So I have a question. Fizban's introduced the ghost dragon, which is a great monster and I love it. However, I'm unsure about its terrifying breath. Specifically this seciton;
"If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to this ghost dragon’s Terrifying Breath for the next 24 hours."
Now it's terrifying breath does 9d8 cold damage and frightens the players, if they save they take half damage and aren't frightened. While frightened, they are paralyzed. So it's pretty scary. My question is, once you save from the breath weapon the first time, if the dragon gets its breath weapon back again are the players immune to the cold damage as well as the frighten ability, or just the frighten ability? The wording implies that it's intended for them to be immune to the entirety of it, damage and status effect, but I just wanted to make sure that was the case.
So I have a question. Fizban's introduced the ghost dragon, which is a great monster and I love it. However, I'm unsure about its terrifying breath. Specifically this seciton;
"If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to this ghost dragon’s Terrifying Breath for the next 24 hours."
Now it's terrifying breath does 9d8 cold damage and frightens the players, if they save they take half damage and aren't frightened. While frightened, they are paralyzed. So it's pretty scary. My question is, once you save from the breath weapon the first time, if the dragon gets its breath weapon back again are the players immune to the cold damage as well as the frighten ability, or just the frighten ability? The wording implies that it's intended for them to be immune to the entirety of it, damage and status effect, but I just wanted to make sure that was the case.
As written based on your comment here, I'd say that the character is immune to the Terrifying Breath - both frightened and damage.
Does that make sense? and Is it intended? are other questions that are up to the DM to decide. Other dragons have Terrify and Menace effects that have the same wording but they are decoupled from the creature's breath weapon.
As a house rule, I would probably allow immunity to fear but not to the damage. The reasoning being that the damage is cold. Cold (to me) is an elemental form of damage - you don't do cold damage unless something is actually cold. On the other hand, if the breath weapon was doing psychic damage, then I could reasonably see a creature becoming immune to the damage as well as the fear effect - but all of that is a house rule. RAW, it seems clear that the creature is immune to both.
It looks pretty clear to me. "If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to this ghost dragon’s Terrifying Breath for the next 24 hours." So once you're free of the effect, either by making a successful save or the 1 minute duration passing, you're immune to "this ghost dragon's Terrifying Breath" for 24 hours. Not "the frightened condition from" or "the damage from", but from the whole ability when used by that same ghost dragon. So it's a way of saying they can only use it against you once every 24 hours, with one loophole. If they use it on you and then get it back on a recharge, they can use it on you again as long as you haven't shaken the original one off yet. So if that DM gets really lucky rolling the d6 to recharge, and you've got bad Con saves, you're in deep trouble :)
Thank you all! I was pretty sure that it was meant to be immunity to both damage and the status effect but since the other dragons didn't appear to work this way, I wanted some additional opinions. I appreciate it. 😊
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I have a question. Fizban's introduced the ghost dragon, which is a great monster and I love it. However, I'm unsure about its terrifying breath. Specifically this seciton;
"If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to this ghost dragon’s Terrifying Breath for the next 24 hours."
Now it's terrifying breath does 9d8 cold damage and frightens the players, if they save they take half damage and aren't frightened. While frightened, they are paralyzed. So it's pretty scary. My question is, once you save from the breath weapon the first time, if the dragon gets its breath weapon back again are the players immune to the cold damage as well as the frighten ability, or just the frighten ability? The wording implies that it's intended for them to be immune to the entirety of it, damage and status effect, but I just wanted to make sure that was the case.
A successful save makes them immune to both the damage and the conditions - from that particular dragon.
As written based on your comment here, I'd say that the character is immune to the Terrifying Breath - both frightened and damage.
Does that make sense? and Is it intended? are other questions that are up to the DM to decide. Other dragons have Terrify and Menace effects that have the same wording but they are decoupled from the creature's breath weapon.
As a house rule, I would probably allow immunity to fear but not to the damage. The reasoning being that the damage is cold. Cold (to me) is an elemental form of damage - you don't do cold damage unless something is actually cold. On the other hand, if the breath weapon was doing psychic damage, then I could reasonably see a creature becoming immune to the damage as well as the fear effect - but all of that is a house rule. RAW, it seems clear that the creature is immune to both.
It looks pretty clear to me. "If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to this ghost dragon’s Terrifying Breath for the next 24 hours." So once you're free of the effect, either by making a successful save or the 1 minute duration passing, you're immune to "this ghost dragon's Terrifying Breath" for 24 hours. Not "the frightened condition from" or "the damage from", but from the whole ability when used by that same ghost dragon. So it's a way of saying they can only use it against you once every 24 hours, with one loophole. If they use it on you and then get it back on a recharge, they can use it on you again as long as you haven't shaken the original one off yet. So if that DM gets really lucky rolling the d6 to recharge, and you've got bad Con saves, you're in deep trouble :)
Thank you all! I was pretty sure that it was meant to be immunity to both damage and the status effect but since the other dragons didn't appear to work this way, I wanted some additional opinions. I appreciate it. 😊