So a player in my campaign was wondering if he could use a spell from an item for the Spell Glyph feature. It says it has to be a prepared spell, but I wasn’t 100% sure if casting a spell from a wand would count (I.e. using a wand of Web)
RAW, no. You have to have the spell prepared to put into the glyph. This is a design failure because I assume the RAI is any spell you can cast, since the Glyph of Warding spell is on a Bard Spell List and they do not prepare spells.
Personally, I would say any spell you can cast by any means that meets the other requirements can be used for the glyph. But, this would be personal choice as a DM because it technically does not fit RAW.
(RAW: rules as written. RAI: rules as intended.)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So a player in my campaign was wondering if he could use a spell from an item for the Spell Glyph feature. It says it has to be a prepared spell, but I wasn’t 100% sure if casting a spell from a wand would count (I.e. using a wand of Web)
RAW, no. You have to have the spell prepared to put into the glyph. This is a design failure because I assume the RAI is any spell you can cast, since the Glyph of Warding spell is on a Bard Spell List and they do not prepare spells.
Personally, I would say any spell you can cast by any means that meets the other requirements can be used for the glyph. But, this would be personal choice as a DM because it technically does not fit RAW.
(RAW: rules as written. RAI: rules as intended.)
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.