The language permitting Dodge to be taken as a Bonus Action does not appear within Dodge either. An external feature (Cunning Action) permits it.
So too with Ready and Spiritual Weapon. Spiritual Weapon does not contain language which says it cannot be manipulated another way, if an outside feature provides a way to do so.
He was asked if you can ready misty step, and (like myself), forgot that you explicitly can't ready misty step because Ready tells you you can't use it to cast spells other than those with a casting time of one action. Instead, he answered "A bonus action can be taken only on your turn," which (1) presupposes that the ready wouldn't be triggered same turn, and (2) misses that you trigger ready with a reaction not a bonus action.
I'm guessing you think of bonus actions and reactions as resources that you expend to get things done, and an activity's bonus action-ness or reaction-ness is synonymous with the resource it consumed. If you had to "use your bonus action" to do it, it's a bonus action. If you had to "use your reaction" to do it, it's a reaction.
But if you look at the rules on bonus actions, the rules don't really talk about it as a resource:
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.
Rather saying one bonus action to spend, the rules refer to the things you do as bonus actions, and you might have 0, 1 or more of them available. The rules for bonus action spells also support that notion:
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn.
Note it doesn't say you "use your bonus action", because bonus actions are things you do, not a resource you expend. In other words Cunning Action is a bonus action by definition, and whether you're doing it as a normal part of your turn or through the reaction from the Ready action, it's still a bonus action. If you happen to go the Ready action route, you've used your reaction and because the thing you chose to do is Cunning Action, you've also taken a bonus action. You can't really "launder" a bonus action into a reaction. That's why I've been saying readying a bonus action and triggering it on your turn wouldn't give you a second bonus action.
In order to perform two bonus actions in the same round, you'd have to take a bonus action on your turn and ready a bonus action to trigger on a different turn. And that depends on whether you believe that the Ready action's rules take precedence over the text in the Bonus Action rules that say they only occur during your turn. Ignoring what Crawford's said, I could see a strong case for either one.
Rules-as-fun, readying bonus actions or letting players cast bonus action spells with their action probably won't break anything.
Coder, I do agree with you. Everyone talks about Action/Bonus Action/Reaction resources, vs. action abilities that require one of those. That's not just me, it's everyone on dndbeyond (other than perhaps yourself?). And its the only way to intuitively talk about what happens on a turn when you do things like Step of the Wind as a monk without otherwise acting, because otherwise its an "additional action" to .... nothing?
I agree its not (unproblematically explicitly) RAW to talk about the units of action economy , but dammit, there are no shortage of times that the PHB talks about "use your x (action/bonus action/reaction) to take the y (action name)," and that clearly is using "action" to refer to economy. The only section of the PHB that uses "take a bonus action" (again, and again, and again in rapid succession) is that Bonus Action section in Chapter 9 you just quoted. Everywhere else (including in that same chapter both above and below it), the structure of action economy is described as something like "use your (action/bonus action/reaction) to take ("an action"/specific action names like Dodge/etc.)." Spellcasting especially, makes heavy use of the [economy unit] sense of "action" etc, every time you "take the [Tooltip Not Found] action to cast Misty Step using my Bonus Action."
You "use" your (economy unit) to "take" an (action name). Actions usually have a specific [economy unit] that you must use in order to take that (action name), but that does not mean that you should conflate the (action name) to necessarily and always be only takeable with that (economy unit) when other features purport to let you do otherwise. Ready is so powerful, because it lets you take ANY (action name) as a reaction, instead of by using its normal [economy unit], other than the express limitation it includes within itself that it cannot do that for spells with a casting time other than "1 Action."
But belaboring the action economy, and how it's written, vs. how it should be written, vs. how I read it, vs. how you read it... it makes me feel tired, man, so tired. And even if you're right ("there's just actions. you can take one action. you might also get a bonus action, but only one. you might get a reaction, but only one"?), that doesn't make you right about Ready not being able to ready bonus actions? Your position would boil down to the same "a bonus action is an action" that feeds into it being not different-in-kind from any other ready-able action? Or is your position that you can Ready bonus actions, but just not Spiritual Weapon, since it mentions attacking as a Bonus Action (even though it doesn't say "only")?
