Some special abilities have restrictions on the number of times they can be used.
X/Day. The notation “X/Day” means a special ability can be used X number of times and that a monster must finish a long rest to regain expended uses. For example, “1/Day” means a special ability can be used once and that the monster must finish a long rest to use it again.
Recharge X–Y. The notation “Recharge X–Y” means a monster can use a special ability once and that the ability then has a random chance of recharging during each subsequent round of combat. At the start of each of the monster’s turns, roll a d6. If the roll is one of the numbers in the recharge notation, the monster regains the use of the special ability. The ability also recharges when the monster finishes a short or long rest.
For example, “Recharge 5–6” means a monster can use the special ability once. Then, at the start of the monster’s turn, it regains the use of that ability if it rolls a 5 or 6 on a d6.
Recharge after a Short or Long Rest. This notation means that a monster can use a special ability once and then must finish a short or long rest to use it again.
However, in the last section, "Recharge after a Short or Long Rest" should be bolded, like the other Recharge types. The corresponding section of the basic rules is properly formatted, as is the version in the book:
Recharge after a Short or Long Rest. This notation means that a monster can use a special ability once and then must finish a short or long rest to use it again.
The Limited Usage section of the introduction to the Monster Manual says:
However, in the last section, "Recharge after a Short or Long Rest" should be bolded, like the other Recharge types. The corresponding section of the basic rules is properly formatted, as is the version in the book:
Please fix this. Thanks.
This is fixed. Thanks.