When you take "one of the following actions"? An Action (Main/Bonus/Reaction) is different from an action (Dash/Disengage/Hide). Conflating these words is an oversight of the designers. The glossary defines the qualities of the actions. The Cunning Action ability defines when they can be taken.
> When you take a Bonus Action or Reaction to attack, you aren't taking Attack action unless noted otherwise.
Do you have an official source or SAC link that says this exactly? I'd like to read more. The provided link does not state that, this is an inference, an interpretation.
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a Bonus Action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a Rogue to take a Bonus Action. You can take a Bonus Action only when a special ability, a spell, or another feature of the game states that you can do something as a Bonus Action. You otherwise don’t have a Bonus Action to take.
Emphasis added.
Reactions are less explicit, but it is almost the same. Everyone has access to the Opportunity Attack Reaction and the Reaction from the Ready Action.
Action lists the standard actions available to all characters. Anything in that list is not available as a Bonus Action or a Reaction unless a feature says it is. It is all in the Actions section of Playing the Game.
> You can't equip or unequip a weapon before or after an attack as a Bonus Action.
That is an interpretation of the Attack "action", but not clear at all or spelled out, RAW. I think it's a misinterpretation. I laid out a case for a different interpretation that I think is more accurate and more supported by the text, as I will expand on here.
> Bonus Action or Reaction are special actions, not the main action
Yes, they are not the Main Action. They are events during a turn in which one can perform an "action" (Attack, Disengage, Hide), if qualified.
> you're mixing different ressources here which aren't interchangeable. See this Sage Advice ruling for example;
I have not mixed them. That particular SAC does discuss my point. I never suggested swapping "Action events", ie the Main Action or Bonus Action. Some spells are qualified to the Bonus Action phase of a turn. That's a quality of the spell, not the Magic action, which can be performed during either the Main Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction (with war caster).
The mixing is done by several of you folk, who are conflating an Action with an action, understandably because the PHB poorly chose to give them a similar name. But it uses them differently, cases them differently, and defines them differently. It uses "Action" when it should call it "Main Action", and uses "action" to refer to the available tasks that can be performed. Rarely it uses "action" at the beginning of a sentence or in a header, which capitalizes it, but it doesn't mean Main Action based on the context.
Disengage is an action. It is neither the Main Action of the turn, nor the Bonus Action, but it can be performed during either event, qualified. The same rules apply to the action, regardless of when it is taken. So, the same rules of the Attack action apply regardless of when taken. That rule specifically says you can equip/unequip during "this action" - that is, the Attack "action" currently being performed, regardless of which "Action" event it's occurring on (Main/Bonus/Reaction).
Light, Extra Attack and 17 instances in the PHB specifically say When you take "the Attack action on your turn". Clearly implying that one can take the Attack action not on your turn, meaning on a Reaction (opportunity attack).
Attack doesn't say "the attack action on your turn". Why not? It could have. The PHB has it 17 times! What's one more? It also doesn't specifically exclude Bonus Actions, when it could. Answer: Because Attack does not exclude Bonus Actions or Reactions. All of the qualities of the Attack action apply, regardless of when it is performed. Exactly the same as the Disengage action, and all other actions.
Attack [Action]
When you take the Attack action,...
Action should be called Main Action. Here it clearly differentiates between the "Action" (Main Action) - the whole section, and the one "action" you can take from any of the "actions" in the list.
Action
On your turn, you can take one action. Choose which action to take from those below or from the special actions provided by your features. See also “Playing the Game” (“Actions”). These actions are defined elsewhere in this glossary:
Try considering that "Action" and "action" are two different things for a moment. Then look through the book with these eyes and see how often "Action" and "action" are used differently from each other.
So far, no one in this thread has provided a clear, direct quote from SAC, PHB, or errata that says that the Attack action is limited to the Main Action, whereas I provided 17 quotes showing it is not. Nor that equipping could not be done on a Bonus/Reaction Attack action, whereas I've made a clear logic case: if the Disengage rules work on a Bonus, the Attack rules do as well.
Does anyone have a clear, sourced rebuttal, that doesn't rely on the conflation of "Action" and "action"?
I don't see contradiction, if you don't conflate Action and action. Thrown - drawing is redundant with Attack and could be removed. Ammunition - drawing is a necessary, relevant, additional rule since ammunition that isn't granted by Attack.
