I just want to confirm that if I cast a bonus action spell, I can still cast 2 cantrips using my ACTION and ACTION SURGE?
I have read on here that I can cast 2 levelled spells also, as long as I do "not" cast a Bonus Action Spell. I won't do this anyway, because I'll only have 1 levelled spell and a cantrip.
Yes, if you use Action Surge you can cast a spell with the extra action provided, and if you didn't cast a spell as a bonus action that means that you can cast two leveled spells in one round.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I just want to confirm that if I cast a bonus action spell, I can still cast 2 cantrips using my ACTION and ACTION SURGE?
I have read on here that I can cast 2 levelled spells also, as long as I do "not" cast a Bonus Action Spell. I won't do this anyway, because I'll only have 1 levelled spell and a cantrip.
Note that One D&D seems to be headed toward eliminating this, and you wouldn't be able to use Action Surge to cast a spell at all
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Are you using a Bonus Action to Cast a Spell? Yes: The only other spells you can cast are cantrips with a casting time of 1 Action. No: You can cast whatever spells your action economy allows.
Are you using a Bonus Action to Cast a Spell? Yes: The only other spells you can cast are cantrips with a casting time of 1 Action. No: You can cast whatever spells your action economy allows.
I just want to confirm that if I cast a bonus action spell, I can still cast 2 cantrips using my ACTION and ACTION SURGE?
I have read on here that I can cast 2 levelled spells also, as long as I do "not" cast a Bonus Action Spell. I won't do this anyway, because I'll only have 1 levelled spell and a cantrip.
Yes, if you use Action Surge you can cast a spell with the extra action provided, and if you didn't cast a spell as a bonus action that means that you can cast two leveled spells in one round.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Yeah in general these rules suck and are overly confusing, but you've got the gist of it.
Usually they’re pretty straightforward; Action Surge just creates some weird interactions.
Note that One D&D seems to be headed toward eliminating this, and you wouldn't be able to use Action Surge to cast a spell at all
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Not really.
Are you using a Bonus Action to Cast a Spell?
Yes: The only other spells you can cast are cantrips with a casting time of 1 Action.
No: You can cast whatever spells your action economy allows.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/68136-enquiries-regarding-casting-bonus-action-cantrips?comment=19
Not confusing but for even better portraying we can have TexasDevin post his bonus action spellcasting diagram ;)
And yet this gets asked all the time.