A quick question: the 30 renown reward for the Crucible Keepers faction states "The first time your Renown Score reaches 30, the Crucible Keepers teaches you magic to guard you from the elements. You always have the Enthrall spell prepared"
Okay, that's weird, because it initially did have Daylight and I asked on the thread if that's what the book had because it didn't seem right.
Confirmed with the design team that Daylight is the intended spell there.
That does make more sense than Enthrall, but as Sablemane said they seem to have fixed it incorrectly; now the Bejeweled Conclave has Daylight and the Crucible Keepers have Enthrall, which is exactly backwards.
The Arcane Archer's "Magical Ammunition" feature has been implemented as an active feature with a drop-down to select one of the three options. This isn't necessarily a problem, but it's a weird way to implement a feature like this that's meant to be applied to a single item. It's not an ongoing active effect that applies to your character (i.e., it's not like Barbarian Rage, which was seemingly the prototype for this type of thing) and the choice doesn't have any impact on the character sheet other than just showing the selected option. This feature is more like Wild Shape or Channel Divinity, where it's an action you can take a limited number of times and you choose which mode/option for it you want to use when you take that action.
Plus, because the feature also includes a drop-down in the character builder, it makes it seem like you're intended to make the choice when you acquire the feature, which isn't the case.
I think it would be better UX-wise if there were no drop-down and the feature just displayed the text of all three options at all times.
Arcana Unleashed does not show up on my Shared Sources section for my upcoming campaign.
It's not showing up on mine as well. Early release it worked fine but now it's not showing at all. I tried to resync entitlements but that didn't do anything
I have a Master Tier Subscription, and share content with my players (I'm a Dungeon Master). Last week they could normally gain access to my content including the Arcana Unleashed Pre release, but now that AU is fully out, they cannot. No options were changed when it comes to allowed content on character sheets, or on anything else on my behalf. They just can't look at anything that they previous had been able to look at
Last week they could normally gain access to my content including the Arcana Unleashed Pre release, but now that AU is fully out, they cannot.
This should be fixed. You may need to sync your entitlements again, or ask your party to do the same. If everyone's currently in sync and that's still not working, please let me know.
Did you purchase the book yourself? If so, is it listed on that same page under Current Product Licenses?
Is the book shared with you instead? If so, is this character assigned to the campaign that's sharing it?
Do you have 5.5e Expanded Rules enabled for your character?
Does your character meet the prerequisites for the feat you want to select? If you go to Features & Traits > Manage Feats > Unavailable Feats, does the feat appear there?
Arcana Unleashed does not show up on my Shared Sources section for my upcoming campaign.
This should be fixed. You may need to sync your entitlements again, or ask your party to do the same. If everyone's currently in sync and that's still not working, please let me know.
I tried everything. The bug is not fixed.
I can see the adventure 'Deadfall' but not the actual book to select any of the feats in the campaign or the Content Management. I synced my entitlements, I logged out and back in, I deleted my cache, I have enabled the 5.5e books...in a nutshell, I tried everything (and checked the book in my library, that I own and is not shared to me) but still the book is no show.
I can see the adventure 'Deadfall' but not the actual book to select any of the feats in the campaign or the Content Management. I synced my entitlements, I logged out and back in, I deleted my cache, I have enabled the 5.5e books...in a nutshell, I tried everything (and checked the book in my library, that I own and is not shared to me) but still the book is no show.
The bug I was referring to related to Content Sharing. If you're saying you can't access a book you purchased, that's a separate issue.
Did you purchase directly on D&D Beyond, or through dndstore.wizards.com (for EU/UK orders)?
Content management has to do with content sharing within a campaign, since you can select which books you want to allow or not. Since I am content sharing, I double checked the content management to see if the Arcana Unleashed exists in the list of allowed books or not. I could see Arcana Unleashed: Deadfall in the list but not Arcana Unleashed.
I have tried it in a new character, without being part of a campaign, allowed 5.5e books and still I cannot see the origin feats that I want to select (Arcane Omens).
Outside of the campaign, I can normally see and read from the Arcana Unleashed in my library.
Just to be thorough:
I have master tier subscription.
I have bought the book directly from the marketplace of dndbeyond.com
I have done all the things that you are suggesting or checked anything listed in your table of options and then some, but still nothing.
Just noticed this with Divination Adept and Enchantment Adept too, so I think it must be the same across the board. A L20 character with a maximised primary spellcasting modifier is only displaying a save DC of 14.
