A fighter can deal 1d8+Strength damage with an unarmed strike if they aren't wearing armor. It says under two-weapon fighting that if you are using two light weapon attacks, you can make a second attack as a bonus action without adding your modifier. I understand that technically, unarmed strikes don't have the "light" property, but it seems counter intuitive, bordering contradictory, to say that you can stab someone with two daggers in two hands, but you can't do the same motion with your firsts.
Is there a place where this rule is clarified? Are we supposed to just bite the bullet on this, or should a DM just homebrew it at the table?
Specifically, a Fighter with the Unarmed Fighting fighting style can deal 1d8 + STR damage with unarmed strikes when not holding a shield or weapon - they're allowed to wear armor. If they are holding a shield or weapon, the damage from unarmed strikes is 1d6 + STR.
The Two-Weapon Fighting bonus action rule specifies that each of the attacks must be made with "a light melee weapon", so it doesn't apply to unarmed strikes.
But if you added a level of Monk, you'd gain the Martial Arts feature, allowing your Fighter X / Monk 1 to make a bonus action unarmed strike, so long as they aren't wearing armor or holding a shield, and used the Attack action with an unarmed strike or monk weapon. Then your Fighter could go in with both fists flying to hit for 1d8 + STR damage.
What about the play test rules that allow you to make two strikes with a light weapon in each hand as part of the same attack action? I think the monk's unarmed strikes should work the same way...2 unarmed strikes as part of the same attack action.
In short, I agree that unarmed strikes, at least from a monk, should be considered to have the light property.
What about the play test rules that allow you to make two strikes with a light weapon in each hand as part of the same attack action? I think the monk's unarmed strikes should with the same way...2 unarmed strikes as part of the same attack action.
Not relevant to the current discussion, but it might, or it might not. We'll see when a playtest for monk comes out and you can discuss it in the unearthed arcana forum.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
A fighter can deal 1d8+Strength damage with an unarmed strike if they aren't wearing armor. It says under two-weapon fighting that if you are using two light weapon attacks, you can make a second attack as a bonus action without adding your modifier. I understand that technically, unarmed strikes don't have the "light" property, but it seems counter intuitive, bordering contradictory, to say that you can stab someone with two daggers in two hands, but you can't do the same motion with your firsts.
Is there a place where this rule is clarified? Are we supposed to just bite the bullet on this, or should a DM just homebrew it at the table?
Are you confusing fighters with monks? Fighters deal 1+str damage unarmed without feats etc
And no, unarmed strikes are not weapons, don't have the light property, and don't qualify for two weapon fighting
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Specifically, a Fighter with the Unarmed Fighting fighting style can deal 1d8 + STR damage with unarmed strikes when not holding a shield or weapon - they're allowed to wear armor. If they are holding a shield or weapon, the damage from unarmed strikes is 1d6 + STR.
The Two-Weapon Fighting bonus action rule specifies that each of the attacks must be made with "a light melee weapon", so it doesn't apply to unarmed strikes.
But if you added a level of Monk, you'd gain the Martial Arts feature, allowing your Fighter X / Monk 1 to make a bonus action unarmed strike, so long as they aren't wearing armor or holding a shield, and used the Attack action with an unarmed strike or monk weapon. Then your Fighter could go in with both fists flying to hit for 1d8 + STR damage.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
What about the play test rules that allow you to make two strikes with a light weapon in each hand as part of the same attack action? I think the monk's unarmed strikes should work the same way...2 unarmed strikes as part of the same attack action.
In short, I agree that unarmed strikes, at least from a monk, should be considered to have the light property.
Not relevant to the current discussion, but it might, or it might not. We'll see when a playtest for monk comes out and you can discuss it in the unearthed arcana forum.