I am wondering if Hail of Thorns can be used more then once during the same casting of the spell because it is a concentration spell? If you can then I agree with it being a concentration spell, if not then why is it a concentration spell?
Since Hail of Thorns has a duration of 1 minute, I'd say that as long as you are concentrating it will still work. The word "next" is the problem. As a DM I'd probably rule that the "next ranged attack" refers to the type of attack and that specific type would continue until the spell ends. For example, if you used it with a handaxe you'd continue to have the effect with that handaxe (yeah, weird example, but to make a point), but if you tried to use a longbow after throwing the handaxe it would not have the effect of the spell even if the spell is still up.
"The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition. In addition to the normal effect of the attack, the target of the attack and each creature within 5 feet of it must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 1d10 piercing damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one."
The keyword is next. It is a concentration spell because it applies to the next time you hit. So if you miss, and you maintain concentration, you can try again with your next attack. If you miss, and then lose your concentration, you will not be granted the benefits of the attack. Once the effects of the spell occur, or you lose concentration, the spell ends. It does not occur multiple times with one casting.
"The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition. In addition to the normal effect of the attack, the target of the attack and each creature within 5 feet of it must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 1d10 piercing damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one."
The keyword is next. It is a concentration spell because it applies to the next time you hit. So if you miss, and you maintain concentration, you can try again with your next attack. If you miss, and then lose your concentration, you will not be granted the benefits of the attack. Once the effects of the spell occur, or you lose concentration, the spell ends. It does not occur multiple times with one casting.
This. You cast the spell and hold it until your next attack. If you hit the spell discharges. If you are interrupted by say damage and fail a concentration check you also lose the spell.
Good day all,
I am wondering if Hail of Thorns can be used more then once during the same casting of the spell because it is a concentration spell? If you can then I agree with it being a concentration spell, if not then why is it a concentration spell?
Since Hail of Thorns has a duration of 1 minute, I'd say that as long as you are concentrating it will still work. The word "next" is the problem. As a DM I'd probably rule that the "next ranged attack" refers to the type of attack and that specific type would continue until the spell ends. For example, if you used it with a handaxe you'd continue to have the effect with that handaxe (yeah, weird example, but to make a point), but if you tried to use a longbow after throwing the handaxe it would not have the effect of the spell even if the spell is still up.
But that's just my interpretation.
"The next time you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack before the spell ends, this spell creates a rain of thorns that sprouts from your ranged weapon or ammunition. In addition to the normal effect of the attack, the target of the attack and each creature within 5 feet of it must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 1d10 piercing damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one."
The keyword is next. It is a concentration spell because it applies to the next time you hit. So if you miss, and you maintain concentration, you can try again with your next attack. If you miss, and then lose your concentration, you will not be granted the benefits of the attack. Once the effects of the spell occur, or you lose concentration, the spell ends. It does not occur multiple times with one casting.
Thanks all for your input it really helps!!!