3.5e: the equivalent to bonus actions and reactions were swift actions and immediate actions. They were a shared resource, you could only use one per round. Readying could not be used for swift actions and did not cost an action, it changed your initiative.
4e: the equivalent to bonus actions and reactions were minor actions and immediate interrupts/reactions, which worked mostly like in 5e, except immediate actions could not be used on your turn. You could ready a minor action. You could also just explicitly use your move action or standard action to take a minor action.
I'm pretty sure 5e was trying to be simpler than prior editions, but this is a case where they failed.
Coder, I do agree with you. Everyone talks about Action/Bonus Action/Reaction resources, vs. action abilities that require one of those. That's not just me, it's everyone on dndbeyond (other than perhaps yourself?).
Right, I wasn't asking to single you out, just to confirm that's the thought process. I agree that way of thinking about turns is pretty much universal.
Fore the record I'm not keen on running things in a way that would run counter to that mental model, but when I was re-reading the rules for bonus actions I noticed the discrepancy in how the rules talk about them.
And its the only way to intuitively talk about what happens on a turn when you do things like Step of the Wind as a monk without otherwise acting, because otherwise its an "additional action" to .... nothing?
I don't see this as a problem. It'd still be in addition to your action, you're just choosing to waste it. In practice this shouldn't even come up since you're always better off picking one of Dodge, Ready or Hide.
I agree its not (unproblematically explicitly) RAW to talk about the units of action economy , but dammit, there are no shortage of times that the PHB talks about "use your x (action/bonus action/reaction) to take the y (action name)," and that clearly is using "action" to refer to economy. The only section of the PHB that uses "take a bonus action" (again, and again, and again in rapid succession) is that Bonus Action section in Chapter 9 you just quoted. Everywhere else (including in that same chapter both above and below it), the structure of action economy is described as something like "use your (action/bonus action/reaction) to take ("an action"/specific action names like Dodge/etc.)." Spellcasting especially, makes heavy use of the [economy unit] sense of "action" etc, every time you "take the Cast a Spell action to cast Misty Step using my Bonus Action."
You're correct about actions and reactions. But doing a Ctrl+F search on the Player's Handbook, Dungeon Master's Guide, Xanathar's Guide and Tasha's Cauldron turns up 0 hits for "use your bonus action", which surprised me; I figured the writers would've slipped up at least once by now. But no, the rules consistently give you bonus actions ("as/use/using a bonus action...") rather than saying you use your bonus action the way they often do with talking about actions and reactions. There doesn't seem to be any textual support for bonus actions as a resource or unit of action economy.
But belaboring the action economy, and how it's written, vs. how it should be written, vs. how I read it, vs. how you read it... it makes me feel tired, man, so tired. And even if you're right ("there's just actions. you can take one action. you might also get a bonus action, but only one. you might get a reaction, but only one"?), that doesn't make you right about Ready not being able to ready bonus actions? Your position would boil down to the same "a bonus action is an action" that feeds into it being not different-in-kind from any other ready-able action? Or is your position that you can Ready bonus actions, but just not Spiritual Weapon, since it mentions attacking as a Bonus Action (even though it doesn't say "only")?
Here's how I see the rules as written:
There's a strong case for being able to ready a bonus action (they are a type of action), provided it's available to you and you still meet its timing criteria.
It's unclear whether you can actually trigger a readied bonus action when it's not your turn. It depends on whether you give precedence to the Ready action rules or Bonus Action rules.
Either way, a bonus action remains a bonus action even when readied. If you were to trigger it during your own turn, you wouldn't be able to take another one.
Jeremy's made the RAI clear multiple times: bonus actions are supposed to happen only during your turn.
As for how I'd apply the rules:
I don't see any real problems with delaying bonus actions. I'd go as far as to allow a bonus action version of Ready so they can ready a bonus action without giving up their action.
It's also unlikely that converting a bonus action into an action would break something. There might be some obscure game-breaking combo out there but in practice it just lets players do perfectly reasonable things like Misty Step and Second Wind on the same turn.
Using the same bonus action twice in the same round is most likely going to break something. The rules writers expect that when they make something a bonus action it's going to be used at most once, and any leveled spell that gives you a bonus action will likely get stronger.
The bonus action spell rule still stands, and readying a bonus action spell still requires casting it up front.
