Can a fighter that has extra actions due to level use those to cast multiple spells in the same round? Assume Eldritch Knight or multiclass to give spell casting ability.
Example: Could the fighter cast Magic Missile and then with the next extra action cast Magic Missile again?
The term "extra actions" may or may not mean what you think it means, and you may be having one of the most common misconceptions about Fighters.
Fighters get an ability called "Action Surge", which lets them make an extra action on their turn once per Short Rest(twice per SR at higher levels). They can use it to take any type of action they could normally take. Fighters also get the Extra Attack ability, which lets them make multiple attacks as part of the Attack action on their turn. If you want to attack with your weapon and cast Magic Missile on the same turn, that requires two different Actions, meaning you'd have to use your Action Surge.
To the best of my knowledge, the only class ability that lets you cast a spell in place of an attack within the Attack action is the Bladesinger subclass of Wizards. At 6th Level, they not only get to attack twice when taking the Attack action, they can cast a cantrip in place of one of those attacks. So a 6th-level Bladesinger could take the Attack action, make one weapon attack AND cast something like Booming Blade or Shocking Grasp.
Is casting an attack spell or cantrip, one requiring an attack roll, not an attack action? Okay, I just reread the PHB and see that the emphasis is on the word Attack which in reference to Action has a specific meaning. All is now clear. I think. :D
Is casting an attack spell or cantrip, one requiring an attack roll, not an attack action? Okay, I just reread the PHB and see that the emphasis is on the word Attack which in reference to Action has a specific meaning. All is now clear. I think. :D
Yeah, you have the rules call a couple of different things by the same wording a few times. You have to watch out for that. Attack action and attack rolls is one.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a fighter that has extra actions due to level use those to cast multiple spells in the same round? Assume Eldritch Knight or multiclass to give spell casting ability.
Example: Could the fighter cast Magic Missile and then with the next extra action cast Magic Missile again?
If by extra actions, you mean action surge, yes.
if you mean extra attack, no.
The term "extra actions" may or may not mean what you think it means, and you may be having one of the most common misconceptions about Fighters.
Fighters get an ability called "Action Surge", which lets them make an extra action on their turn once per Short Rest(twice per SR at higher levels). They can use it to take any type of action they could normally take. Fighters also get the Extra Attack ability, which lets them make multiple attacks as part of the Attack action on their turn. If you want to attack with your weapon and cast Magic Missile on the same turn, that requires two different Actions, meaning you'd have to use your Action Surge.
To the best of my knowledge, the only class ability that lets you cast a spell in place of an attack within the Attack action is the Bladesinger subclass of Wizards. At 6th Level, they not only get to attack twice when taking the Attack action, they can cast a cantrip in place of one of those attacks. So a 6th-level Bladesinger could take the Attack action, make one weapon attack AND cast something like Booming Blade or Shocking Grasp.
Is casting an attack spell or cantrip, one requiring an attack roll, not an attack action? Okay, I just reread the PHB and see that the emphasis is on the word Attack which in reference to Action has a specific meaning. All is now clear. I think. :D
Yeah, you have the rules call a couple of different things by the same wording a few times. You have to watch out for that. Attack action and attack rolls is one.