If I play a wizard, and take magic initiate (wizard), can I copy the spells in my spellbook (with the cost and/or via creating a scroll first), and (as in 2024 rules) as I level up, swich the 1’st level spell, and copy that to my spellbook, and so on?
It's kind of a gray area, but I think probably not, since the Wizard class's spell-copying feature is really intended to be used when you find a spell in a spellbook or scroll, and the Magic Initiate spells are not provided in that form. A lot of DMs might allow it, though.
you could maybe make a scroll for it then copy it to your spell book. though item crafting is something your DM may want to curtail as it can get out of hand.
> Level 1 Spell. Choose a level 1 spell from the same list you selected for this feat’s cantrips. You always have that spell prepared.
> Copying the Book. You can copy a spell from your spellbook into another book. This is like copying a new spell into your spellbook but faster, since you already know how to cast the spell. You need spend only 1 hour and 10 GP for each level of the copied spell.
If you lose your spellbook, you can use the same procedure to transcribe the Wizard spells that you have prepared into a new spellbook
Based on the combination of it being prepared and Wizards being able to copy their prepared Wizard spells into their spellbook, I'd say it looks like you can.
I'd probably allow it, but in practice I don't know how valuable it would be. You only switch at level up, and getting an extra level 1 spell rapidly becomes un-exciting. I'd probably rather have a free casting of mage armor or shield than add an extra level 1 spell to my book that I'll probably not ever really use. Though I could see picking up a ritual or two that way. But then, you're still stuck with that spell as your free cast per day for a level.
I see your point, I’m gonna be playing an abjurer, and I am planning to take those as my ’free’ subclass spells. And I don’t expect us to play unti about 6’th level (hopefully I am wrong), so I’d be able to get 5 extra 1’st level spells by then. And tbh our DM hasn’t been very generous when it comes to finding spells in our campaigns, so this is me trying to find a bit of a loophole to give myself more versatility to our campaign. Btw greetings from Finland, and thank you all for the comments/opinions!
If I play a wizard, and take magic initiate (wizard), can I copy the spells in my spellbook (with the cost and/or via creating a scroll first), and (as in 2024 rules) as I level up, swich the 1’st level spell, and copy that to my spellbook, and so on?
It's kind of a gray area, but I think probably not, since the Wizard class's spell-copying feature is really intended to be used when you find a spell in a spellbook or scroll, and the Magic Initiate spells are not provided in that form. A lot of DMs might allow it, though.
pronouns: he/she/they
you could maybe make a scroll for it then copy it to your spell book. though item crafting is something your DM may want to curtail as it can get out of hand.
> Level 1 Spell. Choose a level 1 spell from the same list you selected for this feat’s cantrips. You always have that spell prepared.
> Copying the Book. You can copy a spell from your spellbook into another book. This is like copying a new spell into your spellbook but faster, since you already know how to cast the spell. You need spend only 1 hour and 10 GP for each level of the copied spell.
If you lose your spellbook, you can use the same procedure to transcribe the Wizard spells that you have prepared into a new spellbook
Based on the combination of it being prepared and Wizards being able to copy their prepared Wizard spells into their spellbook, I'd say it looks like you can.
Technically, it does not specify that "[discovering] a Wizard spell" must be on a spell scroll or in a book.
I think that by RAW, it is allowed as you describe. However, do not be surprised if it is curtailed at some tables.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
As Athanar90 said, it seems that the rules for Expanding and Replacing a Spellbook support that idea.
But yeah, ask your DM anyway.
I'd probably allow it, but in practice I don't know how valuable it would be. You only switch at level up, and getting an extra level 1 spell rapidly becomes un-exciting. I'd probably rather have a free casting of mage armor or shield than add an extra level 1 spell to my book that I'll probably not ever really use. Though I could see picking up a ritual or two that way. But then, you're still stuck with that spell as your free cast per day for a level.
I see your point, I’m gonna be playing an abjurer, and I am planning to take those as my ’free’ subclass spells. And I don’t expect us to play unti about 6’th level (hopefully I am wrong), so I’d be able to get 5 extra 1’st level spells by then. And tbh our DM hasn’t been very generous when it comes to finding spells in our campaigns, so this is me trying to find a bit of a loophole to give myself more versatility to our campaign. Btw greetings from Finland, and thank you all for the comments/opinions!