Reminder on the Spell Save DC's not incorporating all stats that it should. The actual stat bonus to the Save DC isn't being included on at least some of the Adept feats
Unfortunately, that is working as the feat is written currently. It lacks language clarifying that the spells granted have any spell casting ability at all. The mod in this thread have confirmed the team that worked on the book will be giving us a clarification/errata in the next coming days.
In my opinion there is no errata neccesary. Let's read the PHB:
Feats are part of your class features. In the Feats chapter it says: Your background gives you a feat, and at certain levels, your class gives you the Ability Score Improvement feat or the choice of another feat for which you qualify.
The Spellcasting Feature and Pact Magic Feature - which are prerequisites for the feats that we talk about here - says regarding Always prepared spells (which the feats give): If another <CLASS> feature gives you spells that you always have prepared, those spells don’t count against the number of spells you can prepare with this feature, but those spells otherwise count as <CLASS> spells for you.
And also your class says what your Spellcasting ability for your <CLASS> spells is.
Finally, chapter 7 Spells says, as general rule: Spell save DC = 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your Proficiency Bonus
Since Specific beats general, and there is no specific ability assigned to these spells the general rule applies <-- which, as explained above, includes your spellcasting ability modifier !
SO: The 'adept' feats not adding Spellcasting Ability Modifier to the Spell Save DC is a bug.
Technically no, it's not a "bug". This is how the physical book is also printed/worded. A "bug" would be if the books were printed to include a spellcasting ability modifier, the Feat here on DnD Beyond said so (it does not either), but then the spells populated into your spell list without one. That would be a bug.
This is poor wording that somehow made it through proofreading that no one caught, and DnD Beyond is simply adding the Feats as printed.
Feats may be a "class feature" but multiple Feats that grant spells, especially the ones that give an Ability Score Increase, are worded to either a) let you pick, or b) use the one increased by the Feat regardless of what your Class's spellcasting modifier actually is. Some even use a specific stat, like CON, and you have no choice of using anything else.
So yes, an errata for clarification is necessary. We shouldn't have to houserule something that should have been caught in QA.
Confirmed with the design team that Daylight is the intended spell there.
Would you be able to ask them why? Because it is prefaced with ""The first time your Renown Score reaches 30, the Crucible Keepers teaches you magic to guard you from the elements." which doesn't describe Daylight at all.
Just noticed this with Divination Adept and Enchantment Adept too, so I think it must be the same across the board. A L20 character with a maximised primary spellcasting modifier is only displaying a save DC of 14.
Reminder on the Spell Save DC's not incorporating all stats that it should. The actual stat bonus to the Save DC isn't being included on at least some of the Adept feats
Unfortunately, that is working as the feat is written currently. It lacks language clarifying that the spells granted have any spell casting ability at all. The mod in this thread have confirmed the team that worked on the book will be giving us a clarification/errata in the next coming days.
In my opinion there is no errata neccesary. Let's read the PHB:
Feats are part of your class features. In the Feats chapter it says: Your background gives you a feat, and at certain levels, your class gives you the Ability Score Improvement feat or the choice of another feat for which you qualify.
The Spellcasting Feature and Pact Magic Feature - which are prerequisites for the feats that we talk about here - says regarding Always prepared spells (which the feats give): If another <CLASS> feature gives you spells that you always have prepared, those spells don’t count against the number of spells you can prepare with this feature, but those spells otherwise count as <CLASS> spells for you.
And also your class says what your Spellcasting ability for your <CLASS> spells is.
Finally, chapter 7 Spells says, as general rule: Spell save DC = 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your Proficiency Bonus
Since Specific beats general, and there is no specific ability assigned to these spells the general rule applies <-- which, as explained above, includes your spellcasting ability modifier !
SO: The 'adept' feats not adding Spellcasting Ability Modifier to the Spell Save DC is a bug.
Technically no, it's not a "bug". This is how the physical book is also printed/worded. A "bug" would be if the books were printed to include a spellcasting ability modifier, the Feat here on DnD Beyond said so (it does not either), but then the spells populated into your spell list without one. That would be a bug.
This is poor wording that somehow made it through proofreading that no one caught, and DnD Beyond is simply adding the Feats as printed.
Feats may be a "class feature" but multiple Feats that grant spells, especially the ones that give an Ability Score Increase, are worded to either a) let you pick, or b) use the one increased by the Feat regardless of what your Class's spellcasting modifier actually is. Some even use a specific stat, like CON, and you have no choice of using anything else.
So yes, an errata for clarification is necessary. We shouldn't have to houserule something that should have been caught in QA.
