So, I was reading through the spell description, where it says “For the duration, you have advantage on all Charisma checks directed at one creature of your choice that isn’t hostile toward you. When the spell ends, the creature realizes that you used magic to influence its mood and becomes hostile toward you. A creature prone to violence might attack you. Another creature might seek retribution in other ways (at the DM’s discretion), depending on the nature of your interaction with it.”
That made me wonder: could you cast it on a person, wait ~55 seconds, then cast it again, over and over? The only limit seems to be that the creature can’t be hostile towards you, which would definitely be true if they were still under the spell’s control. Obviously, they have to make a save, but assuming they don’t, it seems like you can just keep the spell going for a while.
The moment you recast friends the spell will end because it requires concentration... So no.
Technically, the spell stops as soon as you START casting a concentration spell.
So they would immediately become hostile to you, even before you complete casting the spell the second time.
This is what I meant. When you go to cast friends for the second time, the first one will end and the creature is then hostile, so the second casting fails.
Technically, the spell stops as soon as you START casting a concentration spell.
So they would immediately become hostile to you, even before you complete casting the spell the second time.
not sure I agree with this- PHB: "You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once."
It doesn't say when you start casting, it says when you cast another spell, which is a completed event (if I get in my car to go to the store and sit there, i didn't go to the store, i started to go to the store). I'd say you could serial cast it.
where do you see that concentration breaks when you start casting a concentration spell? Nothing else yet exists that requires your concentration. The spell, that exists, "requires you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends"....if you haven't completed the spell it hasn't started and therefore can't end.
This is an old and probably dead post, but riddle me this: what if TWO PCs knew the cantrip and took turns casting it?
My guess would be it would work all of about twice because by then the target will be hostile towards both of them and the spell doesn't work on hostile creatures.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The mongoose blew out its candle and was asleep in bed before the room went dark." —Llanowar fable
Technically, the spell stops as soon as you START casting a concentration spell.
So they would immediately become hostile to you, even before you complete casting the spell the second time.
not sure I agree with this- PHB: "You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once."
It doesn't say when you start casting, it says when you cast another spell, which is a completed event (if I get in my car to go to the store and sit there, i didn't go to the store, i started to go to the store). I'd say you could serial cast it.
where do you see that concentration breaks when you start casting a concentration spell? Nothing else yet exists that requires your concentration. The spell, that exists, "requires you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends"....if you haven't completed the spell it hasn't started and therefore can't end.
I know the thread is old, but I couldn't resist reading it entirely when it popped up on the forum again, and I wanted to add my two cents about this reply.
We had this conversation from the Dev (not official ruling; link here):
@quadhund I cast Invisibility on myself. I cast Invisibility on myself again, before the duration of the first spell lapsed. Did I become visible? @JeremyECrawford A concentration spell ends the instant you start casting another concentration spell, and a spell takes effect when its casting ends. If you cast invisibility in succession, you're visible during the 1-action casting time—effectively for a split second or so.
And it seems this has been incorporated into the 2024 rules:
[...] Another Concentration Effect. You lose Concentration on an effect the moment you start casting a spell that requires Concentration or activate another effect that requires Concentration. Damage. [...] Incapacitated or Dead. [...]
[...] Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once.
Concentration. As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires concentration, your concentration on another effect ends instantly.
This is an old and probably dead post, but riddle me this: what if TWO PCs knew the cantrip and took turns casting it?
As the one breaks, they immediately become hostile to who cast it regardless if someone else casts it again. Each spell and reaction is specific to that caster.
Where is that 24 hour stipulation written? I don't see it in the spell description.
In regards to Plaguescarred.
Let me put here the spell's description (emphasis mine)
You magically emanate a sense of friendship toward one creature you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or have the Charmed condition for the duration. The target succeeds automatically if it isn’t a Humanoid, if you’re fighting it, or if you have cast this spell on it within the past 24 hours.
So, I was reading through the spell description, where it says “For the duration, you have advantage on all Charisma checks directed at one creature of your choice that isn’t hostile toward you. When the spell ends, the creature realizes that you used magic to influence its mood and becomes hostile toward you. A creature prone to violence might attack you. Another creature might seek retribution in other ways (at the DM’s discretion), depending on the nature of your interaction with it.”
That made me wonder: could you cast it on a person, wait ~55 seconds, then cast it again, over and over? The only limit seems to be that the creature can’t be hostile towards you, which would definitely be true if they were still under the spell’s control. Obviously, they have to make a save, but assuming they don’t, it seems like you can just keep the spell going for a while.
The moment you recast friends the spell will end because it requires concentration... So no.
Technically, the spell stops as soon as you START casting a concentration spell.
So they would immediately become hostile to you, even before you complete casting the spell the second time.
This is what I meant. When you go to cast friends for the second time, the first one will end and the creature is then hostile, so the second casting fails.
not sure I agree with this- PHB: "You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once."
It doesn't say when you start casting, it says when you cast another spell, which is a completed event (if I get in my car to go to the store and sit there, i didn't go to the store, i started to go to the store). I'd say you could serial cast it.
where do you see that concentration breaks when you start casting a concentration spell? Nothing else yet exists that requires your concentration. The spell, that exists, "requires you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends"....if you haven't completed the spell it hasn't started and therefore can't end.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
That makes sense, thanks!
This is an old and probably dead post, but riddle me this: what if TWO PCs knew the cantrip and took turns casting it?
My guess would be it would work all of about twice because by then the target will be hostile towards both of them and the spell doesn't work on hostile creatures.
Makes sense. Thanks for the response!
The target succeeds automatically if it isn’t a Humanoid, if you’re fighting it, or if you have cast Friends on it within the past 24 hours.
I know the thread is old, but I couldn't resist reading it entirely when it popped up on the forum again, and I wanted to add my two cents about this reply.
We had this conversation from the Dev (not official ruling; link here):
And it seems this has been incorporated into the 2024 rules:
For comparison, in the case of the 2014 rules:
Also, XGtE, p. 5:
And in the Sage Advice Compendium:
As the one breaks, they immediately become hostile to who cast it regardless if someone else casts it again. Each spell and reaction is specific to that caster.
Where is that 24 hour stipulation written? I don't see it in the spell description.
In regards to Plaguescarred.
Let me put here the spell's description (emphasis mine)
The 24 hour stipulation is absent from the older version depending on which one used.