As a Diviner with Portent, for instance? Yes, you can. The ability says you must see the creature you want to affect and Blink says you still see at least 60 ft of the battlefield, so I would say yes.
While on the Ethereal Plane, you can see and hear the plane you originated from, which is cast in shades of gray, and you can’t see anything there more than 60 feet away. You can only affect and be affected by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane.
So I think the DM could just rule flat no or he could rule yes as long as it did not "affect a creature".
1. IS portent affecting another creature? Maybe not.
2. Not a roll; but is counterspell affecting another creature? Probably not.
3. On the other hand silvery barbs is definitely affecting another creature? Yes always.
That is why I find this confusing because its not like I am affecting them just the dice.
I would like to understand if it does or doesn't work and why. Cause I'm not targeting the creature or making it do any saving throws. I'm just effecting the out come of the dice. Lol
You are affecting a creature by affecting the dice, as the dice is just a play mechanism for something the character is doing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
While under [spell[Blink[/spell] you cannot affect creatures on the prime material plane being on a different plane of existance in the Ethereal. You see through because you are effectively on the Border region of it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
While I am blinked can I effect rolls of other players?
As a Diviner with Portent, for instance? Yes, you can. The ability says you must see the creature you want to affect and Blink says you still see at least 60 ft of the battlefield, so I would say yes.
I think the answer is either "no" or "it depends"
The spell says:
While on the Ethereal Plane, you can see and hear the plane you originated from, which is cast in shades of gray, and you can’t see anything there more than 60 feet away. You can only affect and be affected by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane.
So I think the DM could just rule flat no or he could rule yes as long as it did not "affect a creature".
1. IS portent affecting another creature? Maybe not.
2. Not a roll; but is counterspell affecting another creature? Probably not.
3. On the other hand silvery barbs is definitely affecting another creature? Yes always.
That is why I find this confusing because its not like I am affecting them just the dice.
I would like to understand if it does or doesn't work and why. Cause I'm not targeting the creature or making it do any saving throws. I'm just effecting the out come of the dice. Lol
You are affecting a creature by affecting the dice, as the dice is just a play mechanism for something the character is doing.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
While under [spell[Blink[/spell] you cannot affect creatures on the prime material plane being on a different plane of existance in the Ethereal. You see through because you are effectively on the Border region of it.