I'm wondering if I can use metamagic, such as the one below, to apply to my hexblade curse?
"When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are."
I'm thinking not, as it doesn't have a spell level? It's more of an ability? But it'd definitely work on the ordinary 'hex' spell right?
I would agree the Hexblade curse is not eligible for this, as it is a magical ability rather than a spell proper. Also, it would go in direct contrast with the curse text itself, as, if I am not wrong, it states that you can only have one creature affected by your curse at any time.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
I would agree the Hexblade curse is not eligible for this, as it is a magical ability rather than a spell proper. Also, it would go in direct contrast with the curse text itself, as, if I am not wrong, it states that you can only have one creature affected by your curse at any time.
I agree, except with the latter part, as the metamagic ability states that it works on spells that absolutely cannot target more than one creature. But this will be really powerful just with normal hex, or even a ton of other powerful warlock spells cast at 5th level.
Mmmh, I am afraid tat the last part as well would not work, as the metamagic changes the number of targets the spell can "hit", but the curse, IIRC, states that no more than one creature can be under the effect of the curse. That, to me at least, does not get changed by the metamagic, as it would not be part of the "Target" bit of the "spell".
For example, I would not allow to use that metamagic feat with Hex, since that spell has the same limitations, therefore only the last Target hit would suffer it's effects, canceling all previous applications.
I might be looking too much into this... I'll have a look if I can find an errata or FAQ on this, because it sounds strange nobody raised the question before with similar spells (such as Hunter's Mark as well, for example)
UPDATE: Nope, didn't find anything official on this... Can someone from DDB/WotC enlighten us? :P
If a spell can affect a creature - whether by choice, chance, or being caught in an area of effect - it's targeting that creature. If a spell can target more than one creature, it's ineligible for Twinned Spell. Hex can be transferred to another creature, so it can't be twinned.
If a spell can affect a creature - whether by choice, chance, or being caught in an area of effect - it's targeting that creature. If a spell can target more than one creature, it's ineligible for Twinned Spell. Hex can be transferred to another creature, so it can't be twinned.
I have a warlock/sorcerer.
I'm wondering if I can use metamagic, such as the one below, to apply to my hexblade curse?
"When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are."
I'm thinking not, as it doesn't have a spell level? It's more of an ability? But it'd definitely work on the ordinary 'hex' spell right?
3D Artist - www.charliepharis.com
I would agree the Hexblade curse is not eligible for this, as it is a magical ability rather than a spell proper. Also, it would go in direct contrast with the curse text itself, as, if I am not wrong, it states that you can only have one creature affected by your curse at any time.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
3D Artist - www.charliepharis.com
Mmmh, I am afraid tat the last part as well would not work, as the metamagic changes the number of targets the spell can "hit", but the curse, IIRC, states that no more than one creature can be under the effect of the curse. That, to me at least, does not get changed by the metamagic, as it would not be part of the "Target" bit of the "spell".
For example, I would not allow to use that metamagic feat with Hex, since that spell has the same limitations, therefore only the last Target hit would suffer it's effects, canceling all previous applications.
I might be looking too much into this... I'll have a look if I can find an errata or FAQ on this, because it sounds strange nobody raised the question before with similar spells (such as Hunter's Mark as well, for example)
UPDATE: Nope, didn't find anything official on this... Can someone from DDB/WotC enlighten us? :P
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
If a spell can affect a creature - whether by choice, chance, or being caught in an area of effect - it's targeting that creature. If a spell can target more than one creature, it's ineligible for Twinned Spell. Hex can be transferred to another creature, so it can't be twinned.
There's an entire episode of Dragon Talk dedicated to this.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
3D Artist - www.charliepharis.com