I just binge-read this rabbit hole and i forgot the answer to what im looking for.
Going back to the real topic as per thread title, I need to know if i'm allowed to attack with my warhammer as my main action even after(or before) attacking with a Spiritual Weapon that is considered "melee spell attack"
Using the spiritual weapon is also not casting a spell so if you cast spriritual weapon on a previous round you can cast a spell with your action and use spirual weapon to attack as a bonus action.
I try to keep things simple at my table, so this is the way I play Readied actions. Ready is an action that appears in Chapter 9: Combat. In the section with the Ready action, it lists actions you can use in combat, and those are the only ones I let my players use with the Ready action: Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Search, Use an Object, and Improvising an Action. Each of these take the player's action, so that they can use that action as a reaction later. The Improvising an Action allows the player to try something not covered by the other, specific actions, but it takes DM approval that it is a reasonable action.
The examples under the Ready action are consistent with this interpretation/ruling: "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I’ll pull the lever that opens it," (this is a Use an Object action), and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away" (this is a Dash action).
Other tables may decide to play it a different way, or come up with a house rule -- both of which are fine. Play the way your table finds fun.
Edit: So no using a Bonus Action with the Ready action the way we play at our table.
Edit 2: If I were to take a deep dive into the RAI from Sage Advice, I think the following support the idea that a Bonus Action is not an Action within the rules for the Ready action -- again, interpretations can vary, and your table should play the way that your group thinks is best. I'm just another player/DM, like you:
Can you use the Ready action to take the Dash action on someone else’s turn and then combine the Charger feat with it?
No, since you can’t take a bonus action on someone else’s turn. (So, no using it for a Ready action)
Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action?
Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Actions and Bonus actions are not the same thing.)
Does surprise happen outside the initiative order as a special surprise round?
...A surprised creature can’t move or take an action or a reaction until its first turn ends (remember that being unable to take an action also means you can’t take a bonus action). (Actions and Bonus Actions are not the same thing.)
Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast healing word?
No. Actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. In the example, the bard could use Bardic Inspiration or healing word on a turn, not both. (If the text says Action, you cannot substitute a Bonus Action for an Action.)
If you have a feature like Cunning Action or Step of the Wind, can you take the Dash action more than once on your turn?
If you can take the Dash action as a bonus action, nothing in the rules prevents you from taking the Dash action with your regular action too. (Actions and Bonus Actions are not the same thing.)
I try to keep things simple at my table, so this is the way I play Readied actions. Ready is an action that appears in Chapter 9: Combat. In the section with the Ready action, it lists actions you can use in combat, and those are the only ones I let my players use with the Ready action: Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Search, Use an Object, and Improvising an Action. Each of these take the player's action, so that they can use that action as a reaction later. The Improvising an Action allows the player to try something not covered by the other, specific actions, but it takes DM approval that it is a reasonable action.
The examples under the Ready action are consistent with this interpretation/ruling: "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I’ll pull the lever that opens it," (this is a Use an Object action), and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away" (this is a Dash action).
Other tables may decide to play it a different way, or come up with a house rule -- both of which are fine. Play the way your table finds fun.
That seems to be unnecessary limiting as that stops quite a lot of possible actions. If you look at the start of that section it talks about the actions you can take in combat and it mentions "an action you gained from your class or a special feature" and those seems to be left out in your ruling. That would be stuff like most Channel Divinity features for Clerics/Paladins and similar abilities and a lot of actions granted by feats and a lot of actions where you activate/use a spell (after its casting, like using your Mage Hand).
Play as you guys want but I'd at least consider the issue a bit more.
I'm not advocating that bonus actions can be readied, and I agree with everyone who points out that bonus actions and actions are not the same thing. But there's an annoying issue of vocabulary used by the game. "Action" can refer to what other versions of the game called a "standard action" or it can also refer to the category of actions that include action, bonus action, reaction, legendary action, mythic action, lair action, and probably a few other one-offs. Things that prevent you from taking an action apply to the entire category of actions, not just the (standard) action, so we know the game sometimes uses the word to represent the category.
