I fail to find any conclusive answer to this question. I must have missed it because it is probably such a basic question.
When I am playing rogue and choose an archetype, but this is *NOT* Arcane Trickster, will I be able to cast spells using the Wood Elf Magic feature from Xanathar's Guide to Everything?
In more detail:
Do I know how to cast spells?
Do I have spell slots available? If so, how many (normal Wizard rules, or Arcane Trickster rules)?
Do I actually *learn* the spell? Is this even possible without having spell slots available?
At which level can I cast the spells when I do without using a spell slot? Does it work like charges (lowest level)?
Yup! A feat that lets you use magic has its own rules. The two spells you get from that feat for instance will let you cast them once per long rest, no spell slot required.
Aha, so I can cast them once using no spell slot, but *NOT* a second time before a long rest, because that would require a spell slot which I don't have?
Exactly. Though, I'm not sure if you could as the magic initiate limits you from casting its spells with a spell slot unless you have a level in the class. These racial feets might not be able to use any spell slotd.
If a druid takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses detect magic as their one spell, can the druid cast that spell as a ritual?
A druid’s Ritual Casting requires a ritual to be prepared. The spell from Magic Initiate is known but not prepared.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.
In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
So far none of the racial traits or racial feats in the game associate the spells they give you with a class.
Thanks. Actually, if I compare Wood Elf Magic with Magic Initiate, the wording suggests similar usage. Magic Initiate explicitly says you can cast the 1st level spell at it's lowest level, which is also the case for charges and spells from items. This way, to me it suggests you don't need any Spell Slots for either feat, since cantrips are also slot-free. The wording for both feats thus could be intepreted as a clever way to avoid having to deal with non-spellcaster classes casting spells. This is the summarized wording for both (pretty similar if you ask me):
Magic Initiate You learn two cantrips of your choice from class X's spell list You learn one 1st-level spell from class X's spell list and can cast it at its lowest level (without expending a spell slot?) Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on X (the class you chose)
Wood Elf Magic You learn one druid cantrip of your choice You learn the Longstrider and Pass without Trace spells, each of which you can cast once without expending a spell slot (lowest level) Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for all three spells
Yes, you don't need a spell slot to cast the 1st level spell from Magic Initiate. "Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat" makes it clear the feat is enabling you to cast it. The fact that it mentions "at its lowest level" is another clue.
I fail to find any conclusive answer to this question. I must have missed it because it is probably such a basic question.
When I am playing rogue and choose an archetype, but this is *NOT* Arcane Trickster, will I be able to cast spells using the Wood Elf Magic feature from Xanathar's Guide to Everything?
In more detail:
Thanks in advance!
Yup! A feat that lets you use magic has its own rules. The two spells you get from that feat for instance will let you cast them once per long rest, no spell slot required.
Aha, so I can cast them once using no spell slot, but *NOT* a second time before a long rest, because that would require a spell slot which I don't have?
Exactly. Though, I'm not sure if you could as the magic initiate limits you from casting its spells with a spell slot unless you have a level in the class. These racial feets might not be able to use any spell slotd.
Spell slots are a class feature. You have to use your class's Spellcasting or Pact Magic rules to cast a spell using spell slots, which means:
See Sage Advice Compendium:
So far none of the racial traits or racial feats in the game associate the spells they give you with a class.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thanks. Actually, if I compare Wood Elf Magic with Magic Initiate, the wording suggests similar usage. Magic Initiate explicitly says you can cast the 1st level spell at it's lowest level, which is also the case for charges and spells from items. This way, to me it suggests you don't need any Spell Slots for either feat, since cantrips are also slot-free. The wording for both feats thus could be intepreted as a clever way to avoid having to deal with non-spellcaster classes casting spells. This is the summarized wording for both (pretty similar if you ask me):
Magic Initiate
You learn two cantrips of your choice from class X's spell list
You learn one 1st-level spell from class X's spell list and can cast it at its lowest level (without expending a spell slot?)
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on X (the class you chose)
Wood Elf Magic
You learn one druid cantrip of your choice
You learn the Longstrider and Pass without Trace spells, each of which you can cast once without expending a spell slot (lowest level)
Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for all three spells
Yes, you don't need a spell slot to cast the 1st level spell from Magic Initiate. "Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat" makes it clear the feat is enabling you to cast it. The fact that it mentions "at its lowest level" is another clue.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Great, thanks guys/girls. That makes it all clear for me. I didn't know about the learning/prep difference too!