I may be taking the descriptions too literally, but spells tend to be specific so I wanted to check on the wording on the Invisibility spells as it has changed in 5e.
For Invisibility it states "A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends." Greater Invisibility states "You or a creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends." Since the distinction is made I wanted to check to be sure. The basic invisibility still can be targeted as 'self', correct? Would seem strange that it could be cast on others but not yourself. Also both state the 'creature'. Can objects no longer be made invisible... say a sword or a chest, or can only living things be made invisible?
1: Yes, since the Range on both is Touch, it is posible to touch yourself and make yourself invisible.
2: There is wording in the spell's description: "Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person." This covers making objects invisible when the spell is cast.
2b: I would assume, for sake of argument, that an object a creature picks up while invisible will not become invisible since it was not on the person when the spell was cast.
2b addendum: Ask your DM for their specific ruling on 2b.
1: Yes, since the Range on both is Touch, it is posible to touch yourself and make yourself invisible.
2: There is wording in the spell's description: "Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person." This covers making objects invisible when the spell is cast.
2b: I would assume, for sake of argument, that an object a creature picks up while invisible will not become invisible since it was not on the person when the spell was cast.
If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.
Spell descriptions are written in present tense by default. You cast the spell, and then whatever the text says happens now unless the spell says it happens at some later time.
Thank you. For 2 that still regards objects in relation to creatures. I'm wondering if an object itself can be made invisible irrespective of a creature. For example, some things I used to do in 3.5... Cast invisibility on a rope to string across a doorway. Hide a chest in the corner by making it invisible, or make the lid of a chest invisible to see what's inside. Make a sleeping guard's weapon leaning on the wall invisible so he thinks he's unarmed.... stuff like that. Granted anything can be solved with a DM ruling and I can see (no pun intended) invisibility working on just creatures as it's illusion and may operate by affecting people's perceptions rather than making something truly invisible, but it doesn't say either way. Just wanted to get a baseline to go from.
I'm wondering if an object itself can be made invisible irrespective of a creature.
Officially, no. The spell does what it says it does, no more and no less. You can only target creatures with it, and turn objects invisible only if they're being worn or carried by the creature you touched at the time you touched them. The target specifications for spells are intentional. A DM could allow it, but it'd be a house rule.
Yah, I'll of course check with my DM. If worse comes to worse it will be good role play to have my character research a mid-level Glamer spell that's based off Transmutation rather than illusion so I can target objects. :)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I may be taking the descriptions too literally, but spells tend to be specific so I wanted to check on the wording on the Invisibility spells as it has changed in 5e.
For Invisibility it states "A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends." Greater Invisibility states "You or a creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends." Since the distinction is made I wanted to check to be sure. The basic invisibility still can be targeted as 'self', correct? Would seem strange that it could be cast on others but not yourself. Also both state the 'creature'. Can objects no longer be made invisible... say a sword or a chest, or can only living things be made invisible?
1: Yes, since the Range on both is Touch, it is posible to touch yourself and make yourself invisible.
2: There is wording in the spell's description: "Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person." This covers making objects invisible when the spell is cast.
2b: I would assume, for sake of argument, that an object a creature picks up while invisible will not become invisible since it was not on the person when the spell was cast.
2b addendum: Ask your DM for their specific ruling on 2b.
All of this is correct.
From the rules on Casting A Spell:
See also this tweet: "Only items worn/carried when invisibility is cast are invisible, but I'd let you conceal something under them."
Spell descriptions are written in present tense by default. You cast the spell, and then whatever the text says happens now unless the spell says it happens at some later time.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thank you. For 2 that still regards objects in relation to creatures. I'm wondering if an object itself can be made invisible irrespective of a creature. For example, some things I used to do in 3.5... Cast invisibility on a rope to string across a doorway. Hide a chest in the corner by making it invisible, or make the lid of a chest invisible to see what's inside. Make a sleeping guard's weapon leaning on the wall invisible so he thinks he's unarmed.... stuff like that. Granted anything can be solved with a DM ruling and I can see (no pun intended) invisibility working on just creatures as it's illusion and may operate by affecting people's perceptions rather than making something truly invisible, but it doesn't say either way. Just wanted to get a baseline to go from.
Officially, no. The spell does what it says it does, no more and no less. You can only target creatures with it, and turn objects invisible only if they're being worn or carried by the creature you touched at the time you touched them. The target specifications for spells are intentional. A DM could allow it, but it'd be a house rule.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Yah, I'll of course check with my DM. If worse comes to worse it will be good role play to have my character research a mid-level Glamer spell that's based off Transmutation rather than illusion so I can target objects. :)