I don't think it does. I'm fairly sure "attacks" in 5e are whatever that needs a "to hit" roll. So Toll the Dead is not an attack but Chill Touch is. By that logic grapple should not be an attack.
Just had a look through some forums and no it doesn't , it's part of the 'Attack' action but is not classified as an attack (so once we have extra attack you can grapple then attack). also just realised Folki had advantage on strength saves, but dont need it :)
A rogue with two attacks is very powerful as even PC rogues don't get extra or multi attack without multiclassing. oh well on to the next round and death saves
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Kres - Aarakocra Monk - Level 1 - Lost Mines of Phandelver
I’m curious what forums you’re seeing because every RAW forum I read rules it as an attack for rage purposes, including Matt Mercer’s rulings in Critical Role with Grog the barbarian.
@Storm. That's right. You left a rogue with two scimitars with Advantage. You effectively gave him a damage potential of 3d6 +2 with a bonus to hit of +9 (if you consider advantage as a +5)
Screw it! Grappling looks like a pretty shit move to make when it comes to pure combat (an awesome move for RP and trying to negotiate though) so I'm ruling that Folki gets rage and that's that.
And DM grappling is an awesome move! A single character can tie down a boss NPC while the rest of the party slaughter his lackies, leaving him as the only one
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
You can't get advantage by moving directly north. You need to be exactly opposite to get advantage.
Does the grapple count as an attack to keep the rage going? just incase they don't surrender
I don't think it does. I'm fairly sure "attacks" in 5e are whatever that needs a "to hit" roll. So Toll the Dead is not an attack but Chill Touch is. By that logic grapple should not be an attack.
Attacks don’t always have a “to hit” roll. Many require a saving throw from the defender, for example, Burning Hands.
Check out my Extended Signature here
PHB 195 calls a grapple a “special melee attack” so it should continue the rage.
Check out my Extended Signature here
Ah cool. Rage continues then.
Just had a look through some forums and no it doesn't , it's part of the 'Attack' action but is not classified as an attack (so once we have extra attack you can grapple then attack). also just realised Folki had advantage on strength saves, but dont need it :)
Did Gym just die.......?
So... No rage. (I'm still new to DMing)
Also I think I know the mistake you were talking about, proabably shouldnt have all rushed the one person leaving two members out in the open
On the rage, it's totally up to you. I think it RP wise it feels like an 'attack' (eg charging through a door) it should carry it on
A rogue with two attacks is very powerful as even PC rogues don't get extra or multi attack without multiclassing. oh well on to the next round and death saves
Kres - Aarakocra Monk - Level 1 - Lost Mines of Phandelver
Not quite. But that can also be considered one I guess. And Gym didn't die.
I’m curious what forums you’re seeing because every RAW forum I read rules it as an attack for rage purposes, including Matt Mercer’s rulings in Critical Role with Grog the barbarian.
Check out my Extended Signature here
@Storm. That's right. You left a rogue with two scimitars with Advantage. You effectively gave him a damage potential of 3d6 +2 with a bonus to hit of +9 (if you consider advantage as a +5)
Screw it! Grappling looks like a pretty shit move to make when it comes to pure combat (an awesome move for RP and trying to negotiate though) so I'm ruling that Folki gets rage and that's that.
so i'm guess that rogue is around 5th level. as I want to play a rogue that has two attacks without any downside at 2nd level XD
Kres - Aarakocra Monk - Level 1 - Lost Mines of Phandelver
Storm, I don't think the rogue has two attacks. He's duel duel wielding with his bonus action, I'm doing it in another campaign
And DM grappling is an awesome move! A single character can tie down a boss NPC while the rest of the party slaughter his lackies, leaving him as the only one