Mounted Combatant and Evasion both give ½dam on a failed save.
So if the ridder has Mounted Combatant and the mount has Evasion then the mount would take 1/4 dam on a failed save? There is no line in any of the feats mentioning it not working with the other feat. Or am I missing something in the rules?
Mounted Combatant gives the mount, not you, 1/2 damage on the failed save. And Evasions lets you, not the mount, take 1/2 damage.
So the only way for them to be in the possibility of stacking would be if your character was using another character as a mount where the other character was a rogue with Evasion. (Hooray for gnomes riding on the shoulders of a goliath!) But that probably wouldn't be allowed.
However if it was allowed, I think the non-doubling of the same effect would apply and leave it at 1/2 damage not 1/4.
Mounted Combatant If your mount is subjected to an effect that allows it to make Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, it instead takes no damage if it succeeds on the saving throw, and only half damage if it fails.
Evasion When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail.
Both effects are identical, and just say, if you fail the DEX save you take half damage instead of full damage, as the saving throw rule normaly would allow. So, in my interpretation that is not stacking, as it just replaces the threshold of the DEX save.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Mounted Combatant and Evasion both give ½dam on a failed save.
So if the ridder has Mounted Combatant and the mount has Evasion then the mount would take 1/4 dam on a failed save?
There is no line in any of the feats mentioning it not working with the other feat.
Or am I missing something in the rules?
Mounted Combatant gives the mount, not you, 1/2 damage on the failed save. And Evasions lets you, not the mount, take 1/2 damage.
So the only way for them to be in the possibility of stacking would be if your character was using another character as a mount where the other character was a rogue with Evasion. (Hooray for gnomes riding on the shoulders of a goliath!) But that probably wouldn't be allowed.
However if it was allowed, I think the non-doubling of the same effect would apply and leave it at 1/2 damage not 1/4.
This is a signature. It was a simple signature. But it has been upgraded.
Belolonandalogalo, Sunny | Draíocht, Kholias | Eggo Lass, 100 Dungeons
Talorin Tebedi, Vecna: Eve | Cherry, Stormwreck | Chipper, Strahd
We Are Modron
Get rickrolled here. Awesome music here. Track 48, 5/23/25, Immaculate Mary
Like I sayd: Ridder with Combatant. Mount with Evasion.
But would the "doubling" then not function more like a passive Help action and give advantage on the save?
Btw TY for your answer!
Wording:
Mounted Combatant
If your mount is subjected to an effect that allows it to make Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, it instead takes no damage if it succeeds on the saving throw, and only half damage if it fails.
Evasion
When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail.
Both effects are identical, and just say, if you fail the DEX save you take half damage instead of full damage, as the saving throw rule normaly would allow. So, in my interpretation that is not stacking, as it just replaces the threshold of the DEX save.