The psychic blades can only be manifested by taking the attack action and vanish after the attack is made. This means at the end of your turn you will be empty handed.
Why would you have to be empty-handed afterwards? Only one of your hands needs to be empty in order to be able to manifest a psychic blade. You could create a psychic blade in your empty hand on this turn to make an attack on it, after which it disappears and that hand is once again empty, while still holding a physical weapon in the other hand.
The psychic blades can only be manifested by taking the attack action and vanish after the attack is made. This means at the end of your turn you will be empty handed.
Why would you have to be empty-handed afterwards? Only one of your hands needs to be empty in order to be able to manifest a psychic blade. You could create a psychic blade in your empty hand on this turn to make an attack on it, after which it disappears and that hand is once again empty, while still holding a physical weapon in the other hand.
You kinda missed my point. The point was you cannot use the Psychic Blade for AoO since manifesting it requires an Attack action and using it for that attack which then causes it to disappear. The feature does not allow you to manifest it and keep it in hand. So you will not have it in hand for an AoO.
The question is only about can you use a psychic blade for AoO and I'm explaining the answer by raw is No.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Is the Aberrant's and Clockwork's bonus spell lists problem going to be fixed, or is it just going to stay as a constant "we dont know what to do with it" thing?
Is the Aberrant's and Clockwork's bonus spell lists problem going to be fixed, or is it just going to stay as a constant "we dont know what to do with it" thing?
They will work on it when they can.
It might be a while. Which, given it's a small issue and you can very easily workaround it, is fine.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
It maybe on the to do list. I just wanted to point out that the Cleric, Druid and Wizard expanded spell list has not been included in the ritual caster feats or the Divine Soul Sorcerer spell list.
Hi, I am looking for some clarification on the new Rouge "Soulkinfe" subclass (I hope this is the right place to post this, if not I'm sorry). The particular interaction that is in question is the 3rd level "Psychic Blades" when defining an "Attack action" and how these interact with "Sneak Attack" and "Opportunity Attack."
From Ch. 9 of the Basic Rules, attacks are defined as "... swinging a sword, firing and arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists." Psychic Blades allows the Rouge to manifest blade(s) with "finesse" and "thrown" properties during an attack action until this action is resulted in either a hit or miss and then blade(s) vanishes.
Assuming that the Rouge is "unarmed," as these blades are only manifested during the attack action, I believe they should still be able to perform "Sneak Attack" and "Opportunity Attack" with a blade as they will manifest to perform the attack action and still fit the requirements for both of these actions.
Please let me know if there is something that I am misreading or if there is a different ruling that I am not aware of, thank you!
Attacks of Opportunity are a no. The Psychic Blades feature only works with the specific Attack action, not any attack. Sneak attack works with Psychic Blades for sure though.
If you are stating is that these blades can only be manifested when using an action (to make an attack in this case), then you would not be able to make a second attack using the bonus action and as the full rulings for an "Attack" is the following:
"The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action."
Attacking is not tied to an Action, it is the action. The term "Attack action" is misleading. From Ch. 9 of the Basic Rules, "Making an Attack" ruling states that "If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack."
Sneak attack is triggered using a finesse weapon. The psychic blades are a finesse weapon, so you can sneak attack with them.
An opportunity attack requires you to have a melee weapon available and you can use your reaction to make an attack of opportunity.
The psychic blades can only be manifested by taking the attack action and vanish after the attack is made. This means at the end of your turn you will be empty handed. You cannot manifest the blades as part of any attack outside the Attack action on your turn, so you cannot use them for an attack of opportunity.
Which is dumb.
I agree.
As a DM I'd be happy to let them use psychic blade as an attack of opportunity. But, that would be a houserule and not the RAW.
Opportunity Attack rules are the following: "You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach."
Opportunity Attack does not state that you need a weapon equipped to perform this. The only two restrictions to Opportunity Attack is that the hostile needs to attempt to leave my reach and that the attack must be a melee attack. Opportunity Attack can be performed using Unarmed Strike, as for the game's purpose, it is still a melee weapon.
