In the middle of a battle recently the Wild Magic Sorcerer in our party rolled a WM Surge and rolled 57: "For the next minute, any flammable object you touch that isn't being worn or carried by another creature bursts into flame."
Does that include objects worn or carried by the Sorcerer himself? Couldn't find any ruling on it. Assumed: RAW his clothes and items go up in flame. RAI: No - just stuff he touches with his hands.
Just objects that the Sorc touches with their hands. It's not supposed to be a self-immolation effect. If it was, it would say something to that effect.
RAW, yes, objects that you hold and wear that are flammable do catch on fire. I don't think this is RAI, but the reading of the text shows that it only applies to objects worn or carried by other creatures, so that doesn't include you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
In the middle of a battle recently the Wild Magic Sorcerer in our party rolled a WM Surge and rolled 57: "For the next minute, any flammable object you touch that isn't being worn or carried by another creature bursts into flame."
Does that include objects worn or carried by the Sorcerer himself? Couldn't find any ruling on it. Assumed: RAW his clothes and items go up in flame. RAI: No - just stuff he touches with his hands.
Any thoughts??
Just objects that the Sorc touches with their hands. It's not supposed to be a self-immolation effect. If it was, it would say something to that effect.
RAW, yes, objects that you hold and wear that are flammable do catch on fire. I don't think this is RAI, but the reading of the text shows that it only applies to objects worn or carried by other creatures, so that doesn't include you.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Misread, sorry. Deleted my post.
It says "by another creature".
You technically are not another person in relation to yourself, so RAW, yes, your flammable clothes and objects that you hold do catch on fire.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
It's poorly written. Why would the ability not affect clothing or object worn by another creature but affect still be able to burn your own?
Maybe because the fact that it's poorly written?
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms