Basically what Im wondering is: if a sorceror's leveled spell gets countered, could they still quicken spell to cast a leveled spell without violating the "one leveled spell per turn" rule?
Im not really clear on if counterspell interupts the casting and keeps it from counting as having "been cast", or if the act of casting the spell is all that matters towards the rule whether or not the spell resolves.
The casting still happens; the spell just has no effect. Having your spell countered doesn't let you bypass the bonus action spell rule (which, to be clear, doesn't technically limit you to one leveled spell per turn.)
Yes. You can also cast counterspell to counter the counterspell.
Now if that didn't count as casting, you'd have an endless iteration of counterspell countering counterspell because "Hey, it's countered so it wasn't cast which means I still have my reaction to cast counter... and so does he... oh no". Yeah, thats about as bad as it could get.
Yes. You can also cast counterspell to counter the counterspell.
Now if that didn't count as casting, you'd have an endless iteration of counterspell countering counterspell because "Hey, it's countered so it wasn't cast which means I still have my reaction to cast counter... and so does he... oh no". Yeah, thats about as bad as it could get.
I mean, you'd still only get one reaction, so there could be no such chain even if the countered spell didn't count as having been cast.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Basically what Im wondering is: if a sorceror's leveled spell gets countered, could they still quicken spell to cast a leveled spell without violating the "one leveled spell per turn" rule?
Im not really clear on if counterspell interupts the casting and keeps it from counting as having "been cast", or if the act of casting the spell is all that matters towards the rule whether or not the spell resolves.
The casting still happens; the spell just has no effect. Having your spell countered doesn't let you bypass the bonus action spell rule (which, to be clear, doesn't technically limit you to one leveled spell per turn.)
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Yes. You can also cast counterspell to counter the counterspell.
Now if that didn't count as casting, you'd have an endless iteration of counterspell countering counterspell because "Hey, it's countered so it wasn't cast which means I still have my reaction to cast counter... and so does he... oh no". Yeah, thats about as bad as it could get.
I mean, you'd still only get one reaction, so there could be no such chain even if the countered spell didn't count as having been cast.