If that does not provide enough evidence, Unarmed Strike rules is the following: "Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength modifier. You are proficient with your unarmed strikes."
Furthermore, I find the term "Attack Action" is misleading as you would have to perform an attack roll prior to performing an attack action being completed. This is shown by looking at the ruling of "Attack Rolls." (See Below)
"When you make an attack, your attack roll determines whether the attack hits or misses. To make an attack roll, roll a d20 and add the appropriate modifiers. If the total of the roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target's Armor Class (AC), the attack hits. The AC of a character is determined at character creation, whereas the AC of a monster is in its stat block."
Unless there is some unknown ruling or over ruling that I do not know of, I do not see why an Opportunity Attack cannot be performed using Psychic Blades from the Rouge Soulknife subclass.
The Divine Soul was never fixed, and will never be fixed. Since there is not even an update about working on these problems, it means that they are waiting for us to forget about them.
You're missing the point so much. I don't know why you're bringing up AoO rules and such. Nobody is disputing these.
The question was can you use the PSYCHIC BLADES for AoO. Not unarmed strikes, not physical weapons, etc. It was specifically about the Psychic Blades.
The Psychic Blades feature specifically requires you to use the Attack Action on your turn to use them. You cannot manifest them for attacking in any way if you do not take the Attack Action on your turn. This is why it states "Whenever you take the Attack action, ".
If you take a attack action on your turn you can use the Psychic Blades feature to manifest a psychic blade and attack using that instead of whatever else you could have used. Regardless if you hit or miss, the blade vanishes. You also have the option where if you used the feature for your Attack action you can use it as a bonus action again using your other hand which must also be empty. Again, you only make the blade in these specific circumstances. You cannot make the blades whenever you attack, or for AoO when you specifically take the Attack action and optionally if you do also a bonus action. Any manifesting of the blades for attacks forces you to use them, so they vanish afterward. Even if you multiclass and get Extra Attack, you must still take Attack Action, you still only get to make ONE blade and you must use it for the attack.
So, since the feature specifically restricts you to the two instances where you can use them - nothing lets you use them for an AoO. You cannot make a blade "whenever you make an attack" - no, you can ONLY make them if you take the Attack Action, specifically, and only for that attack and a subsequent bonus action.
Please read the Psychic Blades feature, as you seem to be ignoring a lot of what it says.
You are, of course, free to use anything else for AoO - and nobody is saying otherwise, because it's entirely irrelevant to the question being answered.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Hi, I am looking for some clarification on the new Rouge "Soulkinfe" subclass (I hope this is the right place to post this, if not I'm sorry). The particular interaction that is in question is the 3rd level "Psychic Blades" when defining an "Attack action" and how these interact with "Sneak Attack" and "Opportunity Attack."
From Ch. 9 of the Basic Rules, attacks are defined as "... swinging a sword, firing and arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists." Psychic Blades allows the Rouge to manifest blade(s) with "finesse" and "thrown" properties during an attack action until this action is resulted in either a hit or miss and then blade(s) vanishes.
Assuming that the Rouge is "unarmed," as these blades are only manifested during the attack action, I believe they should still be able to perform "Sneak Attack" and "Opportunity Attack" with a blade as they will manifest to perform the attack action and still fit the requirements for both of these actions.
Please let me know if there is something that I am misreading or if there is a different ruling that I am not aware of, thank you!
Attacks of Opportunity are a no. The Psychic Blades feature only works with the specific Attack action, not any attack. Sneak attack works with Psychic Blades for sure though.
If you are stating is that these blades can only be manifested when using an action (to make an attack in this case), then you would not be able to make a second attack using the bonus action and as the full rulings for an "Attack" is the following:
"The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action."
Attacking is not tied to an Action, it is the action. The term "Attack action" is misleading. From Ch. 9 of the Basic Rules, "Making an Attack" ruling states that "If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack."
