I know this is an old post, but does this mean it is okay to duel-wield hand crossbows and fire twice each turn, or wield one hand crossbow and fire it twice in one turn, or both? Thank you in advance for any clarification.
You can't dual wield hand crossbows because you need a hand free for reloading.
If you take the Attack action with a hand crossbow you can attack with it again using the bonus action from the Crossbow Expert feat. See "Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?" in Sage Advice Compendium.
The October 2016 Sage Advice has numerous errata which have been incorporated from the 6th printing onwards.
One of those is the removal of the Loading property from crossbows when a character takes the Crossbow expert feat:
Crossbow Expert (p. 165). The word “loaded” has been cut from the third benefit.
Source - Players Handbook Errata
How to add Tooltips
I know this is an old post, but does this mean it is okay to duel-wield hand crossbows and fire twice each turn, or wield one hand crossbow and fire it twice in one turn, or both? Thank you in advance for any clarification.
You can't dual wield hand crossbows because you need a hand free for reloading.
If you take the Attack action with a hand crossbow you can attack with it again using the bonus action from the Crossbow Expert feat. See "Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?" in Sage Advice Compendium.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thank you, you are a saint!