I'm about to play a Divine Sorcerer who's gonna pick four levels in bard. That means that at PC level 5 I will have two level 3 spell slots, but neither class have gained access to level 3 spells.
BUT! As a divine sorcerer, I have Divine Magic, and that gives me a spell depending on my affinity. This spell can be changed: "If you later replace this spell, you must replace it with a spell from the cleric spell list".
Can I pick a level 3 spell? Since I will have spell slots on level 3? It just states that the spell needs to be from the cleric spell list.
Or does this, in the beginning of the paragraph, change things? "You must otherwise obey all the restrictions for selecting the spell, and it becomes a sorcerer spell for you". It's specified for leveling up, that cleric spells are defined as sorcerer spells.
No, it does not. Variations of this have come up in the past, and the answer is always a resounding NO!
When picking spells, you only get spells appropriate for your individual classes. If you are a lvl 4 bard / lvl 1 Divine sorcerer, you pick up to level 2 bard spells and level 1 sorcerer/cleric spells.
"You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class."
and
"If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells. If a lower-level spell that you cast, like burning hands, has an enhanced effect when cast using a higher-level slot, you can use the enhanced effect, even though you don't have any spells of that higher level."
I'm about to play a Divine Sorcerer who's gonna pick four levels in bard. That means that at PC level 5 I will have two level 3 spell slots, but neither class have gained access to level 3 spells.
BUT! As a divine sorcerer, I have Divine Magic, and that gives me a spell depending on my affinity. This spell can be changed: "If you later replace this spell, you must replace it with a spell from the cleric spell list".
Can I pick a level 3 spell? Since I will have spell slots on level 3? It just states that the spell needs to be from the cleric spell list.
Or does this, in the beginning of the paragraph, change things? "You must otherwise obey all the restrictions for selecting the spell, and it becomes a sorcerer spell for you". It's specified for leveling up, that cleric spells are defined as sorcerer spells.
No, it does not. Variations of this have come up in the past, and the answer is always a resounding NO!
When picking spells, you only get spells appropriate for your individual classes. If you are a lvl 4 bard / lvl 1 Divine sorcerer, you pick up to level 2 bard spells and level 1 sorcerer/cleric spells.
There is no way around that.
From the basic rules on spellcasting for multiclass characters:
"You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class."
and
"If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells. If a lower-level spell that you cast, like burning hands, has an enhanced effect when cast using a higher-level slot, you can use the enhanced effect, even though you don't have any spells of that higher level."
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].