I'm curious about this because there are no rules about this interaction in the PHB apart from a rule on spellcasting that states that I can't cast another spell if I cast a spell as a bonus action unless one of those spells is a cantrip. So my question is, can I cast bonus action spell like Searing Smite and then Attack twice with an Extra Attack Feature?
I'm curious about this because there are no rules about this interaction in the PHB apart from a rule on spellcasting that states that I can't cast another spell if I cast a spell as a bonus action unless one of those spells is a cantrip. So my question is, can I cast bonus action spell like Searing Smite and then Attack twice with an Extra Attack Feature?
In short, yes. 😊
The longer form answer involves some, "it depends what the spell is and what the rules state for it"
As per your example though, searing smite is designed to be used in that way.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Generally, actions and bonus actions can be done in any order.
Some bonus actions specifically need to go after a specific action, but only if they say they do.