Alright let’s try it. I have 2 hand crossbows. Crossbow A and Crossbow B.
I start my turn holding Crossbow A in my right hand. • I cast Eldritch Blast with my left hand. • Then I Draw Crossbow B with my left hand and fire it as my extra attack. • Then I fire Crossbow A as my bonus action attack. • Finally I stow Crossbow B using my free object interaction so I can repeat the entire sequence next turn.
Can we agree/confirm that this works?
The issue I have with this sequence is the distinction between an Attack action and a Magic action - I don't think you can cast a spell with a casting time of "1 action" and make a weapon attack on the same turn.
Magic: Cast a spell, use a magic item, or use a magical feature.
So if you get 2 attacks per action, that's 2 weapon attacks - even if the spell deals damage it's considered a magic action NOT an attack action. As suck, Eldritch Blast would be a magic action and therefore negates you making a weapon attack immediately following, and therefore also negates the weapon attack as a Bonus Action.
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
@XavierWindswallow take into account @Jaymezz149 was using a level 6 Bladesinger for that example, and those Wizards have this feature:
Extra Attack Starting at 6th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
@XavierWindswallow take into account @Jaymezz149 was using a level 6 Bladesinger for that example, and those Wizards have this feature:
Extra Attack Starting at 6th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
Ah, sorry, I missed that part.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Dexterity 13+)
You gain the following benefits.
Ability Score Increase. Increase your Dexterity score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Ignore Loading. You ignore the Loading property of the Hand Crossbow, Heavy Crossbow, and Light Crossbow (all called crossbows elsewhere in this feat). If you’re holding one of them, you can load a piece of ammunition into it even if you lack a free hand.
Firing in Melee. Being within 5 feet of an enemy doesn’t impose Disadvantage on your attack rolls with crossbows.
Dual Wielding. When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the extra attack if that attack is with a crossbow that has the Light property and you aren’t already adding that modifier to the damage.
You are ignoring the load property, so you can use the crossbow for any extra attacks you get on your attack action.
If you're using a crossbow with the "Light" property - which is currently only the hand crossbow:
Light
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don’t add your ability modifier to the extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don’t add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
This will allow you to use a 2nd weapon for a Bonus attack AND Crossbow Expert will allow you to add your attribute bonus to damage on that extra attack.
This seems to apply mostly to dual hand crossbows most easily and will allow you to use all of your attacks with the first hand crossbow and then a bonus attack with the 2nd.
A Light Crossbow actually does not have the light property and will not qualify for the extra attack of the Light property.
Add Sharpshooter and you basically ignore all but full cover and can attack up to full weapon range without disadvantage:
Sharpshooter
General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Dexterity 13+)
You gain the following benefits.
Ability Score Increase. Increase your Dexterity score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Firing in Melee. Being within 5 feet of an enemy doesn’t impose Disadvantage on your attack rolls with Ranged weapons.
Long Shots. Attacking at long range doesn’t impose Disadvantage on your attack rolls with Ranged weapons.
I believe this will only work with 2 hand crossbows, you need the main hand that has the extra attack to have the Light property. If you also have a hand crossbow in your offhand, you can make a bonus attack due to Light property and add your ability modifier to damage thanks to crossbow expert. I see two weapon combos for this, either wielding both or swapping:
Hand Crossbow + Hand Crossbow
Could you use a Light crossbow in the offhand for the bonus attack assuming you use the stow and draw method. Take all your attack actions attacks including the extra attacks with the hand crossbow then swap to light crossbow? Otherwise, this feels like a dual hand crossbow thing. Maybe you could go hand crossbow with a shield and have a custom mount for a second hand crossbow on the shield. That could look cool by firing the first, stowing it and drawing a 2nd from the back of the shield. You could use a Dagger in the offhand for the bonus attack, but you won't get your attribute to damage without another feat, crossbow expert only lets you add that when it's a crossbow specfically....anyway, just wondering where I went wrong in this.
