Hi! I have a question about how Hex works regarding its transfer mechanic in 2014 Rulebook Edition.
The spell says: “If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.”
My interpretation is that “a subsequent turn of yours” refers to any later turn I take while the spell is still active - not necessarily during the same combat encounter, because the spell does not specify that the transfer must happen only within the same fight.
So here’s my question:
If creature HP reduced to 0 at the end of one combat, maintain concentration, and then a new combat begins shortly after (or even before the new combat, if bonus action/HEX works this way), can I use my bonus action on my first turn in the new combat , if I see a new enemy while the spell is still active - to transfer Hex to the new target?
Or is the intent that the transfer can only occur during the same combat where the original target dropped to 0 HP?
It’s possible my GM ruled “no” because we are playing in Russian, and the translated spell description in some local card versions literally translated to - “on your next turn”, which sounds like it might only apply to the ongoing fight. But if the transfer is limited to the same combat, then it’s unclear why the spell has such a long possible duration (1 hour to 24 hours depending on the spell slot).
Here is the specific situation from our game: We defeated all enemies outside a house/building, and the last one died near the doorway. Expecting more enemies to come out, I positioned myself in the open doorway so I could see both the fallen target and potential new threats inside. The combat ended, my concentration on Hex remained uninterrupted, and the spell's duration was far from over. A moment later a new enemy appeared inside the house. The GM called for initiative, and I acted among the first. On my first turn (which would be my “subsequent turn” in theory), I declared that I was transferring Hex to the nearest enemy. My GM ruled that this was not allowed, saying that Hex only works within the boundaries of a single combat.
So I turn to your collective wisdom, dear forum members - what is the correct interpretation and the right mechanic here?
Hi! I have a question about how Hex works regarding its transfer mechanic in 2014 Rulebook Edition.
The spell says: “If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.”
My interpretation is that “a subsequent turn of yours” refers to any later turn I take while the spell is still active - not necessarily during the same combat encounter, because the spell does not specify that the transfer must happen only within the same fight.
So here’s my question:
If creature HP reduced to 0 at the end of one combat, maintain concentration, and then a new combat begins shortly after (or even before the new combat, if bonus action/HEX works this way), can I use my bonus action on my first turn in the new combat , if I see a new enemy while the spell is still active - to transfer Hex to the new target?
Or is the intent that the transfer can only occur during the same combat where the original target dropped to 0 HP?
It’s possible my GM ruled “no” because we are playing in Russian, and the translated spell description in some local card versions literally translated to - “on your next turn”, which sounds like it might only apply to the ongoing fight. But if the transfer is limited to the same combat, then it’s unclear why the spell has such a long possible duration (1 hour to 24 hours depending on the spell slot).
Here is the specific situation from our game: We defeated all enemies outside a house/building, and the last one died near the doorway. Expecting more enemies to come out, I positioned myself in the open doorway so I could see both the fallen target and potential new threats inside. The combat ended, my concentration on Hex remained uninterrupted, and the spell's duration was far from over. A moment later a new enemy appeared inside the house. The GM called for initiative, and I acted among the first. On my first turn (which would be my “subsequent turn” in theory), I declared that I was transferring Hex to the nearest enemy. My GM ruled that this was not allowed, saying that Hex only works within the boundaries of a single combat.
So I turn to your collective wisdom, dear forum members - what is the correct interpretation and the right mechanic here?
Thank you in advance!
Hex is supposed to be able to last all day with a 5th level spell slot. You can choose a new target in a later combat, not just the same combat. As long as you maintain concentration (and the previous target was reduced to 0hp), you can choose a new target.
(if the target runs away before dropping to 0hp, you can't choose a new target).
FWIW, the choice to designate a target with hex may qualify as an offensive action, and may trigger initiative/combat (if not in combat).
For what it's worth, the durations of spells and other effects in 5e D&D are pretty much always given in units of time like minutes or hours. The notion of something being limited to "within this combat" or "within this encounter" is not really a thing in 5e, though it has existed in some earlier editions of the game.
For what it's worth, the durations of spells and other effects in 5e D&D are pretty much always given in units of time like minutes or hours. The notion of something being limited to "within this combat" or "within this encounter" is not really a thing in 5e, though it has existed in some earlier editions of the game.
That said the durations give an idea of what practical usage a spell is supposed to have.