There is no houseruling involved - it is applying the general rules. That other feats describe a specific ability to use for your spellcasting ability is a specific rule, deviating from the standard rule (not in a bad way - just non-standard).
I object against the thought that an addition like "in this case the general rule should be used" would need to added to anything that does not specify a specific rule. The 'specific beats general" rule exists exactly for this, too; if there is no specific rule, you follow the general rules wihout need to mention that.
There are rules in the PHB that cover this exact case of adding 'always prepared spells' to the characters spell list. These rules are - so far - hardly ever used, but they are there anyways.
The bug is that dndbeyond does not apply these general rules. They made a new house rule by just NOT adding any spellcasting ability modifier, ignoring the rule for how to calculate a spell save DC. THAT should have been the moment they should have asked the design team, before just publishing something silly..
I'm sure that if they'd just added the class' ability score modifier, hardly any forum posts would have appeared about this
Abjuration Adept, Conjuration Adept, Divination Adept, and Enchantment Adept do not show up in the Feats list whenever a character reaches a level to gain a feat.
If you try to add them directly to a character from their sheet; Abjuration and Conjuration do not show up at all but the other two do under Unavailable Feats. With the following conditions as to why it falls there: Missing: 20th Level, Monk - Warrior of the Mystic Arts - Level 03: Spellcasting and [ARCHIVE] Mark of Detection. Yet the character is a fourth level full caster.
Conjuration Adept has vanished from dndbeyond characters for me. I have a blade singer wizard and cant see Conjuration Adept as a level 4 feat. I've switched off the pre-requisites and still nothing
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
That does make more sense than Enthrall, but as Sablemane said they seem to have fixed it incorrectly; now the Bejeweled Conclave has Daylight and the Crucible Keepers have Enthrall, which is exactly backwards.
pronouns: he/she/they
The Arcane Archer's "Magical Ammunition" feature has been implemented as an active feature with a drop-down to select one of the three options. This isn't necessarily a problem, but it's a weird way to implement a feature like this that's meant to be applied to a single item. It's not an ongoing active effect that applies to your character (i.e., it's not like Barbarian Rage, which was seemingly the prototype for this type of thing) and the choice doesn't have any impact on the character sheet other than just showing the selected option. This feature is more like Wild Shape or Channel Divinity, where it's an action you can take a limited number of times and you choose which mode/option for it you want to use when you take that action.
Plus, because the feature also includes a drop-down in the character builder, it makes it seem like you're intended to make the choice when you acquire the feature, which isn't the case.
I think it would be better UX-wise if there were no drop-down and the feature just displayed the text of all three options at all times.
pronouns: he/she/they
-
View User Profile
-
View Posts
-
Send Message
ModeratorFixed!
Need help with D&D Beyond? Come ask in the official D&D server on Discord: https://discord.gg/dnd
It's not showing up on mine as well. Early release it worked fine but now it's not showing at all. I tried to resync entitlements but that didn't do anything
Arcana Unleashed is also not showing up on the content sharing of my campaigns as well. I have also made sure that my entitlements were synced.
I can't select any of the feats in Arcana Unleashed. It's not showing up in the selection.
I have a Master Tier Subscription, and share content with my players (I'm a Dungeon Master). Last week they could normally gain access to my content including the Arcana Unleashed Pre release, but now that AU is fully out, they cannot. No options were changed when it comes to allowed content on character sheets, or on anything else on my behalf. They just can't look at anything that they previous had been able to look at
-
View User Profile
-
View Posts
-
Send Message
ModeratorThis should be fixed. You may need to sync your entitlements again, or ask your party to do the same. If everyone's currently in sync and that's still not working, please let me know.
It actually does. There's a text field for it when editing the HP. It works just like the character's own HP.
Are your Account Entitlements in sync?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/account/licenses
Did you purchase the book yourself? If so, is it listed on that same page under Current Product Licenses?
Is the book shared with you instead? If so, is this character assigned to the campaign that's sharing it?
Do you have 5.5e Expanded Rules enabled for your character?
Does your character meet the prerequisites for the feat you want to select? If you go to Features & Traits > Manage Feats > Unavailable Feats, does the feat appear there?
Need help with D&D Beyond? Come ask in the official D&D server on Discord: https://discord.gg/dnd
I tried everything. The bug is not fixed.
I can see the adventure 'Deadfall' but not the actual book to select any of the feats in the campaign or the Content Management. I synced my entitlements, I logged out and back in, I deleted my cache, I have enabled the 5.5e books...in a nutshell, I tried everything (and checked the book in my library, that I own and is not shared to me) but still the book is no show.
