Yeah, a fair amount of the problem with readying bonus actions is that ready always takes an action, so it would permit using your action to perform a bonus action, which 5e doesn't allow (would it be broken to let people use their action to perform a bonus action? Probably not, bonus actions tend to be inferior actions... but RAW you can't do it).
In most cases, bonus actions are inferior, but a sorcerer with Quicken Spell could jam out two spells using bonus actions if that were possible. Three if they had two levels of fighter and used Action Surge. Imagine dropping three Fireballs in one turn.
If you cast a spell with a bonus action the only other spells you cast on that turn are cantrips with a duration of 1 action. Therefore you can not cast fireball and quicken a 2nd on the same turn (you can get 2 fireballs using action surge)
No, if you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only spell you can cast using your action that turn is a cantrip. Subtle difference in the wording. But if you were able to convert your action into a second bonus action, you'd be able to cast another bonus action spell- there's no language preventing you from casting two spells as bonus actions in the same turn because you're not supposed to be able to take two bonus actions in the same turn. Which is why it would be broken.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Yeah, a fair amount of the problem with readying bonus actions is that ready always takes an action, so it would permit using your action to perform a bonus action, which 5e doesn't allow (would it be broken to let people use their action to perform a bonus action? Probably not, bonus actions tend to be inferior actions... but RAW you can't do it).
In most cases, bonus actions are inferior, but a sorcerer with Quicken Spell could jam out two spells using bonus actions if that were possible. Three if they had two levels of fighter and used Action Surge. Imagine dropping three Fireballs in one turn.
If you cast a spell with a bonus action the only other spells you cast on that turn are cantrips with a duration of 1 action. Therefore you can not cast fireball and quicken a 2nd on the same turn (you can get 2 fireballs using action surge)
No, if you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only spell you can cast using your action that turn is a cantrip. Subtle difference in the wording.
It is indeed a subtle difference, but your version is wrong. Jegpeg is correct. The precise language from the Basic Rules is: "You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."
If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
And as the Ready action tells us that you cast the spell when taking the Ready action the limitation would hold as you are still on your turn when that happens.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
No, if you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only spell you can cast using your action that turn is a cantrip. Subtle difference in the wording. But if you were able to convert your action into a second bonus action, you'd be able to cast another bonus action spell- there's no language preventing you from casting two spells as bonus actions in the same turn because you're not supposed to be able to take two bonus actions in the same turn. Which is why it would be broken.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
It is indeed a subtle difference, but your version is wrong. Jegpeg is correct. The precise language from the Basic Rules is: "You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."
Yea and Xanathar's makes it even clearer when it says:
And as the Ready action tells us that you cast the spell when taking the Ready action the limitation would hold as you are still on your turn when that happens.