This thread isn't the place to get into this discussion, so I'll just suggest re-reading the Psychic Blades feature text, and then re-reading my original response to you (as well as the other responses that have been offered). If you're still confused, make a new thread in the Rules and Game Mechanics forum :)
I'll make a new post in the thread that you suggested. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction. As I am relatively new to posting on any thread, how would I navigate to the "Rules and Game Mechanics" thread?
I also only posted these messages in attempt to discuss the subclass. Any posting of the rules was to make it easier to communicate with others and give them ease of access. I apologize if I appeared to be rude. I was just trying to find a rule stating that I am incorrect as I thought this was an interesting concept that the community has glanced over without much discussion. (or at least what I could find)
EDIT: never mind I finally found it, thanks again tho
Hey I'm trying to customize a previous ranger that I have for a game, and I'm trying to get them the new ranger features. Having assumed only needed a subclass for the features to get them like how something like the Eldritch Invocations worked for Xanathar's, but I do not own them and am unaware of how to get/access them.
Hey I'm trying to customize a previous ranger that I have for a game, and I'm trying to get them the new ranger features. Having assumed only needed a subclass for the features to get them like how something like the Eldritch Invocations worked for Xanathar's, but I do not own them and am unaware of how to get/access them.
purchase the whole book
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Formerly Devan Avalon.
Trying to get your physical content on Beyond is like going to Microsoft and saying "I have a physical Playstation disk, give me a digital Xbox version!"
Question regarding the artificer class: is there a way to add the "arcane firearm " trait to an item so that, if equipped, it automatically adds the extra 1d8 to a spell damage roll?
Hi, I can't seem to access any of the optional class features? I've bought the subclasses from Tasha's and made sure to turn on the optional class features toggle but nothing is coming up?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Thank you. Wasn't sure how to do a workaround for this lol
Why would you have to be empty-handed afterwards? Only one of your hands needs to be empty in order to be able to manifest a psychic blade. You could create a psychic blade in your empty hand on this turn to make an attack on it, after which it disappears and that hand is once again empty, while still holding a physical weapon in the other hand.
You kinda missed my point. The point was you cannot use the Psychic Blade for AoO since manifesting it requires an Attack action and using it for that attack which then causes it to disappear. The feature does not allow you to manifest it and keep it in hand. So you will not have it in hand for an AoO.
The question is only about can you use a psychic blade for AoO and I'm explaining the answer by raw is No.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Is the Aberrant's and Clockwork's bonus spell lists problem going to be fixed, or is it just going to stay as a constant "we dont know what to do with it" thing?
They will work on it when they can.
It might be a while. Which, given it's a small issue and you can very easily workaround it, is fine.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
It maybe on the to do list. I just wanted to point out that the Cleric, Druid and Wizard expanded spell list has not been included in the ritual caster feats or the Divine Soul Sorcerer spell list.
If you are stating is that these blades can only be manifested when using an action (to make an attack in this case), then you would not be able to make a second attack using the bonus action and as the full rulings for an "Attack" is the following:
"The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action."
Attacking is not tied to an Action, it is the action. The term "Attack action" is misleading. From Ch. 9 of the Basic Rules, "Making an Attack" ruling states that "If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack."
Opportunity Attack rules are the following: "You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach."
Opportunity Attack does not state that you need a weapon equipped to perform this. The only two restrictions to Opportunity Attack is that the hostile needs to attempt to leave my reach and that the attack must be a melee attack. Opportunity Attack can be performed using Unarmed Strike, as for the game's purpose, it is still a melee weapon.
If that does not provide enough evidence, Unarmed Strike rules is the following: "Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength modifier. You are proficient with your unarmed strikes."
Furthermore, I find the term "Attack Action" is misleading as you would have to perform an attack roll prior to performing an attack action being completed. This is shown by looking at the ruling of "Attack Rolls." (See Below)
"When you make an attack, your attack roll determines whether the attack hits or misses. To make an attack roll, roll a d20 and add the appropriate modifiers. If the total of the roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target's Armor Class (AC), the attack hits. The AC of a character is determined at character creation, whereas the AC of a monster is in its stat block."
