No. Once you use the spell the weapon becomes a Wisdom biased attack roll. I'm sure some Dms would allow for it but the way the spell is worded it you must use wisdom for it.
I actually think you can still use Strength (or Dex if you are Monk Hybrid) for the attack roll and damage. it specifically states "CAN use your Spell casting ability..." Whether the damage becomes d8 while not using your casting ability seems more under interpretation to me. .... at least that's my opinion
The wood of a club or Quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. For the Duration, you canuse your Spellcasting Ability instead of Strength for the Attack and Damage Rolls of Melee Attacks using that weapon, and the weapon's damage die becomes a d8. The weapon also becomes magical, if it isn't already. The spell ends if you cast it again or if you let go of the weapon.
It would still become a D8 weapon. That is a seperate function of the spell from using the spell casting ability. And it's an either or with the normal ability used because it says Can, not that you simply do.
Could a character use shillelagh with strength keeping the magical properties of the spell for the weapon? That is weapon damage and magic weapon
No. Once you use the spell the weapon becomes a Wisdom biased attack roll. I'm sure some Dms would allow for it but the way the spell is worded it you must use wisdom for it.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
I actually think you can still use Strength (or Dex if you are Monk Hybrid) for the attack roll and damage. it specifically states "CAN use your Spell casting ability..." Whether the damage becomes d8 while not using your casting ability seems more under interpretation to me. .... at least that's my opinion
The wood of a club or Quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. For the Duration, you can use your Spellcasting Ability instead of Strength for the Attack and Damage Rolls of Melee Attacks using that weapon, and the weapon's damage die becomes a d8. The weapon also becomes magical, if it isn't already. The spell ends if you cast it again or if you let go of the weapon.
It would still become a D8 weapon. That is a seperate function of the spell from using the spell casting ability. And it's an either or with the normal ability used because it says Can, not that you simply do.
Touche
Thank u guys!