I was running a retriever against my party. They defeated it before it could plane shift out with its quarry because they blocked the retriever's path by just circling it. However, there was a 5-foot gap in their circle that I did not have the retriever move through because I did not fully understand the squeezing rules for Squeezing into Smaller Spaces. Now that I have checked the rule again, I am wondering if the retriever could have moved through that gap. Here is the Squeezing into Smaller Spaces rule for reference from Chapter 9: Combat of the Basic Rules under Movement and Position and Creature Size:
"A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that's only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space, a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage while it's in the smaller space." (Basic Rules Chapter 9)
I was running a retriever against my party. They defeated it before it could plane shift out with its quarry because they blocked the retriever's path by just circling it. However, there was a 5-foot gap in their circle that I did not have the retriever move through because I did not fully understand the squeezing rules for Squeezing into Smaller Spaces. Now that I have checked the rule again, I am wondering if the retriever could have moved through that gap. Here is the Squeezing into Smaller Spaces rule for reference from Chapter 9: Combat of the Basic Rules under Movement and Position and Creature Size:
"A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that's only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space, a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage while it's in the smaller space." (Basic Rules Chapter 9)
Yeah, it could have moved between then.
It could have also just plane shifted while surrounded...
This retriever was not going to abandon its mission, especially since it was a summoned creature.