To me, this seems obvious. Game Master disagrees and is looking for a reason to invalidate the following.
Level 11 Fighter Champion wielding an attuned Hammer of Thunderbolts. So per my class/build I have 3 attacks per action. GM seems to think that the following would be breaking some rule or another:
Attack 1: Swing hammer for a melee attack.
Attack 2: Swing hammer for a melee attack.
Attack 3: Throw the hammer for a ranged attack.
Like I said, it seems pretty obvious, but the GM thinks I am wrong. After some massive overuse of homebrew and creatively fudging the rules in past campaigns that he and I took turns running, his whole shtick for this campaign is "100% by the book." Is there anything in the rules that says something like "you can't do melee and ranged with the same weapon in the same round"??
Thanks for the response. I suppose we can wait and see if anyone has anything to say to the contrary, but I think Lilith is 100% correct.
I don't intend for this to be a "gotcha" moment with the GM. I just want to know if there really is some "by the book" rules issue that would prevent me from doing that series of attacks. If I'm wrong, then I'm wrong.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
To me, this seems obvious. Game Master disagrees and is looking for a reason to invalidate the following.
Level 11 Fighter Champion wielding an attuned Hammer of Thunderbolts. So per my class/build I have 3 attacks per action. GM seems to think that the following would be breaking some rule or another:
Like I said, it seems pretty obvious, but the GM thinks I am wrong. After some massive overuse of homebrew and creatively fudging the rules in past campaigns that he and I took turns running, his whole shtick for this campaign is "100% by the book." Is there anything in the rules that says something like "you can't do melee and ranged with the same weapon in the same round"??
Thanks for the response. I suppose we can wait and see if anyone has anything to say to the contrary, but I think Lilith is 100% correct.
I don't intend for this to be a "gotcha" moment with the GM. I just want to know if there really is some "by the book" rules issue that would prevent me from doing that series of attacks. If I'm wrong, then I'm wrong.