This site works best with JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript to get the best experience from this site.
My Characters
My Campaigns
My Encounters
My Homebrew Collection
My Homebrew Creations
My Dice
Homebrew
Classes
Backgrounds
Species
Feats
Spells
Equipment
Magic Items
Monsters
Character Builder
Sigil 3D VTT
Maps VTT
Encounters
Mobile App
Avrae Discord Bot
Community Update
Twitch
Youtube
Changelog
It's a simple question, but I never quite understood the meaning of "On Initiative count 20". What does it mean? The creature can only use its lair action if it rolls a 20 for initiative?
No, it means that when the turn order is at initiative count 20, the lair action takes place.
Think of the lair as a creature, and it has roll an initiative of 20.
Quote from Sanvael >> No, it means that when the turn order is at initiative count 20, the lair action takes place. Think of the lair as a creature, and it has roll an initiative of 20.
I was trying to wrap my head around exactly what they meant and that last statement nailed it down. Lol, sometimes I overthink.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
It's always cool to see natural language clarify a rule ostensibly written in natural lanague.
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.
It's a simple question, but I never quite understood the meaning of "On Initiative count 20". What does it mean? The creature can only use its lair action if it rolls a 20 for initiative?
No, it means that when the turn order is at initiative count 20, the lair action takes place.
Think of the lair as a creature, and it has roll an initiative of 20.
I was trying to wrap my head around exactly what they meant and that last statement nailed it down. Lol, sometimes I overthink.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
It's always cool to see natural language clarify a rule ostensibly written in natural lanague.
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.