Unless there is some unknown ruling or over ruling that I do not know of, I do not see why an Opportunity Attack cannot be performed using Psychic Blades from the Rouge Soulknife subclass.
The Divine Soul was never fixed, and will never be fixed. Since there is not even an update about working on these problems, it means that they are waiting for us to forget about them.
FlaccidNamerTag
You're missing the point so much. I don't know why you're bringing up AoO rules and such. Nobody is disputing these.
The question was can you use the PSYCHIC BLADES for AoO. Not unarmed strikes, not physical weapons, etc. It was specifically about the Psychic Blades.
The Psychic Blades feature specifically requires you to use the Attack Action on your turn to use them. You cannot manifest them for attacking in any way if you do not take the Attack Action on your turn. This is why it states "Whenever you take the Attack action, ".
If you take a attack action on your turn you can use the Psychic Blades feature to manifest a psychic blade and attack using that instead of whatever else you could have used. Regardless if you hit or miss, the blade vanishes. You also have the option where if you used the feature for your Attack action you can use it as a bonus action again using your other hand which must also be empty. Again, you only make the blade in these specific circumstances. You cannot make the blades whenever you attack, or for AoO when you specifically take the Attack action and optionally if you do also a bonus action. Any manifesting of the blades for attacks forces you to use them, so they vanish afterward. Even if you multiclass and get Extra Attack, you must still take Attack Action, you still only get to make ONE blade and you must use it for the attack.
So, since the feature specifically restricts you to the two instances where you can use them - nothing lets you use them for an AoO. You cannot make a blade "whenever you make an attack" - no, you can ONLY make them if you take the Attack Action, specifically, and only for that attack and a subsequent bonus action.
Please read the Psychic Blades feature, as you seem to be ignoring a lot of what it says.
You are, of course, free to use anything else for AoO - and nobody is saying otherwise, because it's entirely irrelevant to the question being answered.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
This thread isn't the place to get into this discussion, so I'll just suggest re-reading the Psychic Blades feature text, and then re-reading my original response to you (as well as the other responses that have been offered). If you're still confused, make a new thread in the Rules and Game Mechanics forum :)
I'll make a new post in the thread that you suggested. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction. As I am relatively new to posting on any thread, how would I navigate to the "Rules and Game Mechanics" thread?
I also only posted these messages in attempt to discuss the subclass. Any posting of the rules was to make it easier to communicate with others and give them ease of access. I apologize if I appeared to be rude. I was just trying to find a rule stating that I am incorrect as I thought this was an interesting concept that the community has glanced over without much discussion. (or at least what I could find)
EDIT: never mind I finally found it, thanks again tho
Hey I'm trying to customize a previous ranger that I have for a game, and I'm trying to get them the new ranger features. Having assumed only needed a subclass for the features to get them like how something like the Eldritch Invocations worked for Xanathar's, but I do not own them and am unaware of how to get/access them.
To get the optional class features you have to buy the whole book, unfortunately.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
purchase the whole book
Formerly Devan Avalon.
Trying to get your physical content on Beyond is like going to Microsoft and saying "I have a physical Playstation disk, give me a digital Xbox version!"
If i buy the book from a store will i have to re-buy it on dnd beyond or will i get some sort of code that lets me have it
Yes, you will have to re-buy the book on DnD Beyond
Question regarding the artificer class: is there a way to add the "arcane firearm " trait to an item so that, if equipped, it automatically adds the extra 1d8 to a spell damage roll?
not entirely sure if it applies to Tasha's cauldron but the gunslinger is missing several of the guns in its tables, labeled as [Tooltip Not Found]
Hi, I can't seem to access any of the optional class features? I've bought the subclasses from Tasha's and made sure to turn on the optional class features toggle but nothing is coming up?