You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
However keep in mind the rule on bonus action spells. Here's the Xanathar's Guide to Everything version of it, which is much clearer than the Player's Handbook:
If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
Ok. Thank you. I was in a game where someone used a leveled bonus action spell first, and then attacked with another Leveled spell, and I wondered if they could do that. I know that both weapons have to have the Light tag to dual wield them, so for example, if you have a Rapier and a Dagger, and you attack with the Dagger first, you can't use the Rapier for your bonus attack. Rapiers lack the Light tag.
Ok. Thank you. I was in a game where someone used a leveled bonus action spell first, and then attacked with another Leveled spell, and I wondered if they could do that. I know that both weapons have to have the Light tag to dual wield them, so for example, if you have a Rapier and a Dagger, and you attack with the Dagger first, you can't use the Rapier for your bonus attack. Rapiers lack the Light tag.
No, they cant do that. The order doesn't matter, but the spell they cast as an action has to be a cantrip.
If you have a spell that can be cast as a Bonus Action, can you cast it first, and still use your Action after that?
<Insert clever signature here>
Yes. From Player's Handbook chapter 9:
However keep in mind the rule on bonus action spells. Here's the Xanathar's Guide to Everything version of it, which is much clearer than the Player's Handbook:
The Forum Infestation (TM)
What Coder said.
Ok. Thank you. I was in a game where someone used a leveled bonus action spell first, and then attacked with another Leveled spell, and I wondered if they could do that. I know that both weapons have to have the Light tag to dual wield them, so for example, if you have a Rapier and a Dagger, and you attack with the Dagger first, you can't use the Rapier for your bonus attack. Rapiers lack the Light tag.
<Insert clever signature here>
No, they cant do that. The order doesn't matter, but the spell they cast as an action has to be a cantrip.
Could they take a swing with a weapon instead? I think so...
<Insert clever signature here>
Yes they could still use the attack action, or pretty much any action. It’s just that the cast a spell action would be limited to a cantrip.
That they can. The rule only restricts spells. They can bonus action cast and do any non-spell action as normal.
Thanks everyone. There are times I struggle with this forum, but once I finally get my point across, at least I get clear answers. :-)
<Insert clever signature here>