I am sure this question may have been asked before but I have not found the answer yet. Regarding the 5e Offical Disengage rules how would Attacks of Opportunity work in each of these scenarios:
1. PC is cornered by a monster with reach and uses Disengage. Attacks of Opportunity?
2. PC is next to a wall with a rope hanging down. Monster with reach on the other side of PC opposite the wall. PC uses Disengage and climbs up the rope to get away. Attacks of Opportunity?
3. PC passes through a doorway threshold (square) threatened by a monster and then attacks the monster. Attack of Opportunity?
In 5E, opportunity attacks are a bit more forgiving than they were in 3rd Edition. If you use the Disengage action, you don't provoke opportunity attacks unless the enemy has a specific special ability that lets them make opportunity attacks against disengaging foes. That means no opportunity attacks in scenarios 1 or 2. Furthermore, you only take an opportunity attack when you exit an opponent's threat radius unless they've got a special ability that lets them take opportunity attacks in other situations. This means that there wouldn't be an opportunity attack in situation 3.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No attack of opportunity in any of these scenarios. Disengage prevents attack of opportunity that's its one and only purpose. So 1 and 2 get no opportunity attack. Reach affects opportunity attack in that it takes place when you move out of the opportunity attacker's range instead of your own melee range, but if Disengage is in effect, then it happens at neither point.
3 does not get an opportunity attack because the PC has presumably not moved out of the monsters melee range, if the monster is still within the PC's melee range. There could be other scenarios depending on PC and monster reach, but for typical 5' melee range this holds true.
Perhaps, OP, it would be good if you explained why you think there would still be an Attack of Opportunity? Then we could correct any misunderstanding. The point of Disengage is that you sacrifice your attacks to be able to escape without provoking an Attack of Opportunity. Unless there is a special ability by the monster, you don't ever provoke one when using Disengage. Also, regardless of Disengage being used or not, without a special ability or feat, you don't provoke them by entering a melee space.
If you explain what is confusing you, or what you think the rules are, we can clarify the situation.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am sure this question may have been asked before but I have not found the answer yet. Regarding the 5e Offical Disengage rules how would Attacks of Opportunity work in each of these scenarios:
1. PC is cornered by a monster with reach and uses Disengage. Attacks of Opportunity?
2. PC is next to a wall with a rope hanging down. Monster with reach on the other side of PC opposite the wall. PC uses Disengage and climbs up the rope to get away. Attacks of Opportunity?
3. PC passes through a doorway threshold (square) threatened by a monster and then attacks the monster. Attack of Opportunity?
Thank you.
In 5E, opportunity attacks are a bit more forgiving than they were in 3rd Edition. If you use the Disengage action, you don't provoke opportunity attacks unless the enemy has a specific special ability that lets them make opportunity attacks against disengaging foes. That means no opportunity attacks in scenarios 1 or 2. Furthermore, you only take an opportunity attack when you exit an opponent's threat radius unless they've got a special ability that lets them take opportunity attacks in other situations. This means that there wouldn't be an opportunity attack in situation 3.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No attack of opportunity in any of these scenarios. Disengage prevents attack of opportunity that's its one and only purpose. So 1 and 2 get no opportunity attack. Reach affects opportunity attack in that it takes place when you move out of the opportunity attacker's range instead of your own melee range, but if Disengage is in effect, then it happens at neither point.
3 does not get an opportunity attack because the PC has presumably not moved out of the monsters melee range, if the monster is still within the PC's melee range. There could be other scenarios depending on PC and monster reach, but for typical 5' melee range this holds true.
Perhaps, OP, it would be good if you explained why you think there would still be an Attack of Opportunity? Then we could correct any misunderstanding. The point of Disengage is that you sacrifice your attacks to be able to escape without provoking an Attack of Opportunity. Unless there is a special ability by the monster, you don't ever provoke one when using Disengage. Also, regardless of Disengage being used or not, without a special ability or feat, you don't provoke them by entering a melee space.
If you explain what is confusing you, or what you think the rules are, we can clarify the situation.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.