I have a hypothetical situation for you. My player says that his Pact of the Chain Imp can do any of this:
•It can leave the pocket dimension while still invisible. •It can maintain invisibly while inside the Pocket Dimension. •When it is in a Pocket Dimension, it can change shape and do stuff.
I ruled that he can’t bring things into the pocket dimension, it can’t maintain invisibility while in the dimension, and that it can’t do anything while it’s in there.
Is there any official ruling that contradicts me? Should the Imp be able to do any of that? What are your thoughts on this hypothetical ruling?
Based on wording, I'd say it can use its abilities while in the pocket dimension since it is not incapacitated. It doesn't say it can bring items or communicate with you, so it can't.
Pact of the Chain allows you to cast Find Familiar; so the same rules apply. The spell says "As an action, you can temporarily dismiss your familiar. It disappears into a pocket dimension where it awaits your summons." It doesn't say that the familiar is able to do anything other than await your summons.
I see no reason to prevent it arriving already invisible.
The point about remaining invisible while inside the pocket dimension is moot, since nothing can get to it while there.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a hypothetical situation for you. My player says that his Pact of the Chain Imp can do any of this:
•It can leave the pocket dimension while still invisible.
•It can maintain invisibly while inside the Pocket Dimension.
•When it is in a Pocket Dimension, it can change shape and do stuff.
I ruled that he can’t bring things into the pocket dimension, it can’t maintain invisibility while in the dimension, and that it can’t do anything while it’s in there.
Is there any official ruling that contradicts me? Should the Imp be able to do any of that? What are your thoughts on this hypothetical ruling?
Based on wording, I'd say it can use its abilities while in the pocket dimension since it is not incapacitated. It doesn't say it can bring items or communicate with you, so it can't.
Pact of the Chain allows you to cast Find Familiar; so the same rules apply. The spell says "As an action, you can temporarily dismiss your familiar. It disappears into a pocket dimension where it awaits your summons." It doesn't say that the familiar is able to do anything other than await your summons.
I see no reason to prevent it arriving already invisible.
The point about remaining invisible while inside the pocket dimension is moot, since nothing can get to it while there.