The combination of polymorph magic and the combination of a bag of holding.
How about good night, morning or afternoon, today I have a question regarding the combination of polymorph magic and the combination of a bag of holding.
My party mates and I thought about the hypothetical case in which we manage to turn the final boss into a rat. The first thing we think is that we could put it in the bag of holding since it is a tiny creature. But then we were all left wondering what would happen, or if it is possible according to the rules. We think that the first thing that would happen is that the animal would begin to suffocate inside the bag, then it would return to its original shape. After that we don't know what would happen. And from here is where we do not know well what will happen. Will they know if it explodes or something else happens?
See the sentence in bag of holding which says "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane."
If the final boss is too big to remain in the bag, then the bag becomes overloaded.
Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate.
The rat begins to suffocate after 10 minutes.
A creature begins to suffocate after 1+Con modifier minutes of holding its breath, for a minimum of 30 seconds. For a Rat, this is 1-1=0, which is 30 seconds. it therefore lasts 10m30s.
The rat drops to 0 hit points, and reverts to its original form.
If the bag does not rupture due to the size of the boss, then the boss also begins to suffocate (the DM could rule that it has no air in its lungs, or that the air it had when polymorphed is still there - there are no rules for this). It can hold its breath for 1+Con modifier minutes.
If the boss suffocates after that time, then it drops to 0 hit points, is dying, and it can't regain hit points or be stabilized until it can breathe again.
Why not instead polymorph it into a water breathing beast such as a reef shark, it will suffocate to death and you will save your bag of holding.
When the shark drops to 0 hit points due to suffocation, then won't the polymorphed creature revert back to its normal form?
Yes. But monster usually die at 0 hit points.
1) technically that is DM shorthand allowed by the rules but it is not a requirement. 2) Specific vs. General. The specific rules of polymorph override the general rules of creatures sent to 0 HP, in that they revert to their original form, with their original hitpoints, rather than die/start making death saves.
There is some debate on these forums whether a polymorphed creature that has dropped to 0 due to suffocation is still suffocating when they revert. I personally say they are no longer suffocating and are not at 0 hitpoints, but that is not really the question being asked here.
The combination of polymorph magic and the combination of a bag of holding.
How about good night, morning or afternoon, today I have a question regarding the combination of polymorph magic and the combination of a bag of holding.
My party mates and I thought about the hypothetical case in which we manage to turn the final boss into a rat. The first thing we think is that we could put it in the bag of holding since it is a tiny creature. But then we were all left wondering what would happen, or if it is possible according to the rules. We think that the first thing that would happen is that the animal would begin to suffocate inside the bag, then it would return to its original shape. After that we don't know what would happen. And from here is where we do not know well what will happen. Will they know if it explodes or something else happens?
See the sentence in bag of holding which says "If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane."
If the final boss is too big to remain in the bag, then the bag becomes overloaded.
Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate.
Clever way to get rid of an enemy, at the cost of a useful permanent magic item.
Why not instead polymorph it into a water breathing beast such as a reef shark, it will suffocate to death and you will save your bag of holding.
When the shark drops to 0 hit points due to suffocation, then won't the polymorphed creature revert back to its normal form?
Yes. But monster usually die at 0 hit points.
1) technically that is DM shorthand allowed by the rules but it is not a requirement. 2) Specific vs. General. The specific rules of polymorph override the general rules of creatures sent to 0 HP, in that they revert to their original form, with their original hitpoints, rather than die/start making death saves.
There is some debate on these forums whether a polymorphed creature that has dropped to 0 due to suffocation is still suffocating when they revert. I personally say they are no longer suffocating and are not at 0 hitpoints, but that is not really the question being asked here.
But the monster isn't at 0 hp, its polymorphed form is.