you able to go in and out of it like the other 9 characters?
protects you from spells, attacks and arrows etc is my understanding. does it protect against breath attacks from dragons?
any thoughts on special uses of this spell?
if casting Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound beforehand and have Hut placed in the center or outside, would work okay? does the Hound count as one of the 9?
able to cast Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound afterwards inside the Hut? would it be able to go in and out okay?
able to use the Spell Control Water if cast beforehand or afterwards?
1. You can leave the area freely, because it says any creature who's inside it when the spell is cast can move through it freely, and you're inside it when you cast the spell. However, it does also say that the spell ends if you leave the affected area, so you can't come and go the way everyone else can.
2. This is a tricky question, because it's essentially asking whether a dragon's breath weapon is a magical effect. The old Sage Advice for the 2014 rules said that it wasn't, but that bit of Sage Advice wasn't reprinted in the 2024 version, so...ask your DM, I guess.
3. It's mostly useful for providing a safe, secure area to take a long rest in.
4 and 5. The hound created by Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound is not a creature, so it does not count as one of the nine creatures that can be inside the dome. Since it's a magical effect, it can't pass through the dome in either direction. There's nothing stopping you from casting that spell while inside the dome, but I'm not sure how useful that would be.
"All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it." that's where I'm thinking the breath attack of a dragon would not pass through.
we are going to be defending a nice size city with a strong possible red dragon attacking too. we will be around the open market place with a good size river with gates and stone bridge for crossing. i am looking at a good defensive and still be able to cause attacks and damage etc. that's why I'm also looking at the "hound" and "control water"
"All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it." that's where I'm thinking the breath attack of a dragon would not pass through.
we are going to be defending a nice size city with a strong possible red dragon attacking too. we will be around the open market place with a good size river with gates and stone bridge for crossing. i am looking at a good defensive and still be able to cause attacks and damage etc. that's why I'm also looking at the "hound" and "control water"
The problem is that the breath attack of a dragon isn't a creature or an object. If one considers it a magical effect, it can't pass through. If it's not, it can.
you able to go in and out of it like the other 9 characters?
protects you from spells, attacks and arrows etc is my understanding. does it protect against breath attacks from dragons?
any thoughts on special uses of this spell?
if casting Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound beforehand and have Hut placed in the center or outside, would work okay? does the Hound count as one of the 9?
able to cast Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound afterwards inside the Hut? would it be able to go in and out okay?
able to use the Spell Control Water if cast beforehand or afterwards?
To answer these questions in order:
1. You can leave the area freely, because it says any creature who's inside it when the spell is cast can move through it freely, and you're inside it when you cast the spell. However, it does also say that the spell ends if you leave the affected area, so you can't come and go the way everyone else can.
2. This is a tricky question, because it's essentially asking whether a dragon's breath weapon is a magical effect. The old Sage Advice for the 2014 rules said that it wasn't, but that bit of Sage Advice wasn't reprinted in the 2024 version, so...ask your DM, I guess.
3. It's mostly useful for providing a safe, secure area to take a long rest in.
4 and 5. The hound created by Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound is not a creature, so it does not count as one of the nine creatures that can be inside the dome. Since it's a magical effect, it can't pass through the dome in either direction. There's nothing stopping you from casting that spell while inside the dome, but I'm not sure how useful that would be.
pronouns: he/she/they
"All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it." that's where I'm thinking the breath attack of a dragon would not pass through.
we are going to be defending a nice size city with a strong possible red dragon attacking too. we will be around the open market place with a good size river with gates and stone bridge for crossing. i am looking at a good defensive and still be able to cause attacks and damage etc. that's why I'm also looking at the "hound" and "control water"
The problem is that the breath attack of a dragon isn't a creature or an object. If one considers it a magical effect, it can't pass through. If it's not, it can.
pronouns: he/she/they
how about this line "The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside."
What about it?
pronouns: he/she/they
would that not mean no gases, outside environment or as in breath of a dragon etc will go inside the Hut and effect the characters inside?
That would be a pretty big stretch, in my opinion.
pronouns: he/she/they