it used to only work with 1 hand crossbow. People cried. Now you can only do it with 2 hand crossbows. I cry.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
I believe this will only work with 2 hand crossbows, you need the main hand that has the extra attack to have the Light property. If you also have a hand crossbow in your offhand, you can make a bonus attack due to Light property and add your ability modifier to damage thanks to crossbow expert. I see two weapon combos for this, either wielding both or swapping:
Hand Crossbow + Hand Crossbow
Could you use a Light crossbow in the offhand for the bonus attack assuming you use the stow and draw method. Take all your attack actions attacks including the extra attacks with the hand crossbow then swap to light crossbow? Otherwise, this feels like a dual hand crossbow thing. Maybe you could go hand crossbow with a shield and have a custom mount for a second hand crossbow on the shield. That could look cool by firing the first, stowing it and drawing a 2nd from the back of the shield. You could use a Dagger in the offhand for the bonus attack, but you won't get your attribute to damage without another feat, crossbow expert only lets you add that when it's a crossbow specfically....anyway, just wondering where I went wrong in this.
I know that strictly RAW is a valid move to start the Attack action with a hand crossbow and then swapping to a second crossbow for the Bonus Action attack, but in my opinion, to gain the extra attack as a Bonus Action, you should already be Dual Wielding two Light weapons (in this case, two hand crossbows) when you start the Attack action.
Maybe an updated SAC or a clarification via errata in the rules would help us to understand the intent.
As far as I understand the "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons" rule, you cannot swap weapons as part of a bonus action attack because it's not part of the Attack action.
---
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
I was curious about this and finally have the answer. The fundamental point of confusion is that the concepts of 1) "taking the attack action", and 2) "taking the attack action during the main action phase of your turn" are often conflated, however they are different concepts.
The Light property says, "When you take the Attack action on your turn..." Why would they write "on your turn" unless you can take the Attack action at other times?
Indeed, you can take the Attack [Action] at 3 distinct times:
The "Main Action" aka Action: "On your turn, you can take one action."
The Bonus Action: "a special action that you can take", barring appropriate qualifications.
The Reaction: "a special action taken...", such as when we make an opportunity attack; another qualification.
All three of these mean you are taking the Attack action. It doesn't matter when it's taken, the same rules apply, including the ability to equip or unequip on each attack.
Similarly, you can take the Disengage [Action] during the Main Action, and some classes can take it as a Bonus Action. It's still the Disengage action, and all qualities of the disengage action apply. Actions are always actions. They don't stop being actions if they are not performed as the Main Action. Rogue Level 2 Cunning Action defines when the actions can be taken "On your turn you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action", and the glossary defines what those actions are. There's a clear separation of when and what for actions in the PHB.
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a Hand Crossbow and then fire it again as a Bonus Action?
The Crossbow Expert feat allows you to fire a Hand Crossbow multiple times on your turn. But you still must abide by the rules of the Hand Crossbow’s Light property, which state that the property’s additional attack must be made with a different weapon.
So, two hand crossbows, Crossbow Expert, and a shield (or free casting hand) at levels 1-4:
Main Action, Crossbow A in hand: (Load), Attack, Stow
Bonus Action, Crossbow B: Draw, (Load), Attack
At level 5:
Main Action, Crossbow A: Draw, (Load), Attack
Extra Attack, Crossbow A: (Load), Attack, Stow
Bonus Action, Crossbow B: Draw, (Load), Attack
Crossbow Expert ignores Loading and neutralizes Ammunition loading without a freehand. Two crossbows meet the Light requirements.
Indeed, you can take the Attack [Action] at 3 distinct times:
The "Main Action" aka Action: "On your turn, you can take one action."
The Bonus Action: "a special action that you can take", barring appropriate qualifications.
The Reaction: "a special action taken...", such as when we make an opportunity attack; another qualification.
All three of these mean you are taking the Attack action. It doesn't matter when it's taken, the same rules apply, including the ability to equip or unequip on each attack.
When you take a Bonus Action or Reaction to attack, you aren't taking Attack action unless noted otherwise.
For exemple, as a Rogue using Cunning Action you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action: Dash, Disengage, or Hide.
As this Sage Advice say: "just because something involves an attack roll doesn’t mean the Attack action is being used."