Character77006 Can you get the crossbow feat before level 4 with 2024 rules?
No, sorry, I corrected it to just "level 4". Thanks.
I think you missed my point. Nothing you wrote contradicts what I wrote. I didn't suggest you can always take a Bonus Action, or use all actions during a Bonus Action. Each spell, or action has qualifications. My point is that Actions and actions are different. If you're qualified to take them, you can do so at different times.
Playing The Game:
Emphasis added.
Reactions are less explicit, but it is almost the same. Everyone has access to the Opportunity Attack Reaction and the Reaction from the Ready Action.
Action lists the standard actions available to all characters. Anything in that list is not available as a Bonus Action or a Reaction unless a feature says it is. It is all in the Actions section of Playing the Game.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
> You can't equip or unequip a weapon before or after an attack as a Bonus Action.
That is an interpretation of the Attack "action", but not clear at all or spelled out, RAW. I think it's a misinterpretation. I laid out a case for a different interpretation that I think is more accurate and more supported by the text, as I will expand on here.
> Bonus Action or Reaction are special actions, not the main action
Yes, they are not the Main Action. They are events during a turn in which one can perform an "action" (Attack, Disengage, Hide), if qualified.
> you're mixing different ressources here which aren't interchangeable. See this Sage Advice ruling for example;
I have not mixed them. That particular SAC does discuss my point. I never suggested swapping "Action events", ie the Main Action or Bonus Action. Some spells are qualified to the Bonus Action phase of a turn. That's a quality of the spell, not the Magic action, which can be performed during either the Main Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction (with war caster).
The mixing is done by several of you folk, who are conflating an Action with an action, understandably because the PHB poorly chose to give them a similar name. But it uses them differently, cases them differently, and defines them differently. It uses "Action" when it should call it "Main Action", and uses "action" to refer to the available tasks that can be performed. Rarely it uses "action" at the beginning of a sentence or in a header, which capitalizes it, but it doesn't mean Main Action based on the context.
Disengage is an action. It is neither the Main Action of the turn, nor the Bonus Action, but it can be performed during either event, qualified. The same rules apply to the action, regardless of when it is taken. So, the same rules of the Attack action apply regardless of when taken. That rule specifically says you can equip/unequip during "this action" - that is, the Attack "action" currently being performed, regardless of which "Action" event it's occurring on (Main/Bonus/Reaction).
Light, Extra Attack and 17 instances in the PHB specifically say When you take "the Attack action on your turn". Clearly implying that one can take the Attack action not on your turn, meaning on a Reaction (opportunity attack).
Attack doesn't say "the attack action on your turn". Why not? It could have. The PHB has it 17 times! What's one more? It also doesn't specifically exclude Bonus Actions, when it could. Answer: Because Attack does not exclude Bonus Actions or Reactions. All of the qualities of the Attack action apply, regardless of when it is performed. Exactly the same as the Disengage action, and all other actions.
Action should be called Main Action. Here it clearly differentiates between the "Action" (Main Action) - the whole section, and the one "action" you can take from any of the "actions" in the list.
Try considering that "Action" and "action" are two different things for a moment. Then look through the book with these eyes and see how often "Action" and "action" are used differently from each other.
So far, no one in this thread has provided a clear, direct quote from SAC, PHB, or errata that says that the Attack action is limited to the Main Action, whereas I provided 17 quotes showing it is not. Nor that equipping could not be done on a Bonus/Reaction Attack action, whereas I've made a clear logic case: if the Disengage rules work on a Bonus, the Attack rules do as well.
Does anyone have a clear, sourced rebuttal, that doesn't rely on the conflation of "Action" and "action"?
------------
TarodNet
I don't see contradiction, if you don't conflate Action and action. Thrown - drawing is redundant with Attack and could be removed. Ammunition - drawing is a necessary, relevant, additional rule since ammunition that isn't granted by Attack.
Character77006 Can you get the crossbow feat before level 4 with 2024 rules?
No, sorry, I corrected it to just "level 4". Thanks.
SmiteMakesRight_3_5 Re: Bonus Action
I think you missed my point. Nothing you wrote contradicts what I wrote. I didn't suggest you can always take a Bonus Action, or use all actions during a Bonus Action. Each spell, or action has qualifications. My point is that Actions and actions are different. If you're qualified to take them, you can do so at different times.