually you wouldn't be able to. The rules for using Quicken Spell override the spellcasting rules in this case: "You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way." No matter how you cast it, whether it was with a spell slot or not, you wouldn't be able to quicken Lightning Bolt after casting Fireball, or cast Fireball after quickening Lightning Bolt.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If I'm concentrating on Call Lightning and use a magic action to cause the lighting to strike again on my second turn (No spell slot spent)
Could I then use Quickened Spell to cast Lighting Bolt as my Bonus action on that same turn?
Yes, that's allowed. You're not spending two slots on spells on the same turn, and the Magic action granted by Call Lightning is not the same as casting a spell so you're not running afoul of the Quickened Spell rules either.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Yup, it's allowed. At higher levels, I like to use this combo -
Turn 1 - Quicken Sunbeam, use Magic action to fire a second beam
Turn 2 - Magic action to fire another Sunbeam, Quicken Fireball
And if i use a magic action to cast fireball from my staff of power (5 charges, no slot required) than can I quicken Lighting bolt?
Yes, because the rule in the 2024 Player's Handbook says "on a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell", and in your example you're only expending one spell slot (the one used to cast lightning bolt).
pronouns: he/she/they
.
.
Actually you wouldn't be able to. The rules for using Quicken Spell override the spellcasting rules in this case: "You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way." No matter how you cast it, whether it was with a spell slot or not, you wouldn't be able to quicken Lightning Bolt after casting Fireball, or cast Fireball after quickening Lightning Bolt.