Can a spell with an attack roll be used as the attack in the Attack action or as part of the Extra Attack feature?
No. As explained in the Player’s Handbook, you can take one action on your turn in combat, in addition to moving. You choose your action from the options available to everyone—options such as Attack, Dash, and Magic—or you choose from among the special actions you’ve gained from a class or another source.
To cast a spell on your turn, you take the Magic action. Doing so means you’re not taking the Attack action or any other action. It is true that a number of spells, such as Fire Bolt and Ray of Frost, involve making an attack roll, but you can’t make such an attack without first casting the spell that delivers it. In other words, just because something involves an attack roll doesn’t mean the Attack action is being used.
By extension, the Extra Attack feature (given by several classes, including the Fighter and Paladin) doesn’t let you cast extra attack spells. That feature specifically relies on the Attack action, not the Magic action or any other action.
In summary, to make a spell attack, you have to first cast a spell or use a feature that creates the spell’s effect. A game feature, such as Extra Attack, that lets you make an attack doesn’t let you cast a spell unless it says it does.
Regardless of the above nuance, the 2024 Sage Advice Compendium has clarified that equipping during the Bonus Action attack of the Light property is allowed, which gives further weight to my interpretation above. The answer conveys the main/other hand doesn't matter, weapon mastery (ie Nick) doesn't matter, Main Action/Bonus Action doesn't matter. The only thing that matters is 1) it's a different weapon and 2) it's done on your turn (not as a Reaction) as per Light rules.
Can I make an attack with a Light weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to make the extra attack of the Light property?
Yes. The only requirement for the Light property’s extra attack is that it’s made with a different Light weapon.
You can't equip or unequip a weapon before or after an attack as a Bonus Action.
The SAC clarifies you don't need to have both weapons equipped before taking the Attack action. You can for example equip another weapon after attacking during the Attack Action, equip before attacking with one via Nick Mastery, draw one before making a ranged attack etc...
Regardless of the above nuance, the 2024 Sage Advice Compendium has clarified that equipping during the Bonus Action attack of the Light property is allowed, which gives further weight to my interpretation above. The answer conveys the main/other hand doesn't matter, weapon mastery (ie Nick) doesn't matter, Main Action/Bonus Action doesn't matter. The only thing that matters is 1) it's a different weapon and 2) it's done on your turn (not as a Reaction) as per Light rules.
Can I make an attack with a Light weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to make the extra attack of the Light property?
Yes. The only requirement for the Light property’s extra attack is that it’s made with a different Light weapon.
You can't equip or unequip a weapon before or after an attack as a Bonus Action.
The SAC clarifies you don't need to have both weapons equipped before taking the Attack action. You can for example equip another weapon after attacking during the Attack Action, equip before attacking with one via Nick Mastery, draw one before making a ranged attack etc...
The SAC answer doesn't mention nick or shenanigans with drawing at the end of your attack action, and the light property attack is a bonus action. That seems pretty clear SAC thinks you can draw a weapon as part of a bonus action attack.
When you take a Bonus Action or Reaction to attack, you aren't taking Attack action unless noted otherwise.
For exemple, as a Rogue using Cunning Action you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action: Dash, Disengage, or Hide.
When you take "one of the following actions"? An Action (Main/Bonus/Reaction) is different from an action (Dash/Disengage/Hide). Conflating these words is an oversight of the designers. The glossary defines the qualities of the actions. The Cunning Action ability defines when they can be taken.
> When you take a Bonus Action or Reaction to attack, you aren't taking Attack action unless noted otherwise.
Do you have an official source or SAC link that says this exactly? I'd like to read more. The provided link does not state that, this is an inference, an interpretation.
> As this Sage Advice say: "just because something involves an attack roll doesn’t mean the Attack action is being used."
Indeed, it is not always the case. Extra Attack clearly states the extra attack roll is an extension of the Attack action, not a new Attack action. The Magic action (as an attack) is clearly not the Attack action. However, the "Main Action", Bonus Action, and Reaction all specify taking an action; maybe special, or qualified, but nevertheless an action. And the list of available actions are spelled out, exactly as you provided in your comment. Taking the Dash action as a Bonus Action is still taking the Dash action. When you take it doesn't change the rules of Dash; unless qualified in those rules as in Light where it states "on your turn".