Got an email that the physical copy is on back order? Is that normal? Or something going on?
Check out my publication on DMs Guild: https://www.dmsguild.com/browse.php?author=Tawmis%20Logue
Check out my comedy web series - Neverending Nights: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Wr4-u9-zw0&list=PLbRG7dzFI-u3EJd0usasgDrrFO3mZ1lOZ
Need a character story/background written up? I do it for free (but also take donations!) - https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?719774-A-Return-to-quot-Need-a-character-background-story-written-up-quot-Round-II
Might have to do with the delay they announced last week
-
View User Profile
-
View Posts
-
Send Message
ModeratorThe bug I was referring to related to Content Sharing. If you're saying you can't access a book you purchased, that's a separate issue.
Did you purchase directly on D&D Beyond, or through dndstore.wizards.com (for EU/UK orders)?
If you check this page, is that book listed under Current Product Licenses?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/account/licenses
Yeah, surely related to this:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/posts/2244-arcana-unleashed-ultimate-bundle-delayed-delivery
Need help with D&D Beyond? Come ask in the official D&D server on Discord: https://discord.gg/dnd
Content management has to do with content sharing within a campaign, since you can select which books you want to allow or not. Since I am content sharing, I double checked the content management to see if the Arcana Unleashed exists in the list of allowed books or not. I could see Arcana Unleashed: Deadfall in the list but not Arcana Unleashed.
I have tried it in a new character, without being part of a campaign, allowed 5.5e books and still I cannot see the origin feats that I want to select (Arcane Omens).
Outside of the campaign, I can normally see and read from the Arcana Unleashed in my library.
Just to be thorough:
I have master tier subscription.
I have bought the book directly from the marketplace of dndbeyond.com
I have done all the things that you are suggesting or checked anything listed in your table of options and then some, but still nothing.
Technically no, it's not a "bug". This is how the physical book is also printed/worded. A "bug" would be if the books were printed to include a spellcasting ability modifier, the Feat here on DnD Beyond said so (it does not either), but then the spells populated into your spell list without one. That would be a bug.
This is poor wording that somehow made it through proofreading that no one caught, and DnD Beyond is simply adding the Feats as printed.
Feats may be a "class feature" but multiple Feats that grant spells, especially the ones that give an Ability Score Increase, are worded to either a) let you pick, or b) use the one increased by the Feat regardless of what your Class's spellcasting modifier actually is. Some even use a specific stat, like CON, and you have no choice of using anything else.
So yes, an errata for clarification is necessary. We shouldn't have to houserule something that should have been caught in QA.
Would you be able to ask them why? Because it is prefaced with ""The first time your Renown Score reaches 30, the Crucible Keepers teaches you magic to guard you from the elements." which doesn't describe Daylight at all.
There is no houseruling involved - it is applying the general rules. That other feats describe a specific ability to use for your spellcasting ability is a specific rule, deviating from the standard rule (not in a bad way - just non-standard).
I object against the thought that an addition like "in this case the general rule should be used" would need to added to anything that does not specify a specific rule. The 'specific beats general" rule exists exactly for this, too; if there is no specific rule, you follow the general rules wihout need to mention that.
There are rules in the PHB that cover this exact case of adding 'always prepared spells' to the characters spell list. These rules are - so far - hardly ever used, but they are there anyways.
The bug is that dndbeyond does not apply these general rules. They made a new house rule by just NOT adding any spellcasting ability modifier, ignoring the rule for how to calculate a spell save DC. THAT should have been the moment they should have asked the design team, before just publishing something silly..
I'm sure that if they'd just added the class' ability score modifier, hardly any forum posts would have appeared about this
I notice that with certain adept feats. For me the Conjuration Adept feat appears to be the only feat from that line missing.
It would be extremely helpful if there was a spot for you to expend hit dice for the feuled evocation feature of the evocation adept feat
Abjuration Adept, Conjuration Adept, Divination Adept, and Enchantment Adept do not show up in the Feats list whenever a character reaches a level to gain a feat.
If you try to add them directly to a character from their sheet; Abjuration and Conjuration do not show up at all but the other two do under Unavailable Feats. With the following conditions as to why it falls there: Missing: 20th Level, Monk - Warrior of the Mystic Arts - Level 03: Spellcasting and [ARCHIVE] Mark of Detection. Yet the character is a fourth level full caster.
Conjuration Adept has vanished from dndbeyond characters for me. I have a blade singer wizard and cant see Conjuration Adept as a level 4 feat. I've switched off the pre-requisites and still nothing