1 minute: lasts for one combat
10 minutes: lasts for 2-3 combats
1 hour: similar, but with more exploration time between
8 hours: adventuring day
Keeping those in mind can help simplify bookeeping. No need to fret over if bless for example has been up for 2 rounds or 3 so far. Because with a 1 minute duration it's far more likely to end because of concentration getting ended than the combat lasting longer than its duration.
Like you said the actual durations aren't literally "within this combat" but they effectively mean that and similar.
Typically when they want something to be "within this combat" it'll have a 1 minute duration- it's extremely rare for 5e combat to take 10 or more turns to resolve, but it's fair to say that even if there's another encounter in the next room the remaining 30-40 seconds of such a duration will have elapsed before initiative is rolled again.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi! I have a question about how Hex works regarding its transfer mechanic in 2014 Rulebook Edition.
The spell says:
“If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.”
My interpretation is that “a subsequent turn of yours” refers to any later turn I take while the spell is still active - not necessarily during the same combat encounter, because the spell does not specify that the transfer must happen only within the same fight.
So here’s my question:
If creature HP reduced to 0 at the end of one combat, maintain concentration, and then a new combat begins shortly after (or even before the new combat, if bonus action/HEX works this way), can I use my bonus action on my first turn in the new combat , if I see a new enemy while the spell is still active - to transfer Hex to the new target?
Or is the intent that the transfer can only occur during the same combat where the original target dropped to 0 HP?
It’s possible my GM ruled “no” because we are playing in Russian, and the translated spell description in some local card versions literally translated to - “on your next turn”, which sounds like it might only apply to the ongoing fight. But if the transfer is limited to the same combat, then it’s unclear why the spell has such a long possible duration (1 hour to 24 hours depending on the spell slot).
Here is the specific situation from our game:
We defeated all enemies outside a house/building, and the last one died near the doorway. Expecting more enemies to come out, I positioned myself in the open doorway so I could see both the fallen target and potential new threats inside. The combat ended, my concentration on Hex remained uninterrupted, and the spell's duration was far from over. A moment later a new enemy appeared inside the house.
The GM called for initiative, and I acted among the first. On my first turn (which would be my “subsequent turn” in theory), I declared that I was transferring Hex to the nearest enemy. My GM ruled that this was not allowed, saying that Hex only works within the boundaries of a single combat.
So I turn to your collective wisdom, dear forum members - what is the correct interpretation and the right mechanic here?
Thank you in advance!
Hex is supposed to be able to last all day with a 5th level spell slot. You can choose a new target in a later combat, not just the same combat. As long as you maintain concentration (and the previous target was reduced to 0hp), you can choose a new target.
(if the target runs away before dropping to 0hp, you can't choose a new target).
FWIW, the choice to designate a target with hex may qualify as an offensive action, and may trigger initiative/combat (if not in combat).
Yes, the curse can be moved on any later turn, not exactly the next one, so it stays active until another creature is found.
For what it's worth, the durations of spells and other effects in 5e D&D are pretty much always given in units of time like minutes or hours. The notion of something being limited to "within this combat" or "within this encounter" is not really a thing in 5e, though it has existed in some earlier editions of the game.
pronouns: he/she/they
That said the durations give an idea of what practical usage a spell is supposed to have.
1 minute: lasts for one combat
10 minutes: lasts for 2-3 combats
1 hour: similar, but with more exploration time between
8 hours: adventuring day
Keeping those in mind can help simplify bookeeping. No need to fret over if bless for example has been up for 2 rounds or 3 so far. Because with a 1 minute duration it's far more likely to end because of concentration getting ended than the combat lasting longer than its duration.
Like you said the actual durations aren't literally "within this combat" but they effectively mean that and similar.
This is a signature. It was a simple signature. But it has been upgraded.
Belolonandalogalo, Sunny
Eggo Lass, Bone and Oblivion | Tendilius Mondhaven Paxaramus, Drakkenheim
Karl Erikson, No Guts No Glory | Chipper, Curse of Strahd
Silverwood Group 1 | Silverwood Group 2
Get rickrolled here. Awesome music here. Track 51, 10/23/25, Viva La Vida
Typically when they want something to be "within this combat" it'll have a 1 minute duration- it's extremely rare for 5e combat to take 10 or more turns to resolve, but it's fair to say that even if there's another encounter in the next room the remaining 30-40 seconds of such a duration will have elapsed before initiative is rolled again.