Bonus Action or Reaction are special actions, not the main action, you're mixing different ressources here which aren't interchangeable. See this Sage Advice ruling for example;
Can a Bonus Action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a Bard use a Bonus Action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast Healing Word?
Regardless of the above nuance, the 2024 Sage Advice Compendium has clarified that equipping during the Bonus Action attack of the Light property is allowed, which gives further weight to my interpretation above. The answer conveys the main/other hand doesn't matter, weapon mastery (ie Nick) doesn't matter, Main Action/Bonus Action doesn't matter. The only thing that matters is 1) it's a different weapon and 2) it's done on your turn (not as a Reaction) as per Light rules.
Can I make an attack with a Light weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to make the extra attack of the Light property?
Yes. The only requirement for the Light property’s extra attack is that it’s made with a different Light weapon.
You can't equip or unequip a weapon before or after an attack as a Bonus Action.
The SAC clarifies you don't need to have both weapons equipped before taking the Attack action. You can for example equip another weapon after attacking during the Attack Action, equip before attacking with one via Nick Mastery, draw one before making a ranged attack etc...
The SAC answer doesn't mention nick or shenanigans with drawing at the end of your attack action, and the light property attack is a bonus action. That seems pretty clear SAC thinks you can draw a weapon as part of a bonus action attack.
Not because SAC doesn't mention how its done that it means you can equip a weapon during a Bonus Action later in the turn.
You could also do it as a Free Object Interaction.
As far as I understand the "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons" rule, you cannot swap weapons as part of a bonus action attack because it's not part of the Attack action.
---
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
I was curious about this and finally have the answer. The fundamental point of confusion is that the concepts of 1) "taking the attack action", and 2) "taking the attack action during the main action phase of your turn" are often conflated, however they are different concepts.
The Light property says, "When you take the Attack action on your turn..." Why would they write "on your turn" unless you can take the Attack action at other times?
Indeed, you can take the Attack [Action] at 3 distinct times:
The "Main Action" aka Action: "On your turn, you can take one action."
The Bonus Action: "a special action that you can take", barring appropriate qualifications.
The Reaction: "a special action taken...", such as when we make an opportunity attack; another qualification.
All three of these mean you are taking the Attack action. It doesn't matter when it's taken, the same rules apply, including the ability to equip or unequip on each attack.
Similarly, you can take the Disengage [Action] during the Main Action, and some classes can take it as a Bonus Action. It's still the Disengage action, and all qualities of the disengage action apply. Actions are always actions. They don't stop being actions if they are not performed as the Main Action. Rogue Level 2 Cunning Action defines when the actions can be taken "On your turn you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action", and the glossary defines what those actions are. There's a clear separation of when and what for actions in the PHB.
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a Hand Crossbow and then fire it again as a Bonus Action?
The Crossbow Expert feat allows you to fire a Hand Crossbow multiple times on your turn. But you still must abide by the rules of the Hand Crossbow’s Light property, which state that the property’s additional attack must be made with a different weapon.
So, two hand crossbows, Crossbow Expert, and a shield (or free casting hand) at levels 1-4:
Main Action, Crossbow A in hand: (Load), Attack, Stow
Bonus Action, Crossbow B: Draw, (Load), Attack
At level 5:
Main Action, Crossbow A: Draw, (Load), Attack
Extra Attack, Crossbow A: (Load), Attack, Stow
Bonus Action, Crossbow B: Draw, (Load), Attack
Crossbow Expert ignores Loading and neutralizes Ammunition loading without a freehand. Two crossbows meet the Light requirements.
Can you get the crossbow feat before level 4 with 2024 rules?
A Bonus Action is an additional action, and a Reaction is a special action. Both are different from the game's main actions (the named ones)
Moving between Attacks is part of the Attack action, so it doesn't apply to a Reaction or a Bonus Action. It's the same reasoning for Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. It's something extra you can do as part of the Attackaction, in addition to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule. It doesn't apply to a Reaction or a Bonus Action.
