Taraven will point her finger at the stone ghost that just hit her and yell, “Take this!” She uses her reaction to cast Hellish Rebuke
SG3 must make a Dexterity save of 13
Fail Fire Damage 21 And if it makes the save damage is cut in half
OOC: is my reaction also my attack of opportunity since I used hellish rebuke?
Spells can only be used as Attack of Opportunity with the Warcaster feat, and then only touch spells. You could either simply cast the spell on the visible enemy on your actual turn, or ready to cast the spell (which would use the next turn reaction) to cast the spell on a different Stoneghost when it emerges.
I will keep your damage roll if you like and roll the SG4’s Dex Save as it was a valid target.
In his turn, Nanoc will yell for Okkar to retreat behind him and attempt to switch places with the dwarf. Scarred almost out of his wits, he will use his Bonus Action to rage and strike at the strange stoney monster with his magical scimitar, even if the previous move doesn't happen. As there are companions of his within reach of the creature, I am going to presume he gets Sneak Attack damage if he manages to hit; ignore that damage if that is not the case.
Yes, that is a hit and in these quarters other allies do threaten the enemy so sneak attack does apply. The damage is magical so SG4 takes the full 8 damage.
Taraven will point her finger at the stone ghost that just hit her and yell, “Take this!” She uses her reaction to cast Hellish Rebuke
SG3 must make a Dexterity save of 13
Fail Fire Damage 21 And if it makes the save damage is cut in half
OOC: is my reaction also my attack of opportunity since I used hellish rebuke?
Spells can only be used as Attack of Opportunity with the Warcaster feat, and then only touch spells. You could either simply cast the spell on the visible enemy on your actual turn, or ready to cast the spell (which would use the next turn reaction) to cast the spell on a different Stoneghost when it emerges.
I will keep your damage roll if you like and roll the SG4’s Dex Save as it was a valid target.
Hellish Rebuke is a racial trait as part of my infernal legacy not a warcaster feat. Not sure if that makes a difference. And it says it is a reaction from taking damage. So I wouldn’t be able to do that because I haven’t had an actual turn? Sorry learning how this works.
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
OOC: Sorry for the delay earlier and now I have to go for the night, please finish up any saving throws, opportunity attacks and your own actions and I will do the next round of stone ghost actions tomorrow (my time). Also, Taraven, confirm you’re desired target for the fire spell. They all have the same stats so whoever you target their save is:
6
A failure, so it will take the full fire damage (prior to application of resistance.)
OOC: Sorry for the delay earlier and now I have to go for the night, please finish up any saving throws, opportunity attacks and your own actions and I will do the next round of stone ghost actions tomorrow (my time). Also, Taraven, confirm you’re desired target for the fire spell. They all have the same stats so whoever you target their save is:
8
A failure, so it will take the full fire damage (prior to application of resistance.)
My target was SG3 since that is the one that dealt damage to me.
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
I wasn't planning on that, but happy to roll with it; as my move I will drag it back to correct formation position towards the door..
I believe that I can also make a single attack as well (because I normally make 2), and I think it has already taken damage:
Attack: 18 Damage: 9 (that damage is correct)
NOTE: The ability to attack critically depends on the ability to grapple then stab...which is not clear under the rules. It seems natural to me, but ... Grapple is strength based (which doesn't speak to 'light') vs. grapple is 'weapon-free', so how much lighter can you get?
(( ooc: this is the "Hey Ford, I've just had a really hoopy idea" moment ...
- We are reasonably near the door - SG4 appeared behind Evan, so is likely to be very near the door - Galtheon has 35' movement - Galtheon has it grappled...
))
Galtheon screams, "Out of the way...let me through the door".
He drags the ghost out of the mine.
(( Hopefully as he does so, people get in their attacks...and get out the way
My thinking: Okkar said they can't leave...
- Forcing one out may destroy it (or lift the curse on it) - Best outcome - If it's not destroyed, we can fight it, unaffected by the others (but Galtheon will need help restraining it) - Pretty useful - It may just disappear and reappear next round - Very annoying, but we did damage to it and we learned something - He may not be able to drag it out - OK, because now it's throughly surrounded, with Galtheon, Evan, Ilecerys and probably Nanoc next to it
All but option 3 is good, I think. I hope there is no option 5...
@DM: Galtheon's favoured enemy is undead...is there a roll he could take that might dissuade him from this course? He has Advantage on tracking and INT checks for info about undead ))
Just curious, but how are you doing so much damage? It's impressive but I don't see how you are doing it.
