I'm having trouble finding definitive answers on this. Can a single-class wizard copy spells he finds in a defeated warlock's Tome of Shadows into his own spellbook? Could he only transcribe wizard spells from it? All of them - including ones that are not on a wizard's normal spell list?
This Book of Shadows (you determine its appearance) contains eldritch magic that only you can access, granting you the benefits below. The book disappears if you conjure another book with this feature or if you die.
So, as of 2024 rule set, no, you cannot copy spells from the Warlock book.
The Wizard class's ability to copy spells into their spellbook from other sources doesn't provide any particular description of or restrictions on what exactly those other sources can be. I don't think there's any reason to assume that a Tome of Shadows carried by a Warlock wouldn't be eligible for this. It's a book that's got spells written down in it, so if I were DMing I would say it would count.
However, it is explicitly stated in the Spellcasting class feature in the Wizard class description (in both the 2014 and 2024 versions) that only Wizard spells of level 1 or higher can be copied into a Wizard's spellbook in this way. This means that cantrips in general are not eligible, nor is any spell that is not on the Wizard spell list. (That is a definitive rule, not an interpretation on my part.)
The base Pact of the Tome feature from the 2014 Warlock class only includes cantrips, so it wouldn't be eligible. The 2024 version (or the 2014 version if also incorporating the "Book of Ancient Secrets" invocation) can include higher level spells that would be eligible if they were on the Wizard spell list.
It's also worth pointing out that Pact of the Tome is a class feature for player characters. If the "defeated warlock" you're talking about is an NPC, its stats and capabilities do not need to follow the rules and structure for player character abilities.
Edit: Voras makes a good point about the 2024 version specifically saying only the Warlock can access the magic in the book. That said, again, if the warlock in question isn't a player character, the book doesn't need to follow these rules.
The Book of Shadows contains eldritch magic that only you can access if you have the Invocation: Pact of the Tome. No other caster Wizard or even Warlock otherwise can until
"you have unearthed Eldritch Invocations, pieces of forbidden knowledge that imbue you with an abiding magical ability or other lessons."
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm having trouble finding definitive answers on this. Can a single-class wizard copy spells he finds in a defeated warlock's Tome of Shadows into his own spellbook? Could he only transcribe wizard spells from it? All of them - including ones that are not on a wizard's normal spell list?
So, as of 2024 rule set, no, you cannot copy spells from the Warlock book.
The Wizard class's ability to copy spells into their spellbook from other sources doesn't provide any particular description of or restrictions on what exactly those other sources can be. I don't think there's any reason to assume that a Tome of Shadows carried by a Warlock wouldn't be eligible for this. It's a book that's got spells written down in it, so if I were DMing I would say it would count.
However, it is explicitly stated in the Spellcasting class feature in the Wizard class description (in both the 2014 and 2024 versions) that only Wizard spells of level 1 or higher can be copied into a Wizard's spellbook in this way. This means that cantrips in general are not eligible, nor is any spell that is not on the Wizard spell list. (That is a definitive rule, not an interpretation on my part.)
The base Pact of the Tome feature from the 2014 Warlock class only includes cantrips, so it wouldn't be eligible. The 2024 version (or the 2014 version if also incorporating the "Book of Ancient Secrets" invocation) can include higher level spells that would be eligible if they were on the Wizard spell list.
It's also worth pointing out that Pact of the Tome is a class feature for player characters. If the "defeated warlock" you're talking about is an NPC, its stats and capabilities do not need to follow the rules and structure for player character abilities.
Edit: Voras makes a good point about the 2024 version specifically saying only the Warlock can access the magic in the book. That said, again, if the warlock in question isn't a player character, the book doesn't need to follow these rules.
pronouns: he/she/they
The Book of Shadows contains eldritch magic that only you can access if you have the Invocation: Pact of the Tome. No other caster Wizard or even Warlock otherwise can until
"you have unearthed Eldritch Invocations, pieces of forbidden knowledge that imbue you with an abiding magical ability or other lessons."