As for readying a bonus action, I do not believe this works and even if it did, you would need to use your (standard) action to ready and then your reaction on your turn to execute the bonus action since the bonus action is defined as something that you take on your turn. Ironically, if this worked (which again, I do not believe it does) you would use your action to ready the bonus action and your reaction to execute the trigger, but you would never actually use your bonus action in the process. Weird, but ultimately pointless.
Yeah, a fair amount of the problem with readying bonus actions is that ready always takes an action, so it would permit using your action to perform a bonus action, which 5e doesn't allow (would it be broken to let people use their action to perform a bonus action? Probably not, bonus actions tend to be inferior actions... but RAW you can't do it).
That is very fair, and in my response I left that out. I would let my characters use those kinds of actions as long as they are listed as an action. Thanks for pointing out that I missed them in my response.
Yeah, a fair amount of the problem with readying bonus actions is that ready always takes an action, so it would permit using your action to perform a bonus action, which 5e doesn't allow (would it be broken to let people use their action to perform a bonus action? Probably not, bonus actions tend to be inferior actions... but RAW you can't do it).
In most cases, bonus actions are inferior, but a sorcerer with Quicken Spell could jam out two spells using bonus actions if that were possible. Three if they had two levels of fighter and used Action Surge. Imagine dropping three Fireballs in one turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Yeah, a fair amount of the problem with readying bonus actions is that ready always takes an action, so it would permit using your action to perform a bonus action, which 5e doesn't allow (would it be broken to let people use their action to perform a bonus action? Probably not, bonus actions tend to be inferior actions... but RAW you can't do it).
In most cases, bonus actions are inferior, but a sorcerer with Quicken Spell could jam out two spells using bonus actions if that were possible. Three if they had two levels of fighter and used Action Surge. Imagine dropping three Fireballs in one turn.
If you cast a spell with a bonus action the only other spells you cast on that turn are cantrips with a duration of 1 action. Therefore you can not cast fireball and quicken a 2nd on the same turn (you can get 2 fireballs using action surge)
In most cases, bonus actions are inferior, but a sorcerer with Quicken Spell could jam out two spells using bonus actions if that were possible.
No they couldn't. It's prevented for the same reason they can't get out two leveled spells with a bonus action and a regular action.
No, if you cast a spell with a bonus action, the only spell you can cast with an action is a cantrip. The wording doesn't restrict casting two spells that are bonus actions in one turn, so if you could use your action to perform a bonus action activity it would be allowed. Which is why it would be broken to let someone convert their action into a second bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The language permitting Dodge to be taken as a Bonus Action does not appear within Dodge either. An external feature (Cunning Action) permits it.
So too with Ready and Spiritual Weapon. Spiritual Weapon does not contain language which says it cannot be manipulated another way, if an outside feature provides a way to do so.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Rules As Not Prevented (RANP) :)
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I'm guessing you think of bonus actions and reactions as resources that you expend to get things done, and an activity's bonus action-ness or reaction-ness is synonymous with the resource it consumed. If you had to "use your bonus action" to do it, it's a bonus action. If you had to "use your reaction" to do it, it's a reaction.
But if you look at the rules on bonus actions, the rules don't really talk about it as a resource:
Rather saying one bonus action to spend, the rules refer to the things you do as bonus actions, and you might have 0, 1 or more of them available. The rules for bonus action spells also support that notion:
Note it doesn't say you "use your bonus action", because bonus actions are things you do, not a resource you expend. In other words Cunning Action is a bonus action by definition, and whether you're doing it as a normal part of your turn or through the reaction from the Ready action, it's still a bonus action. If you happen to go the Ready action route, you've used your reaction and because the thing you chose to do is Cunning Action, you've also taken a bonus action. You can't really "launder" a bonus action into a reaction. That's why I've been saying readying a bonus action and triggering it on your turn wouldn't give you a second bonus action.
In order to perform two bonus actions in the same round, you'd have to take a bonus action on your turn and ready a bonus action to trigger on a different turn. And that depends on whether you believe that the Ready action's rules take precedence over the text in the Bonus Action rules that say they only occur during your turn. Ignoring what Crawford's said, I could see a strong case for either one.
