There is something I wonder about, and that's "When a spell you cast...". While usually 'cast' is being interpreted as present tense in this constellation, it could technically also be past tense (to cast - cast - cast). There is no 'casted' conjugation, as this is an irregular verb.
My question therefore is. Can it be that this can indeed seen as both present and past tense in regards to ruling?
Practical example:
Spellfire Adept: "Once per turn, when a spell you cast deals radiant damage..." in conjunction with the spell Holy Weapon: "As a bonus action on your turn you can dismiss this spell and cause... 4d8 radiant damage..." While it is a dismissal, and probably on a later turn, it still damage dealt by a spell that I cast (past tense).
Or Sunbeam: "You can create a new line of radiance as your action on any turn until the spell ends."
Technically speaking, any successive line of radiance on a later turn it is radiant damage dealt by a spell I cast, when 'cast' is interpreted as past tense.
There is something I wonder about, and that's "When a spell you cast...". While usually 'cast' is being interpreted as present tense in this constellation, it could technically also be past tense (to cast - cast - cast). There is no 'casted' conjugation, as this is an irregular verb.
My question therefore is. Can it be that this can indeed seen as both present and past tense in regards to ruling? [...]
Under my interpretation, the phrase "'When you cast..." (found in different feats or features) is resolved at the moment you cast the spell, so it uses the present tense.
A similar example is the Careful Spell Metamagic option. It should affect Saving Throws made when the spell is cast, not on later turns.
When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell’s full force.
While not official ruling, this is from the Dev using Cloudkill as an example:
@quadhund Just my monthly ask about whether Careful Spell can be used with Cloudkill? @JeremyECrawford Careful Spell is used the turn you cast a spell and is intended to affect saving throws made that turn.
There is something I wonder about, and that's "When a spell you cast...". While usually 'cast' is being interpreted as present tense in this constellation, it could technically also be past tense (to cast - cast - cast). There is no 'casted' conjugation, as this is an irregular verb.
My question therefore is. Can it be that this can indeed seen as both present and past tense in regards to ruling?
Practical example:
Spellfire Adept: "Once per turn, when a spell you cast deals radiant damage..." in conjunction with the spell Holy Weapon: "As a bonus action on your turn you can dismiss this spell and cause... 4d8 radiant damage..." While it is a dismissal, and probably on a later turn, it still damage dealt by a spell that I cast (past tense).
Or Sunbeam: "You can create a new line of radiance as your action on any turn until the spell ends."
Technically speaking, any successive line of radiance on a later turn it is radiant damage dealt by a spell I cast, when 'cast' is interpreted as past tense.
I read "Once per turn, when a spell you cast deals radiant damage..." as present tense.
It can only be past tense. When the spell deals damage, you have already successfully cast it. Resolution happens after casting the spell.
I would read it as letting you use the feat every time you used Sunbeam to create a new line of radiance.
Under my interpretation, the phrase "'When you cast..." (found in different feats or features) is resolved at the moment you cast the spell, so it uses the present tense.
A similar example is the Careful Spell Metamagic option. It should affect Saving Throws made when the spell is cast, not on later turns.
While not official ruling, this is from the Dev using Cloudkill as an example: