I was thinking of making a character that ended up swapping bodies with a Carrionette, but the Carrionette died inside his body, so he'd be stuck in the doll, essentially making it the race he was playing as, but I don't know if it could work because of the lack of wording on the creatures stat block.
I was thinking about this and looking a lot of stuff up, but couldn't find an exact answer. It doesn't say anything like Polymorph or Wild shape, where in those cases, it specifically says that you retain alignment, personality, and with Polymorph, also Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. In this case, with the Carrionette, it just says you gain control of the Carrionette's body.
I know it's always ultimately up to the DM to decide, but I was wondering if there might be a more concrete rule on it.
I was thinking of making a character that ended up swapping bodies with a Carrionette, but the Carrionette died inside his body, so he'd be stuck in the doll, essentially making it the race he was playing as, but I don't know if it could work because of the lack of wording on the creatures stat block.
I was thinking about this and looking a lot of stuff up, but couldn't find an exact answer. It doesn't say anything like Polymorph or Wild shape, where in those cases, it specifically says that you retain alignment, personality, and with Polymorph, also Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. In this case, with the Carrionette, it just says you gain control of the Carrionette's body.
I know it's always ultimately up to the DM to decide, but I was wondering if there might be a more concrete rule on it.
Yeah, that seems like an oversight (one of many...).
Just work with the DM.
It's possible that the same text would apply for the target inhabiting the carrionette's body as for the other way round.