Rules-as-fun, readying bonus actions or letting players cast bonus action spells with their action probably won't break anything.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Coder, I do agree with you. Everyone talks about Action/Bonus Action/Reaction resources, vs. action abilities that require one of those. That's not just me, it's everyone on dndbeyond (other than perhaps yourself?). And its the only way to intuitively talk about what happens on a turn when you do things like Step of the Wind as a monk without otherwise acting, because otherwise its an "additional action" to .... nothing?
I agree its not (unproblematically explicitly) RAW to talk about the units of action economy , but dammit, there are no shortage of times that the PHB talks about "use your x (action/bonus action/reaction) to take the y (action name)," and that clearly is using "action" to refer to economy. The only section of the PHB that uses "take a bonus action" (again, and again, and again in rapid succession) is that Bonus Action section in Chapter 9 you just quoted. Everywhere else (including in that same chapter both above and below it), the structure of action economy is described as something like "use your (action/bonus action/reaction) to take ("an action"/specific action names like Dodge/etc.)." Spellcasting especially, makes heavy use of the [economy unit] sense of "action" etc, every time you "take the [Tooltip Not Found] action to cast Misty Step using my Bonus Action."
You "use" your (economy unit) to "take" an (action name). Actions usually have a specific [economy unit] that you must use in order to take that (action name), but that does not mean that you should conflate the (action name) to necessarily and always be only takeable with that (economy unit) when other features purport to let you do otherwise. Ready is so powerful, because it lets you take ANY (action name) as a reaction, instead of by using its normal [economy unit], other than the express limitation it includes within itself that it cannot do that for spells with a casting time other than "1 Action."
But belaboring the action economy, and how it's written, vs. how it should be written, vs. how I read it, vs. how you read it... it makes me feel tired, man, so tired. And even if you're right ("there's just actions. you can take one action. you might also get a bonus action, but only one. you might get a reaction, but only one"?), that doesn't make you right about Ready not being able to ready bonus actions? Your position would boil down to the same "a bonus action is an action" that feeds into it being not different-in-kind from any other ready-able action? Or is your position that you can Ready bonus actions, but just not Spiritual Weapon, since it mentions attacking as a Bonus Action (even though it doesn't say "only")?
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Note to self: Do not under any circumstances use brackets for anything other than forum tags ever again, oof that came out needing a lot of edits :p
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
For comparison to prior editions
I'm pretty sure 5e was trying to be simpler than prior editions, but this is a case where they failed.
Right, I wasn't asking to single you out, just to confirm that's the thought process. I agree that way of thinking about turns is pretty much universal.
Fore the record I'm not keen on running things in a way that would run counter to that mental model, but when I was re-reading the rules for bonus actions I noticed the discrepancy in how the rules talk about them.
I don't see this as a problem. It'd still be in addition to your action, you're just choosing to waste it. In practice this shouldn't even come up since you're always better off picking one of Dodge, Ready or Hide.
You're correct about actions and reactions. But doing a Ctrl+F search on the Player's Handbook, Dungeon Master's Guide, Xanathar's Guide and Tasha's Cauldron turns up 0 hits for "use your bonus action", which surprised me; I figured the writers would've slipped up at least once by now. But no, the rules consistently give you bonus actions ("as/use/using a bonus action...") rather than saying you use your bonus action the way they often do with talking about actions and reactions. There doesn't seem to be any textual support for bonus actions as a resource or unit of action economy.
Here's how I see the rules as written:
Jeremy's made the RAI clear multiple times: bonus actions are supposed to happen only during your turn.
As for how I'd apply the rules:
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I just binge-read this rabbit hole and i forgot the answer to what im looking for.
Going back to the real topic as per thread title, I need to know if i'm allowed to attack with my warhammer as my main action even after(or before) attacking with a Spiritual Weapon that is considered "melee spell attack"
Asking for a friend <3
You can -- it's a bonus action, so it doesn't interact with your action-based weapon attacks.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Best part is, you can attack the same target or a different one.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Using the spiritual weapon is also not casting a spell so if you cast spriritual weapon on a previous round you can cast a spell with your action and use spirual weapon to attack as a bonus action.
I try to keep things simple at my table, so this is the way I play Readied actions. Ready is an action that appears in Chapter 9: Combat. In the section with the Ready action, it lists actions you can use in combat, and those are the only ones I let my players use with the Ready action: Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Search, Use an Object, and Improvising an Action. Each of these take the player's action, so that they can use that action as a reaction later. The Improvising an Action allows the player to try something not covered by the other, specific actions, but it takes DM approval that it is a reasonable action.