Bottom line: good roll = 5/6 and 7/8 + 3 = the d6 is weapon, then d8 is Colossus Killer - I believe S4 is already damaged - and the +3 is DEX ; if my belief about it already being damaged in incorrect, then I will wait to do my stuff until after you and everyone else except Evan has had a go ;-). It would be more if I'd had a chance to get Hunter's Thingy off. If he hits with both weapons, against a damaged foe, then Galtheon's average per round damage is 24...when set up with Hunter's Thingy. That's part of the reason I was happy to run in to Harpy with two rounds of Advantage. Of course Galtheon's damage will be halved...
Edit: In fact...I think it's the one you rolled a hit against...I am assuming you hit...and we still have to hear from Ilecerys )
@DM: I have added a note to my attack above; it may or may not be legal. Still looking, but it might need a DM ruling!
I have found someone who says "natural weapons are always two size categories lower than the creature using them, and weapons two size categories lower than your size are always light weapons for you." ... here. No reference tho.
And the counter-argument (which seems pretty conclusive) is: "Grappling/shoving isn't a melee weapon attack." from here, and "In two-weapon fighting, you don't get the bonus attack unless the first attack was with a light melee weapon" from here.
So...probably doesn't take 8 pts of damage, but still being dragged.
Ugh...but wait...there's more...the horror continues...boring rules stuff to follow....ignore if you don't care, but I'm pretty sure Galtheon's grapple failed as well!
Option (a) ... it worked and on we go (the undead is dragged out)
Option (b) ... as per one of my links, Grapple is NOT and Attack Roll (it's a melee Attack, but a special attack that is resolved as a contest). So the grapple attempt does not benefit from bless...which means the grapple attempt was only a 15...which means that it was contested successfully (they rolled a 15). There is (perhaps) a small chance that Evan might be persuadable that casting Guidance to -- possibly -- save the soul of this Dwarf is worth delaying his Turn attempt -- but it depends on Evan listening to what Galtheon was saying and thinking it was worth supporting...since guidance will affect grapple...but that is a *very* long bow.
I'm happy enough if he fails, and we try next time...or if Evan doesn't cast Guidance, perhaps he sees and hears what Galtheon is doing and tries to grapple instead -- there is a soul to save, after all!
In any case, we may be back to Galtheon screaming, "I'll grapple the bugger and see if he likes the outside."...and failing the attempt.
(( What he actually screams depends on what he might conclude about the nature of the restrictions on these undead ))
SG1 resists the non magical damage and takes 4 damage.
Spells can only be used as Attack of Opportunity with the Warcaster feat, and then only touch spells. You could either simply cast the spell on the visible enemy on your actual turn, or ready to cast the spell (which would use the next turn reaction) to cast the spell on a different Stoneghost when it emerges.
I will keep your damage roll if you like and roll the SG4’s Dex Save as it was a valid target.
I will mark that as 2 damage to SG2 if that was a non magical weapon.
Amended what Galtheon said:
Galtheon yells out, "I'll try grabbing one of the buggers."
He will put one sword away, and ready the Grapple...roll: 11
Absolutely, just be wary if anyone leaves SG4’s threatened area it will take an opportunity attack. Moving within it’s threatened area does not.
A grapple can be Readied but as I understand it, not used as an OA. That would be a bit too invalidating to feats like Sentinel.
Yes, that is a hit and in these quarters other allies do threaten the enemy so sneak attack does apply. The damage is magical so SG4 takes the full 8 damage.
Don't want to break formation! Will grapple any that appear near me.
We also need to close in the formation to match the desire positions. above...Galtheon will to that as part of his move.
Edit: The Grapple reaction has the advantage that everyone nearby can get an attack in our turn...
Opposed Athletics on the grapple:
15
The stone ghost 4 is grabbed.
Hellish Rebuke is a racial trait as part of my infernal legacy not a warcaster feat. Not sure if that makes a difference. And it says it is a reaction from taking damage. So I wouldn’t be able to do that because I haven’t had an actual turn? Sorry learning how this works.
OOC: Sorry for the delay earlier and now I have to go for the night, please finish up any saving throws, opportunity attacks and your own actions and I will do the next round of stone ghost actions tomorrow (my time). Also, Taraven, confirm you’re desired target for the fire spell. They all have the same stats so whoever you target their save is:
6
A failure, so it will take the full fire damage (prior to application of resistance.)
(( I think we may need to wait for Ilecerys' move - seems likely he'd do an OA ))
My target was SG3 since that is the one that dealt damage to me.
I wasn't planning on that, but happy to roll with it; as my move I will drag it back
to correct formation positiontowards the door..I believe that I can also make a single attack as well (because I normally make 2), and I think it has already taken damage:
Attack: 18 Damage: 9 (that damage is correct)
NOTE: The ability to attack critically depends on the ability to grapple then stab...which is not clear under the rules. It seems natural to me, but ... Grapple is strength based (which doesn't speak to 'light') vs. grapple is 'weapon-free', so how much lighter can you get?