This is a summary about equipping or drawing, and unequipping or sheathing weapons while attacking with them using the 2024 PHB rules:
- The Attack action lets you equip or unequip one weapon once per attack as part of the Attack action. So if you have more than one attack, you can take advantage of that. - The Ammunition property lets you draw the ammunition as part of the attack itself (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). This isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or Reaction. - The Thrown property lets you draw the weapon you're using for a ranged attack as part of the attack itself. And again, not necessarily as part of the Attack action.
In addition to the previous interactions:
- The Dual Wielder feat lets you draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one. - Following the Time-Limited Object Interactions and Interacting with Things rules, you can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. The interaction could be drawing or stowing a weapon. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action.
Attack Action [Revised Rule] The Attack action contains several revisions:
- The action now specifies that it involves an attack with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike. - The action now allows you to equip or unequip one weapon with each attack you make with the action. - The ability to move between attacks during com-at is now a function of the Attack action rather than a general rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My concern is about the word "different" in light property.
Is it about a different weapon in name our a second weapon ? I mean, 2 hand crossbow are different object but the same type/named weapon.
It's about different physical objects, even if they share the same name in the game. So you're good with two Light Crossbows, for example.
So, a champion with benefit a lot of the vex option to crit.
Cool. Thanks.
The issue I have with this sequence is the distinction between an Attack action and a Magic action - I don't think you can cast a spell with a casting time of "1 action" and make a weapon attack on the same turn.
The definitions of the Actions read:
Attack: Attack with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike.
Magic: Cast a spell, use a magic item, or use a magical feature.
So if you get 2 attacks per action, that's 2 weapon attacks - even if the spell deals damage it's considered a magic action NOT an attack action. As suck, Eldritch Blast would be a magic action and therefore negates you making a weapon attack immediately following, and therefore also negates the weapon attack as a Bonus Action.
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
@XavierWindswallow take into account @Jaymezz149 was using a level 6 Bladesinger for that example, and those Wizards have this feature:
Ah, sorry, I missed that part.
"...at worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."
Crossbows:
For Crossbow Expert:
I believe this will only work with 2 hand crossbows, you need the main hand that has the extra attack to have the Light property. If you also have a hand crossbow in your offhand, you can make a bonus attack due to Light property and add your ability modifier to damage thanks to crossbow expert. I see two weapon combos for this, either wielding both or swapping:
Could you use a Light crossbow in the offhand for the bonus attack assuming you use the stow and draw method. Take all your attack actions attacks including the extra attacks with the hand crossbow then swap to light crossbow? Otherwise, this feels like a dual hand crossbow thing. Maybe you could go hand crossbow with a shield and have a custom mount for a second hand crossbow on the shield. That could look cool by firing the first, stowing it and drawing a 2nd from the back of the shield. You could use a Dagger in the offhand for the bonus attack, but you won't get your attribute to damage without another feat, crossbow expert only lets you add that when it's a crossbow specfically....anyway, just wondering where I went wrong in this.
it used to only work with 1 hand crossbow. People cried. Now you can only do it with 2 hand crossbows. I cry.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
I know that strictly RAW is a valid move to start the Attack action with a hand crossbow and then swapping to a second crossbow for the Bonus Action attack, but in my opinion, to gain the extra attack as a Bonus Action, you should already be Dual Wielding two Light weapons (in this case, two hand crossbows) when you start the Attack action.
Maybe an updated SAC or a clarification via errata in the rules would help us to understand the intent.
I was curious about this and finally have the answer. The fundamental point of confusion is that the concepts of 1) "taking the attack action", and 2) "taking the attack action during the main action phase of your turn" are often conflated, however they are different concepts.
The Light property says, "When you take the Attack action on your turn..." Why would they write "on your turn" unless you can take the Attack action at other times?
Indeed, you can take the Attack [Action] at 3 distinct times:
All three of these mean you are taking the Attack action. It doesn't matter when it's taken, the same rules apply, including the ability to equip or unequip on each attack.
