So im a little confused when it comes to this part of the feature.
For context im looking to cast Elemental weapon on my fighter party member so his damage rules as magical for the duration. Now where the confusion comes in, is if in combat im hit and roll a con save to maintain, what happens if i roll a nat 1? Does this mechanic over rule the failure of a nat 1 and just become a 10, or do i still fail?
Also side question, most of the dms in my group use the 10 dc con rule, so would this mean i technically never need to roll to save if i get hit? Obviously dispel magic would end it but thats not what im confused about.
Critical Misses only apply to attack rolls. Nothing else automatically fails on a natural 1, and Starry Form will treat it as a 10.
Concentration checks are a Constitution saving throw, with the DC being either 10 or half the damage you took, whichever is higher. If the enemy is hitting you for less than 22 damage at once, then you won't need to roll.
Since 1 is a roll of 9 or lower on the d20, the Dragon Starry Form would indeed replace that roll with a 10. Natural 1s don't actually have any significance in saving throws, just attack rolls.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
There's no automatic failure for Constitution saving throws to maintain your concentration as others have said. But saying nothing else does is incorrect, a natural 1 on Death Saving Throw is automatic failure.
With Dragon Starry Form, when you make a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell, you can treat a roll of 9 or lower on the d20 as a 10. Such mechanic would even work if you could auto fail on a natural 1 because it's not a bonus, but a roll changer.
So im a little confused when it comes to this part of the feature.
For context im looking to cast Elemental weapon on my fighter party member so his damage rules as magical for the duration. Now where the confusion comes in, is if in combat im hit and roll a con save to maintain, what happens if i roll a nat 1? Does this mechanic over rule the failure of a nat 1 and just become a 10, or do i still fail?
Also side question, most of the dms in my group use the 10 dc con rule, so would this mean i technically never need to roll to save if i get hit? Obviously dispel magic would end it but thats not what im confused about.
Critical Misses only apply to attack rolls. Nothing else automatically fails on a natural 1, and Starry Form will treat it as a 10.
Concentration checks are a Constitution saving throw, with the DC being either 10 or half the damage you took, whichever is higher. If the enemy is hitting you for less than 22 damage at once, then you won't need to roll.
Since 1 is a roll of 9 or lower on the d20, the Dragon Starry Form would indeed replace that roll with a 10. Natural 1s don't actually have any significance in saving throws, just attack rolls.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
With Dragon Starry Form, when you make a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell, you can treat a roll of 9 or lower on the d20 as a 10. Such mechanic would even work if you could auto fail on a natural 1 because it's not a bonus, but a roll changer.