I am seeking confirmation on the current restriction to casting multiple leveled spells in a single turn. The 2024 PHB reads as follows:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
My interpretation is that there is no prohibition against using a magic action to cast a spell via a magic item or scroll and then use one's bonus action to cast a known spell using a spell slot (e.g., misty step). Text appearing in the same section of the PHB under the heading "Casting without Slots" would seem to support this interpretation.
That is correct. With the 2024 rules the only limitation - outside specific cases like Sorcerer's Twinned Spell - is that you can only use one spell slot per turn. This puts casting a spell through a magic item - such as a scroll - and casting a spell using a spell slot in the same turn on the table.
It also creates some rather interesting interactions, and limits some things that used to be common place. For example, you can no longer cast a spell (with a spell slot), have it Counterspelled, and then use your Reaction to Counterspell that Counterspell (with a spell slot, at least; if you have a Counterspell spell scroll then you can.)
Another interesting tidbit is that monsters and NPCs in the new Monster Manual (and several of the more recently published non-core books) do not use spell slots. Instead, their spells are either at will, or limited to a specific number of uses per day. Given that, a monster can cast multiple spells in a turn, provided they have spells that use the right actions. Given this, a monster can still cast a spell, have it Counterspelled, and use their reaction to Counterspell that Counterspell.
I am seeking confirmation on the current restriction to casting multiple leveled spells in a single turn. The 2024 PHB reads as follows:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
My interpretation is that there is no prohibition against using a magic action to cast a spell via a magic item or scroll and then use one's bonus action to cast a known spell using a spell slot (e.g., misty step). Text appearing in the same section of the PHB under the heading "Casting without Slots" would seem to support this interpretation.
Is this correct?
That is correct. With the 2024 rules the only limitation - outside specific cases like Sorcerer's Twinned Spell - is that you can only use one spell slot per turn. This puts casting a spell through a magic item - such as a scroll - and casting a spell using a spell slot in the same turn on the table.
It also creates some rather interesting interactions, and limits some things that used to be common place. For example, you can no longer cast a spell (with a spell slot), have it Counterspelled, and then use your Reaction to Counterspell that Counterspell (with a spell slot, at least; if you have a Counterspell spell scroll then you can.)
Another interesting tidbit is that monsters and NPCs in the new Monster Manual (and several of the more recently published non-core books) do not use spell slots. Instead, their spells are either at will, or limited to a specific number of uses per day. Given that, a monster can cast multiple spells in a turn, provided they have spells that use the right actions. Given this, a monster can still cast a spell, have it Counterspelled, and use their reaction to Counterspell that Counterspell.
Fun stuff.
@Xeyd Yes, you're right.
EDIT: ups, I just realized @Jaysburn ninja’d me!
Well, I'll use this edit to recommend some relevant threads about this topic to @Xeyd: