Volley says an attack against each creature, I'm 90% sure it doesn't work like this but could you just sacrifice an attack against one of the creatures to reload?
RAW I suppose you could. Personally I find the "attack or action" concept pretty sloppy for not specifying it has to be one of the attacks you make as part of the Attack action.
Note: I am using the Gunslinger Martial Archetype by Matt Mercer. If I was a Ranger 11/Gunslinger 9, could you use a Pepperbox with Volley?
There's no reason you can't, though you still have to abide by the reload and misfire rules, so your volley might be cut short early.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Volley says an attack against each creature, I'm 90% sure it doesn't work like this but could you just sacrifice an attack against one of the creatures to reload?
RAW I suppose you could. Personally I find the "attack or action" concept pretty sloppy for not specifying it has to be one of the attacks you make as part of the Attack action.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
My thoughts as well. I guess it leaves it up to interpretation.