The examples under the Ready action are consistent with this interpretation/ruling: "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I’ll pull the lever that opens it," (this is a Use an Object action), and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away" (this is a Dash action).
Other tables may decide to play it a different way, or come up with a house rule -- both of which are fine. Play the way your table finds fun.
Edit: So no using a Bonus Action with the Ready action the way we play at our table.
Edit 2: If I were to take a deep dive into the RAI from Sage Advice, I think the following support the idea that a Bonus Action is not an Action within the rules for the Ready action -- again, interpretations can vary, and your table should play the way that your group thinks is best. I'm just another player/DM, like you:
Can you use the Ready action to take the Dash action on someone else’s turn and then combine the Charger feat with it?
No, since you can’t take a bonus action on someone else’s turn. (So, no using it for a Ready action)
Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action?
Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Actions and Bonus actions are not the same thing.)
Does surprise happen outside the initiative order as a special surprise round?
...A surprised creature can’t move or take an action or a reaction until its first turn ends (remember that being unable to take an action also means you can’t take a bonus action). (Actions and Bonus Actions are not the same thing.)
Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast healing word?
No. Actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. In the example, the bard could use Bardic Inspiration or healing word on a turn, not both. (If the text says Action, you cannot substitute a Bonus Action for an Action.)
If you have a feature like Cunning Action or Step of the Wind, can you take the Dash action more than once on your turn?
If you can take the Dash action as a bonus action, nothing in the rules prevents you from taking the Dash action with your regular action too. (Actions and Bonus Actions are not the same thing.)
That seems to be unnecessary limiting as that stops quite a lot of possible actions. If you look at the start of that section it talks about the actions you can take in combat and it mentions "an action you gained from your class or a special feature" and those seems to be left out in your ruling. That would be stuff like most Channel Divinity features for Clerics/Paladins and similar abilities and a lot of actions granted by feats and a lot of actions where you activate/use a spell (after its casting, like using your Mage Hand).
Play as you guys want but I'd at least consider the issue a bit more.
I'm not advocating that bonus actions can be readied, and I agree with everyone who points out that bonus actions and actions are not the same thing. But there's an annoying issue of vocabulary used by the game. "Action" can refer to what other versions of the game called a "standard action" or it can also refer to the category of actions that include action, bonus action, reaction, legendary action, mythic action, lair action, and probably a few other one-offs. Things that prevent you from taking an action apply to the entire category of actions, not just the (standard) action, so we know the game sometimes uses the word to represent the category.
As for readying a bonus action, I do not believe this works and even if it did, you would need to use your (standard) action to ready and then your reaction on your turn to execute the bonus action since the bonus action is defined as something that you take on your turn. Ironically, if this worked (which again, I do not believe it does) you would use your action to ready the bonus action and your reaction to execute the trigger, but you would never actually use your bonus action in the process. Weird, but ultimately pointless.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Yeah, a fair amount of the problem with readying bonus actions is that ready always takes an action, so it would permit using your action to perform a bonus action, which 5e doesn't allow (would it be broken to let people use their action to perform a bonus action? Probably not, bonus actions tend to be inferior actions... but RAW you can't do it).
That is very fair, and in my response I left that out. I would let my characters use those kinds of actions as long as they are listed as an action. Thanks for pointing out that I missed them in my response.
In most cases, bonus actions are inferior, but a sorcerer with Quicken Spell could jam out two spells using bonus actions if that were possible. Three if they had two levels of fighter and used Action Surge. Imagine dropping three Fireballs in one turn.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No they couldn't. It's prevented for the same reason they can't get out two leveled spells with a bonus action and a regular action.
If you cast a spell with a bonus action the only other spells you cast on that turn are cantrips with a duration of 1 action. Therefore you can not cast fireball and quicken a 2nd on the same turn (you can get 2 fireballs using action surge)
No, if you cast a spell with a bonus action, the only spell you can cast with an action is a cantrip. The wording doesn't restrict casting two spells that are bonus actions in one turn, so if you could use your action to perform a bonus action activity it would be allowed. Which is why it would be broken to let someone convert their action into a second bonus action.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.