Similarly, you can take the Disengage [Action] during the Main Action, and some classes can take it as a Bonus Action. It's still the Disengage action, and all qualities of the disengage action apply. Actions are always actions. They don't stop being actions if they are not performed as the Main Action. Rogue Level 2 Cunning Action defines when the actions can be taken "On your turn you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action", and the glossary defines what those actions are. There's a clear separation of when and what for actions in the PHB.
The 2024 Sage Advice Compendium adds this comment:
And this comment:
So, two hand crossbows, Crossbow Expert, and a shield (or free casting hand) at levels 1-4:
At level 5:
Crossbow Expert ignores Loading and neutralizes Ammunition loading without a freehand. Two crossbows meet the Light requirements.
When you take a Bonus Action or Reaction to attack, you aren't taking Attack action unless noted otherwise.
For exemple, as a Rogue using Cunning Action you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action: Dash, Disengage, or Hide.
As this Sage Advice say: "just because something involves an attack roll doesn’t mean the Attack action is being used."
You can't equip or unequip a weapon before or after an attack as a Bonus Action.
The SAC clarifies you don't need to have both weapons equipped before taking the Attack action. You can for example equip another weapon after attacking during the Attack Action, equip before attacking with one via Nick Mastery, draw one before making a ranged attack etc...
The SAC answer doesn't mention nick or shenanigans with drawing at the end of your attack action, and the light property attack is a bonus action. That seems pretty clear SAC thinks you can draw a weapon as part of a bonus action attack.
When you take "one of the following actions"? An Action (Main/Bonus/Reaction) is different from an action (Dash/Disengage/Hide). Conflating these words is an oversight of the designers. The glossary defines the qualities of the actions. The Cunning Action ability defines when they can be taken.
> When you take a Bonus Action or Reaction to attack, you aren't taking Attack action unless noted otherwise.
Do you have an official source or SAC link that says this exactly? I'd like to read more. The provided link does not state that, this is an inference, an interpretation.
> As this Sage Advice say: "just because something involves an attack roll doesn’t mean the Attack action is being used."
Indeed, it is not always the case. Extra Attack clearly states the extra attack roll is an extension of the Attack action, not a new Attack action. The Magic action (as an attack) is clearly not the Attack action. However, the "Main Action", Bonus Action, and Reaction all specify taking an action; maybe special, or qualified, but nevertheless an action. And the list of available actions are spelled out, exactly as you provided in your comment. Taking the Dash action as a Bonus Action is still taking the Dash action. When you take it doesn't change the rules of Dash; unless qualified in those rules as in Light where it states "on your turn".
Bonus Action or Reaction are special actions, not the main action, you're mixing different ressources here which aren't interchangeable. See this Sage Advice ruling for example;
Not because SAC doesn't mention how its done that it means you can equip a weapon during a Bonus Action later in the turn.
You could also do it as a Free Object Interaction.
Can you get the crossbow feat before level 4 with 2024 rules?
Plaguescarred is right.
A Bonus Action is an additional action, and a Reaction is a special action. Both are different from the game's main actions (the named ones)
Moving between Attacks is part of the Attack action, so it doesn't apply to a Reaction or a Bonus Action. It's the same reasoning for Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. It's something extra you can do as part of the Attack action, in addition to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule. It doesn't apply to a Reaction or a Bonus Action.
This is a summary about equipping or drawing, and unequipping or sheathing weapons while attacking with them using the 2024 PHB rules:
- The Attack action lets you equip or unequip one weapon once per attack as part of the Attack action. So if you have more than one attack, you can take advantage of that.
- The Ammunition property lets you draw the ammunition as part of the attack itself (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). This isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or Reaction.
- The Thrown property lets you draw the weapon you're using for a ranged attack as part of the attack itself. And again, not necessarily as part of the Attack action.
In addition to the previous interactions:
- The Dual Wielder feat lets you draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
- Following the Time-Limited Object Interactions and Interacting with Things rules, you can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. The interaction could be drawing or stowing a weapon. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action.
It's also explained in the Converting to System Reference Document 5.2.1. Bonus Action or Reactions are not mentioned, only the Attack action.