(( ooc: this is the "Hey Ford, I've just had a really hoopy idea" moment ...
- We are reasonably near the door
- SG4 appeared behind Evan, so is likely to be very near the door
- Galtheon has 35' movement
- Galtheon has it grappled...
))
Galtheon screams, "Out of the way...let me through the door".
He drags the ghost out of the mine.
(( Hopefully as he does so, people get in their attacks...and get out the way
My thinking: Okkar said they can't leave...
- Forcing one out may destroy it (or lift the curse on it) - Best outcome
- If it's not destroyed, we can fight it, unaffected by the others (but Galtheon will need help restraining it) - Pretty useful
- It may just disappear and reappear next round - Very annoying, but we did damage to it and we learned something
- He may not be able to drag it out - OK, because now it's throughly surrounded, with Galtheon, Evan, Ilecerys and probably Nanoc next to it
All but option 3 is good, I think. I hope there is no option 5...
@DM: Galtheon's favoured enemy is undead...is there a roll he could take that might dissuade him from this course? He has Advantage on tracking and INT checks for info about undead ))
---
Tyrus Mountson: Lvl 3 Dwarvish Bard; Waterdeep Campaign (Dragon Heist)
Nanoc the Younger: Semi-retired Lvl 2 Rogue / Level 2 Barbarian Human; The Knuckle, Mror Holds, Ebberon.
The Honourable Jaden Fellan: Level 3 Human Eldritch Knight; Band of Sunswall
AKA: Phillip Berrie: writer, editor and academic thrillseeker—a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
Bottom line: good roll = 5/6 and 7/8 + 3 = the d6 is weapon, then d8 is Colossus Killer - I believe S4 is already damaged - and the +3 is DEX ; if my belief about it already being damaged in incorrect, then I will wait to do my stuff until after you and everyone else except Evan has had a go ;-). It would be more if I'd had a chance to get Hunter's Thingy off. If he hits with both weapons, against a damaged foe, then Galtheon's average per round damage is 24...when set up with Hunter's Thingy. That's part of the reason I was happy to run in to Harpy with two rounds of Advantage. Of course Galtheon's damage will be halved...
Edit: In fact...I think it's the one you rolled a hit against...I am assuming you hit...and we still have to hear from Ilecerys )
Yes, SG4 has already been damaged by Nanoc for 8, so that makes sense. I didn't realise you had Colossus Killer. Cool.
---
Tyrus Mountson: Lvl 3 Dwarvish Bard; Waterdeep Campaign (Dragon Heist)
Nanoc the Younger: Semi-retired Lvl 2 Rogue / Level 2 Barbarian Human; The Knuckle, Mror Holds, Ebberon.
The Honourable Jaden Fellan: Level 3 Human Eldritch Knight; Band of Sunswall
AKA: Phillip Berrie: writer, editor and academic thrillseeker—a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
@DM: I have added a note to my attack above; it may or may not be legal. Still looking, but it might need a DM ruling!
I have found someone who says "natural weapons are always two size categories lower than the creature using them, and weapons two size categories lower than your size are always light weapons for you." ... here. No reference tho.
And the counter-argument (which seems pretty conclusive) is: "Grappling/shoving isn't a melee weapon attack." from here, and "In two-weapon fighting, you don't get the bonus attack unless the first attack was with a light melee weapon" from here.
So...probably doesn't take 8 pts of damage, but still being dragged.
Still looking though...
Ugh...but wait...there's more...the horror continues...boring rules stuff to follow....ignore if you don't care, but I'm pretty sure Galtheon's grapple failed as well!
Option (a) ... it worked and on we go (the undead is dragged out)
Option (b) ... as per one of my links, Grapple is NOT and Attack Roll (it's a melee Attack, but a special attack that is resolved as a contest). So the grapple attempt does not benefit from bless...which means the grapple attempt was only a 15...which means that it was contested successfully (they rolled a 15). There is (perhaps) a small chance that Evan might be persuadable that casting Guidance to -- possibly -- save the soul of this Dwarf is worth delaying his Turn attempt -- but it depends on Evan listening to what Galtheon was saying and thinking it was worth supporting...since guidance will affect grapple...but that is a *very* long bow.
I'm happy enough if he fails, and we try next time...or if Evan doesn't cast Guidance, perhaps he sees and hears what Galtheon is doing and tries to grapple instead -- there is a soul to save, after all!
In any case, we may be back to Galtheon screaming, "I'll grapple the bugger and see if he likes the outside."...and failing the attempt.
(( What he actually screams depends on what he might conclude about the nature of the restrictions on these undead ))