I was curious about the new Trickery Cleric, but I wasn't sure if this has been answered and I can't seem to find a definite answer. If a cleric uses Invoke Duplicity, could they cast Spirit Guardians from that the Duplicate's space?
The spell has a range of "Self", but Invoke Duplicity says you can cast a spell as if "you" were in its space. Does the Duplicate count as "me"? If they are attacked, do they make a save? Or will it auto pass? If I get hit, do I make the save? If the Duplicate's time runs out after 1 minute is Spirit Guardians dispelled or does it transfer over to me since either way, I'd be the one concentrating on the spell?
I'm a bit confused but if I gathered correctly my understanding is that if I use the Duplicate to cast Spirit Guardians, the duplicate (which doesn't seem like it can be targeted) will have the spell emanate from it. However, I'd be the one concentrating and therefore I must be attacked to lose concentration. I'd appreciate any clarification.
This is an interaction that is not explained very well. We ruled at our table that emanations had to center on the actual player, otherwise you would have an indestructible illusion running around causing damage to everything on the field with no way to stop it other than to break your concentration. That seems to make the duplicate more powerful than it was intended to be.
That is an interesting conundrum, but if I were GM'ing, I would rule that the Duplicate does not count as an actual creature, so the spirit guardians will emanate from the real cleric even if it is cast by the Duplicate.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I was curious about the new Trickery Cleric, but I wasn't sure if this has been answered and I can't seem to find a definite answer. If a cleric uses Invoke Duplicity, could they cast Spirit Guardians from that the Duplicate's space?
The spell has a range of "Self", but Invoke Duplicity says you can cast a spell as if "you" were in its space. Does the Duplicate count as "me"? If they are attacked, do they make a save? Or will it auto pass? If I get hit, do I make the save? If the Duplicate's time runs out after 1 minute is Spirit Guardians dispelled or does it transfer over to me since either way, I'd be the one concentrating on the spell?
I'm a bit confused but if I gathered correctly my understanding is that if I use the Duplicate to cast Spirit Guardians, the duplicate (which doesn't seem like it can be targeted) will have the spell emanate from it. However, I'd be the one concentrating and therefore I must be attacked to lose concentration. I'd appreciate any clarification.
This is an interaction that is not explained very well. We ruled at our table that emanations had to center on the actual player, otherwise you would have an indestructible illusion running around causing damage to everything on the field with no way to stop it other than to break your concentration. That seems to make the duplicate more powerful than it was intended to be.
That is an interesting conundrum, but if I were GM'ing, I would rule that the Duplicate does not count as an actual creature, so the spirit guardians will emanate from the real cleric even if it is cast by the Duplicate.