In the player's handbook, the spell Find Steed states that, "Your DM might allow other animals to be summoned as steeds."
However, the spell description states that, "Your GM might allow other animals to be summoned as steeds.
While it's probably safe to assume that DM is correct because this is D&D, I made a point of checking my physical PHB and it does look like DM is correct.
'DM' is a term copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast as part of their D&D IP. As such, the term is not included in the available rules language of the SRD under the Open Gaming Language. This affects some spells such found in the Basic Rules, which use the SRD version, such as conjure fey or conjure elemental, which mention the DM/GM
For spells which have this slightly different (but mechanically trivial) wording, but the same name, we display the Basic Rules wording, as the Basic Rules is the 'baseline' of content.
In the player's handbook, the spell Find Steed states that, "Your DM might allow other animals to be summoned as steeds."
However, the spell description states that, "Your GM might allow other animals to be summoned as steeds.
While it's probably safe to assume that DM is correct because this is D&D, I made a point of checking my physical PHB and it does look like DM is correct.
'DM' is a term copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast as part of their D&D IP. As such, the term is not included in the available rules language of the SRD under the Open Gaming Language. This affects some spells such found in the Basic Rules, which use the SRD version, such as conjure fey or conjure elemental, which mention the DM/GM
For spells which have this slightly different (but mechanically trivial) wording, but the same name, we display the Basic Rules wording, as the Basic Rules is the 'baseline' of content.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here